Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Very Friendly and helpfull

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Osteria was a treasure, nice restaurant only a block away.
I really enjoyed the victorian era room. everything except the bathroom was true to the era. the bathroom wasvery modern and up to date.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great boutique BnB in an interesting part of town

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The history of the BnB was very interesting and the staff were great.
Cons: Nothing really...exceeded my expectations.
Very nice and comfortable BnB. Nice staff. Nice location. Nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland Or

Great Presidio local

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and the comfortable bed
Cons: In room air conditionaing would be nice but I assume since it is only needed a few days out of the year the cost of installation may be prohibitive. W
Location: Great Presidio place to stay near Golden Gate Park and a few excellent Presidio restuarants.
Great B&B breakfast. I do like waffles, french toast or pancakes that were not available but the chef on staff was very freindly and the dining room was quaint and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with loads of charm.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Charm. Great decor.
Cons: Bed firmness. Our bed was too soft.
Location: In Pacific Heights, near USF (walking distance) and loads of restaurants.
Very pleasant. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was exceptional. The overall decor was very rich/classic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in that area of town

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice rooms, heated toilet seats, good bacon at breakfast. No complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to everything

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Beautiful old style bed & breakfast. We enjoyed are stay. Parking wasn't bad to find that weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
staff was awesome!! Nice breakfast every morning...room was comfortable and nice remodeled bathrooms were great!!! Close to all of San Francisco and it's attractions!! Tom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F.

Class act

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I would definitely stay at the Monte Cristo Inn again. The security measures taken to have guests feel safe are a positive practice at this site. The breakfast in the sitting room was top notch. I love the ambiance at this inn. It is located on a busy street but once inside u'd never know it! Glad I chose this incredible place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable Accommodations; Friendly Staff

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. And the full breakfasts.
Cons: The bedroom window didn't open - and it was rather warm when we visited.
Location: The B & B is located in the western Pacific Heights area. They provide a list of nearby restaurants on check-in. We tried two and they were very good.
The Monte Cristo is expensive - it is important to get that out of the way. But the service is excellent, the rooms comfortable if not lavish and the breakfasts are very good. It is located just a block from Bus Route 1, which will take you downtown as far as The Embarcadero. There are not a lot of restaurants nearby, but those that are in the vicinity are quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

A gem of a bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Interior design, great hospitality, the breakfasts were outstanding.
Cons: Better instructions on how to use the TV.
Location: Presidio Park, Shopping on Fairmont, Shopping on Union Street
This review may be a little biased because I love historic buildings. The Monte Cristo embodied much of the charm of an historic building, but without the dinginess that is often associated with old buildings. The building has been recently remodeled with all the modern-day conveniences needed for travel. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was beautifully designed with Carrera tile, integrated beauty vanity lighting in the mirror, and a toto toilet with built-in bidet features. The most unexpected perk was chef Nick. He made the experience extra special and hospitable with providing homemade breakfasts. His omelet-making ability is top notch; one of the best omelets I've ever had.