Ratings based on 2,485 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel not too far from downtown San Francisco

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The hotel was very clean, the staff at the front desk were very welcoming and nice. Tea, coffees and ice cold water were complimentary and located in the lobby. The surrounds weren't ideal as there was a problem with noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor bathroom

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Ok, but not a great place. Bathroom has to be rebuilt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely characterful hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Stayed for two nights wit husband and son, reception staff were very helpful, especially with directions to car park, use of buses and expected weather. The hotel is full of character, not just a modern concrete block, and the room was very clean. Coffee in reception was appreciated. It is not a luxury hotel. The location was good for walking to Union Square for tour buses and there was a bus stop at the top of the road with regular buses down to Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf. There were a lot of homeless people in the area, San Francisco does have a very high homeless population, but we were not approached and did not see any begging. There is a great 'dinner' a few doors away which was great for breakfast, called Mel's Dinner. I would recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga.

Awful Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The could get new staff and put the correct pictures of the hotel up so people can see what this place looks like.
I recently stayed here for 3 nights and this hotel is awful. The pictures that they have online are very misleading and the hotel looks nothing like the pictures. Very small rooms and a very rude staff. The hotel has no parking so we had to deal with a guy next door so be prepared to pay alot of money to park. This hotel is in a very very horrible area in sanfransco so you wont be able to get any rest due to the fact of all the noise in this area. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Beware, don't stay here!

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing. THis is an overpriced dump.
Cons: My suggestion is to bulldoze the whole building and forget it was ever there.
Location: Don't. Just don't. There is nothing close, as in within 3 to 5 blocks. THe only place I loved was an Irish store down the road about 5 blocks.
I wish those were the words said to me before I booked. If I could give this hotel a negative rating I would. There are 6 floors, and the elevator was down for all but one day of my trip. There was mold in the rooms; which caused me to become quite ill. We were moved to FOUR different rooms. NO sorry, NO what can we do to make this better, NO NOTHING. Just a couple of guys telling me to deal with it. Many have stated that there are homeless everywhere. What they do not say is that there is a mission across the street so the homeless congregate around the hotel, both day and night. The noise will keep you from sleeping if the urine and feces do not. Take my advice, spend a little more and get as far away from the Monarch as you can.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Stayed on business

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Great staff. Close proximity to restaurants and bars
Cons: Carpets and bathrooms really need work
Location: eat and drink.
In a sense, I knew what I was getting into when I booked the hotel. I was staying on business, which required me to cut corners on cost, and that prompted me to stay at The Monarch. The rooms are outdated and have a bit of a smell (need new carpeting, paint, etc). It really put me off at first, but I hardly noticed by day two. That aside, the staff were great and I never had to walk more than a few blocks to find a good bar or restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

If you want to stay next to a homeless shelter...

Posted Jul 31, 2017
This hotel is nothing like the pictures. There was a creepy person across the way that stared into the room all night. I know this because she waved back to me... haha and I kept seeing her peer around her curtains. Also trying to sleep with the toilet running every 5 minutes between the sink leaking and the wonderful homeless people screaming obscenities or just screaming was exceptional... ugh There was toilet paper in the toilet when I first got there. And forget about walking around after dark as a 140lb female alone.... haha. Luckily I had other people on the trip and a male friend was nice enough to switch rooms with me or I might not be here today to write this review. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. Also my queen bed was a full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, WA

Nice hotel close to restaurants, shopping etc.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Your staff at the front desk are very nice, friendly, and helpful! They have provided excellent services to me when necessary.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jul 28, 2017
- Room dirty (especially walls), bath drain completely blocked, very noisy district, mediocre internet reception - Bed confortable Bad points doesnt mean you should not good. Just dont expect a very known good reputation brand name hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't recommend

Posted Jul 27, 2017
I rather pay a bit more and stay at a nicer hotel!!