Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very Cheap But Centrally Located

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Proximity to downtown and Union Square, friendly staff, easy access to local amenities.
Cons: Repair to some of the windows.
We picked this hotel for the price (we were on a shoestring budget for this trip) and it's proximity to downtown / Union Square (without getting in to the middle of the Tenderloin). We didn't expect much for the price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean but small. It's a very old building (100+ years) and the halls and stairs are very narrow. The building was fairly secure - you need to be buzzed in by staff or have a key card. We were in walking distance of everything we needed to get to. There is a small grocery just a couple of doors down from the hotel that was convenient. There is a parking lot a block away with whom the hotel has an agreement for in-and-out privileges for its guests at a reasonable (for San Francisco) rate. We were satisfied that our stay was just fine for the price we paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sapporo, Japan

You get what you pay for.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Good coffee in the morning. Good reception / welcome by the staff. Shampoo and soap provided. Good room cleaning. Decent size room.
Cons: Fix the curtain. Give the channels on TV that were advertised on the web site. A side table to put spectacles on by the bed would be appreciated.
Location: Good location, close to Union Square and within walking distance of all the places we needed to be.
Our two biggest concerns about this accommodation was the bed mattress which formed a V in the middle when two people were on it, and the mould in the room (we both have mould allergies). There was heat in the evening but nothing in the morning. The light in the bathroom mirror was not working.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

静かなホテル

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: 電子レンジと冷蔵庫。
Cons: 価格が少し高い。
Location: すぐ隣にコンビニのような雑貨屋(酒も売っている)があるのも便利。
ユニオンスクエアからは少し歩くが、静かな環境。電子レンジと冷蔵庫も付いている。コーヒー、紅茶が7:30から提供されている。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel at good price in center of town

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: A room to stay at a moderate price in the middle of San Francisco - comfortable if small, newly refurbished shower/tub area.
Cons: Curbside access and street visibility. Perfect for people who take a cab into town and use public transport.
Location: 3 blocks off Geary in the middle of town.
This is an older building in a marginal, but not dangerous, part of town, convenient to many attractions in the center of the city. Room was quite small, which was not a problem but should be made clear. Bed was very comfortable. Amenities were adequate but not luxurious - the room was clean and did have a closet for storage, a nice flat-screen TV, and microwave/refrigerator. Shower was newly renovated and very nice. Access from street is very poor - no curbside parking. Hotel was tough to spot from the street. Parking is at a discount rate a block away, but adequate for someone who is planning on using public transportation system, which is good in the local areas. I would recommend this hotel for people on a budget in an expensive city for moderate stay lengths. Not for luxury-seekers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything.

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Really nice hotel. Affordable rates and close to everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Katie M.

Quick girls weekend

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel was a nice location. Our only complaint was that it smelled bad at times. We couldn't tell if it was the room itself or the street below, but it wasn't unbearable. Staff was very accommodating with holding our luggage for the day/letting us check in early. Room was outdated, but clean. It was a great stay for what we paid, especially compared to other hotels in the area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Fishy staff, beware

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience with the staff, had an extra friend stay with us at the hotel so the front desk man knocked on our door late at night up until 3am telling me I had to pay an extra 50$ but it had to be CASH only. Such a scam. Other than that the room was pretty good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by didier from Paris

hotel d apparence assez moyenne

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
bon emplacement , ceci dit nous avons été un peu déçu par l'état général de cet hotel assez acceptable moyen , état de proprété moyen , vieillot et confort acceptable , personnel d'accueil agréable .
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Thomas from Del Mar, CA

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Hello. Thank you for the opportunity to tell you about this "awful" place. I am a native San Franciscan as well as an experienced traveler, including in 3rd world countries. This facility should not be recommended to anyone expecting a reasonably clean, adequately appointed facility. The very small room and furnishings were MINIMAL, bed was up against the wall making getting in/out for 2nd person impossible, lighting old and poor, no A/C, no bathroom amenities, such as Kleenex and staff not professional. But the topper was price------at $352+taxes per night, it is an outrage...... If this is your policy to carry such properties, you will never have our business again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cheap but not that great

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel would of been a lot nicer if they would have a nice fresh smell and the room was depressing