Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

must be the best view in the city

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: That view, and the professional service.
Location: In the financial district so limited dining options close by at the weekend. But its all walking distance.
Our room was on the 44th floor (of 48) and all rooms are high. We had a city view king rather than a bay view, but you get both views from the sky bridge anyway. The view is dramatic, all the way to the Golden Gate Bridge (if its not foggy) and only for guests! The hotel itself has a more residential apartments feel than a hotel, with little in the way of lobby/bars etc and its all very quiet. The furniture and fittings are a little dated in places, but the bed was very comfy, it was very clean and room service was lightening fast. Staff were all helpful and overall it felt like a well run and welcoming place. Each Friday and Saturday at 5pm they offer free drinks to residents on the 40th floor terrace. Its worth going to take in the views and that bracing San Francisco breeze! - on the downside, if its foggy in town you are so high up you cant see the ground...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Worth the little extra for the views.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Modern updated all the amenities
Cons: no
Location: very good for our purposes
Excellent from very friendly staff to room. Have stayed at the Wynn in Las Vegas and the room is as nice. Had a variety of pillows for sleeping and didn't have those useless decorative pillows. Housekeeping was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Craig, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room and also had a great time here with us. We hope to see you back again soon. Sincerely yours, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Great location, close to all activities. Staff treated us like family, we have not been more happy like this at any other place. Rooms and facility were spotless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by AP., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous on Expedia, Thank you for your positive feedback and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Thanks you for your kind words about our team members and we hope to see you back again soon. Sincerely yours, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loews SF

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The views are superb from this hotel. The staff are superb.
Cons: The hotel would benefit enormously from having an upgraded, destination bar and restaurant on the ground floor. The ground floor lacks character.
Location: Near so much in SF - walking distance to the Ferry Building, waterfront, North beach, Soma and more.
Excellent attention to detail by professional staff. It hasn't changed greatly in appearance since the takeover from Mandarin Oriental.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous on Expedia, Thank you for staying at the Loews Regency San Francisco and taking the time to share with us your review on Expedia. We certainly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to share that we have a near future plans to enhance the lobby and restaurant. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff and the service consistent to what you had experienced in the past! We also thank you for your praises about our convenient location, the hotel facilities and your encouraging words about our team members! We look forward to welcoming you back again to this beautiful city by the bay. Sincerely yours, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

best view in san fran.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
the friendliest staff I've seen in awhile, made the stay a very personal experience. the view would have been enough to forgive any short comings but they were spot on from concierge to the driver. we stayed at a 5 star hotel in Napa the next weekend and we were just part of the masses. we will be going back to loews next time we stay in san francisco.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous on Expedia, Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted to hear that our team members took very good care of you during your recent stay. Your kind words will be shared with the team and we certainly hope to see you back again soon. Sincerely yours, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Fantastic Hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Amazing service plus incredible views with large spotlessly clean room and bathroom.
Cons: Website and pre booking (if you need to email reservations) can be a bit tricky when booking outside of the US but worth the effort.
Location: Great, central and safe location. Easy access to most tourist attractions. Quick walk to Ferry Building, Embarcadero and Union Square.
Everything perfect from check in to check out. Many thanks to Chris at front desk and the doormen including wonderful Eduardo (who is the loveliest man), Michael and Maurio. They do an amazing job - always happy, friendly, welcoming and helpful. We appreciated late check out (we had a late International flight) and use of hotel facilities until we departed for airport. Room was AMAZING. Incredible views from the Bridge to Bridge room. I agree with other reviews - pay the extra and book this room, you will not be disappointed. Housekeeping do a wonderful job, room spotlessly clean and always stocked with high quality amenities and complimentary water - with chocolates at turndown. We chose to have two dinners in room (5 night stay) as we had the best view in San Francisco. Dinner was fanastic and exceeded our expectations. We also used the house car, this is a great extra provided by the hotel and the drivers provide wonderful service and are very knowledgable re the Bay Area. The staff at this hotel are exceptional, some of the best service we have received. They are professional and knowledgable and somehow manage to create a 'boutique' hotel experience in a large, luxury hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by AP, Hotel Management
Dear steveandsonya on Expedia, Thank you for taking the time to share with us this wonderful review. We’re glad to hear that you had a great time here in San Francisco and that our staff took very good care of you during your recent visit. We also thank you for your compliments about our hotel car service and your thoughtful words about our team members. Your recommendation to stay at the Loews Regency San Francisco is very much appreciated! A repeat guest is sure one of our favorite compliments and we hope to see you back again soon. Sincerely yours, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az

Very cozy and comfortable, conveniently located

Posted Jul 7, 2016
We loved staying here, didn't want to leave. Every time we came in we had a warm greeting. The breakfast was good, but dinner menu was very limited due to remodeling of the kitchen. Exceptional view from our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Lizzy, Thank you for posting this positive review and your compliments about the views from your room. Sorry to hear about the limited dinner menu due to remodeling of the kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back to this beautiful city by the bay. Sincerely yours, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The view from the room
Cons: Need a better fitness room. Need more amenities (swimming pool, complimentary coffee in the room, etc)
Location: Great location
Overrated!!! Was very disappointing with the amenities, and the parking is limited and expensive; $68 a day and only valet. I was disappointed with the overall rating that had been reviewed and submitted. I would not rate this hotel as a 5 star. Definitely a 4 star rating because of the location, staff and room size. However, only a 3 star rating due to lack of amenities and parking. Did not even have complimentary coffee in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous on Expedia, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is never pleasant to hear that we did not exceed our guest’s expectations but I appreciate your willingness to share your thoughts and feelings. Your comments are valuable and we will use them to continuously improve and enhance our guests’ experiences. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again. Sincerely yours, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t, new york

bay view rooms best in town

Posted Jun 22, 2016
hotel was nice but somewhat dated, mostly the bathrooms. from our bay view, bridge to bridge room, the views were spectacular. i had hoped to get a massage and more from the spa. it was advertised heavily in the rooms and in the hallways. it never opened that day with no real explanation from the front desk as to why. (i don't think they knew.) concierge was great. turn down service was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We’re glad to hear that you had an amazing stay at our bridge to bridge junior suite, the spectacular views from your room and your compliments about our team members. We’re very sorry to hear that you did not get to experience a massage during your last stay. We hope that you will get to pamper yourself at our Spa when you return to San Francisco again. We look forward to your next visit soon. My best, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

As good as it gets, plus THE VIEW.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
I dare you to find a better hotel in SF with a view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by AP, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your "As good as it gets, plus The Views" review. We're glad to hear that you had a great time here with us and had a chance to experience the amazing views from your room. See you soon to this beautiful city by the bay. My best, Austin P. Director of Sales & Marketing