Ratings based on 852 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low rates equal cheap hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Too long to mentionned
Disappointed, disappointed, very disappointed Do you really want more disappointed mentionned
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Close to Union Sq

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Its location. And liked the fact we took the room with the private bathroom. That was an important consideration for us.
It was a pleasant hotel. It was a close walking distance to Union Sq and loads of eateries to choose from. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there. And a nice little history shared about the hotel by its staff. Overall I would consider staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent place to stay

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: daily room service
Location: Union Square and various other sights are nearby.
close to union square, has daily room service - fresh towels everyday, overall ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good hotel, close to downtown SF

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Charming, 97 year-old building, with an "ancient" elevator.
Cons: The quality of the room furniture should be improved. The bed was practically ruined (concave) and it's unacceptable that they didn't replace it.
Location: Excellent location (close to Nob Hill), and Union Square is within walking distance. Close to public transportation.
Great location, and excellent service from staff, but the bed was unacceptable. It made it virtually impossible for my wife and I to get a good rest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Experience Ever!!!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Do not stay here if you love your family. Seriously, the owner of this place seems to have NO pride or whatsoever about his business. The room is STICKY, from carpet to the counters, drawers, curtain is full of dust and off few hooks. Then we rolled the curtain but the window was very dirty, light bulb in the room is dying, NO AC, the only ventilation is the ceiling fan thats full of dust and almost touches the top bunk bed, bathroom was dirty too. Room is small and has this old moldy smell and some of the old rusty sharp nails are popping out from the floors and walls. No other extra amenity and pls dont drink the coffee provided coz it tasted old. No parking, parking is one block away and it costed $30/nt rate. Im sorry I dont like to leave a bad review but but this hotel if ever inspected by the city, in my idea, would not even pass the inspection. Believe me its worth spending a little extra if you want to enjoy your stay in SF.
3 out of 5
by Cori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nancy

Blame for other people's errors

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great customer service. First night we needed assistance turning on ceiling fan, 2nd night after having the fan on for about 2 hrs a blade fell off. The tip looked like it had glue and was fixed prior to our stay. Told the front desk, they said they will take a look and ended up changing me $50 without notice. I'd appreciate if they would of called me and get more info or told me about the charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from co

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Close to restaurants, clean hotel, heater comes on in the evening and turns off in the morning, kinda cold in room in between the hours of no heater, Staff was nice. Thanks Tim.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

Decent location. Decent hotel. Just decent.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Got the job done for reasonable price.
Cons: Get some new carpet and drapes. I felt like I went back in time to the 70s.
Location: Food.
Walking distance from lots of good stuff, just get on nearby yelp. They make you park at a garage thats 15/day 30/overnight but theres another not too much further thats 15/night. Staff are nice when you show up but are rude after you have paid.