Ratings based on 1,620 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Great location, with only one parking spot per room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Good Location, Comfortable Room, Traffic Noise

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The location of this hotel is really great for sightseeing in San Francisco! It has free parking, and we were able to park our car and walk to many of the locations we wanted to visit. The accommodations were not fancy but were definitely a good value! Our room was very comfortable, with a memory foam mattress and an updated bathroom. It was located on the third floor on the Lombard side of the hotel, which made for a beautiful view of the Golden Gate Bridge from the balcony. The downside was the traffic noise. It was very loud all night. Overall, the hotel was excellent except for this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Close to interesting shopping and a choice of cafes and restaurants
Cons: Updating furniture, although the beds were excellent. A bit of a stale, cigarette door.
Location: Great San Francisco spots of interest.
A pleasant hotel for a good price although a bit dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice comfortable hotel close to Fisherman's wharf. Very helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful renovated bathroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver - Canada

Cheap and smelly

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Location is sort of ok but not in walking distance to down town.
Yes, the price was a good deal for SF but you need to put up with unpleasant things. Worst: the room was smelly, old stuffy, the heater/fan seemed to circulate the smell around rather than getting fresh air in. The plug for the bath tub was broken and not fixed despite repeated promises. The bed cover was old style and smelly. On the positive side, John at the reception was very nice and tried to be helpful. Another good thing: parking was free and convenient. I suggest if you have a choice pay a bit more and don't suffer through the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Nothing fancy. Very nice staff. Clean room. Good location!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

Nice hotel, but room is noisy due to street noise.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
They need to change out the sliding glass doors with double pane windows and proper seals to reduce extreme road noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nj

I ❤️ this hotel It's located close from attraction

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Close of many attractions, busses and the beautiful cable car and also the Golden gate Bridge
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Good location

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Great location. And you get what you pay for.
Cons: That elevator ;)
Location: Everything is close, which is practical if you don't have a car to go around.
We booked at Lombard Motor Inn for its location. If you are visiting San Francisco and don't have a car, the hotel is close to Fisherman's Wharf and not so far from the Golden Gate Bridge. It is also really close to the famous "crooked street". There are multiple restaurants on Lombard Street and on streets nearby. The hotel in itself was as expected. It surely is not a 5 stars hotel but we had nothing to complain about (except maybe for the elevator that is a bit scary and might not have been inspected in a while according to their permit - we preferred to use the stairs).
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Lombard Staff, Hotel Management
Thank You for choosing The Lombard for your San Francisco stay. The elevator permit is expired, this is a problem for the city to deal with. I have a letter from the city posted at the desk. The city has sent this saying we requested they inspect our elevator we are still waiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Always clean with free parking.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Clean, safe, great staff, free parking.
Cons: The shower nozzles in all their properties are a little low. I'm 5'6" and have to scrunch down to wash my head.
Location: They are 3 blocks from the curvy Lombard St but it's a serious uphill walk to get there. They are about 6 blocks from the Fisherman's Wharf.
This company has 5 properties in San Francisco, I've stayed at 3 of them. This is a very clean and well organized company. They are better than comparable priced motels but they are not a fancy hotel. I go to San Francisco a couple of time a year for business and always get a rental car. Hotels can charge up $75 per night just to park your car....and they don't guarantee you will have a spot. These hotels are a bargain for what they are, a safe and clean room with free parking. They have security doors that require a key to access the elevators. All of them are within walking distance of good family restaurants. For my needs, 5 stars isn't enough, I'd give them 10 stars if I could.