Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Adequate and great location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location is great for seeing the city.
Cons: Run down and in need of work,
Location: All of downtown area is nearby and lots to do from shopping to sight seeing!
The hotel is old and could do with renovations. Service was so so and TV never worked properly! However it is inexpensive and close to downtown so if you are simply looking for a place to sleep it works.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Only one toilet on my floor and I think the only one in the hotel. Shower was in a converted closet, a bit strange !!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great location. Needs upgrade

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Beds, towels and TV
Location: Great central location with plenty of food and drink near by. Walking distance to all activities and events.
The staff was warm and welcoming. Quiet inside. A bit noisy outside. Gave me option of 2 rooms. Both needed an upgrade of bed and TV. Made it our own for what we received.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Convenient Central Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The room itself is great, especially for the price; and the staff were very accommodating; they called a taxi for me that showed up almost immediately. People not familiar with SF should know that this block is not as swanky as nearby Pacific Heights or Nob Hill so it's not for those uncomfortable with the real conditions of SF. However, the area was populated with awesome economical diners, late-night grocery stores, pizzas by the slice, sports bars for watching the Giants with a local crowd and easy walking distance from all of the central sights.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel, dangerous area, stay away.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Its impossible to improve this place or the location.
Location: Lot's of homeless selling drugs, dirty unsafe location.
It's located in the most dangerous area in San Francisco, that the locals avoid at all cost. As soon as we opened the door, it smelled urine like in the worst bathroom. Very unclean, everything was old. You expect ghosts to jump at you from any corner. We got out to eat something, we had to walk away for an hour to get to somewhere safe. On the way, we had to pass by all kinds of mentally ill people on the streets naked, selling drugs. We had to find another hotel, and drive back in a car to get our bags and leave. There was no way we could stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Central location but basic accommodation

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Close to Union Square etc.
Don't expect luxury here. The location is good and we saw no signs of 'undesirables' hanging around outside as mentioned in other reviews. We had a private room with bathroom which was fine. There was an 'unusual aroma' in the lobby which I can understand why people would mistake it for urine but I'm sure it wasn't..... :) Reception is up a narrow staircase but so be it......... like others have said - you get what you pay for, but it's grand.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
cheapest I could find in the area, you get what you pay for
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK to Stay

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We chose this hotel because of the location. I asked for a fan so I could sleep through the noise and it was in my room when I returned...thank you! Only one thing...the bed was very hard which made it hard to sleep through the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget Hotel Near Tenderloin

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Get to of the smell of urine when you walk in.
First of all when you walk inside it smells like urine. Not a welcoming odor. The office is on the second floor and the staff was pleasant but dressed in t-shirt and swears. The room was average size for an older hotel in San Francisco and there was a refrig, microwave, flat screen tv, iron and ironing board. However with the tv plugged in there was only one outlet to be shared by the microwave, refrig and any electronic devices you bring. The bed was stiff but fairly comfortable. The lift was very old fashioned but serviceable. I know hotel rooms are expensive in S.F. but I expected better.