Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loews SF

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The views are superb from this hotel. The staff are superb.
Cons: The hotel would benefit enormously from having an upgraded, destination bar and restaurant on the ground floor. The ground floor lacks character.
Location: Near so much in SF - walking distance to the Ferry Building, waterfront, North beach, Soma and more.
Excellent attention to detail by professional staff. It hasn't changed greatly in appearance since the takeover from Mandarin Oriental.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

best view in san fran.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
the friendliest staff I've seen in awhile, made the stay a very personal experience. the view would have been enough to forgive any short comings but they were spot on from concierge to the driver. we stayed at a 5 star hotel in Napa the next weekend and we were just part of the masses. we will be going back to loews next time we stay in san francisco.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Fantastic Hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Amazing service plus incredible views with large spotlessly clean room and bathroom.
Cons: Website and pre booking (if you need to email reservations) can be a bit tricky when booking outside of the US but worth the effort.
Location: Great, central and safe location. Easy access to most tourist attractions. Quick walk to Ferry Building, Embarcadero and Union Square.
Everything perfect from check in to check out. Many thanks to Chris at front desk and the doormen including wonderful Eduardo (who is the loveliest man), Michael and Maurio. They do an amazing job - always happy, friendly, welcoming and helpful. We appreciated late check out (we had a late International flight) and use of hotel facilities until we departed for airport. Room was AMAZING. Incredible views from the Bridge to Bridge room. I agree with other reviews - pay the extra and book this room, you will not be disappointed. Housekeeping do a wonderful job, room spotlessly clean and always stocked with high quality amenities and complimentary water - with chocolates at turndown. We chose to have two dinners in room (5 night stay) as we had the best view in San Francisco. Dinner was fanastic and exceeded our expectations. We also used the house car, this is a great extra provided by the hotel and the drivers provide wonderful service and are very knowledgable re the Bay Area. The staff at this hotel are exceptional, some of the best service we have received. They are professional and knowledgable and somehow manage to create a 'boutique' hotel experience in a large, luxury hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az

Very cozy and comfortable, conveniently located

Posted Jul 7, 2016
We loved staying here, didn't want to leave. Every time we came in we had a warm greeting. The breakfast was good, but dinner menu was very limited due to remodeling of the kitchen. Exceptional view from our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The view from the room
Cons: Need a better fitness room. Need more amenities (swimming pool, complimentary coffee in the room, etc)
Location: Great location
Overrated!!! Was very disappointing with the amenities, and the parking is limited and expensive; $68 a day and only valet. I was disappointed with the overall rating that had been reviewed and submitted. I would not rate this hotel as a 5 star. Definitely a 4 star rating because of the location, staff and room size. However, only a 3 star rating due to lack of amenities and parking. Did not even have complimentary coffee in the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t, new york

bay view rooms best in town

Posted Jun 22, 2016
hotel was nice but somewhat dated, mostly the bathrooms. from our bay view, bridge to bridge room, the views were spectacular. i had hoped to get a massage and more from the spa. it was advertised heavily in the rooms and in the hallways. it never opened that day with no real explanation from the front desk as to why. (i don't think they knew.) concierge was great. turn down service was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We’re glad to hear that you had an amazing stay at our bridge to bridge junior suite, the spectacular views from your room and your compliments about our team members. We’re very sorry to hear that you did not get to experience a massage during your last stay. We hope that you will get to pamper yourself at our Spa when you return to San Francisco again. We look forward to your next visit soon. My best, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

As good as it gets, plus THE VIEW.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
I dare you to find a better hotel in SF with a view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your "As good as it gets, plus The Views" review. We're glad to hear that you had a great time here with us and had a chance to experience the amazing views from your room. See you soon to this beautiful city by the bay. My best, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and Comfortable Business Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Excellent staff. Room was perfect. Close to Orange Theory was added bonus!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your kind words about our team members. We're glad that you found our location close to Orange Theory. Hope to see you back again soon. My best, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Beautiful hotel with great views of the city and bay. Room was clean and bed was plush and cozy. Overall great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. Possible celeb sightings. Shaq was staying on the same floor as we were. Only drawback is that the financial district gets a little shady later in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Sean, Thank you for posting this positive review and your compliments about the hotel facilities and the great views from your room. We hope to see you back again soon. My best, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co.

Centrally located to all downtown attractions.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
You can catch the Cable Cars a half a block away. 10 minute walk and you're at the Ferry Building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Armand, Thank you for sharing your review and your great compliments about the hotel is centrally located to all downtown attractions. Please come back and see us again soon. My best, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing