Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Russell

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't miss this quaint and personal Inn

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic, personal, cozy, charming Inn. Jack checked in with me by text in order to greet and help us to our room. His kindness and service was second to none. He made our stay perfect!! Quaint, old world style hotel with Japanese toilet which I discovered was a must have in my home. Bed very comfy with good quality furnishings. The breakfast, the best I've ever had with quality coffee, eggs made to order and superb fruit bowl, everything perfect. Loved this hotel. Thank you Jack, you rock!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint B&B in wonderful location

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast was so delicious and the service was excellent. The room was extraordinarily quiet and the neighborhood is very beautiful and safe and minutes from the Presidio.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful. B & B

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable, breakfast was ok not awesome. Lots of food choices. Comfortable guest. Parlor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice for a stay in San Francisco

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
This was my first stay at the Monte Cristo and I will definitely go back. The Inn has wonderful Victorian charm with very updated bathrooms. The staff could not be more accommodating. Nick, the chef, provided an amazing breakfast buffet and was very willing to fix anything else you might like to have. Also, the availability of drinks and snacks throughout the day was a nice and unexpected touch. The only downside was the lack of parking. It was hard to even find a place to park and then, due to street sweeping, you had to move your car. Next time I will just take a shuttle to and from the airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Victorian feel so rare these days. Fabulous breakfast. AC consists of opening windows (which work well) and using the supplied fan but it is seldom hot in sf. Great fresh ground coffee available free 24/7.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old World Charm BnB in Lower Pacific Heights

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
This place is outside of the immediate downtown of SF, but only a short uber, lyft or muni ride from the action. Instead, it's located in a gloriously beautiful neighborhood, full of charm and fun to walk. We parked our car across the street and up the hill a block away and avoided paying $30 a day at a nearby garage. Watch the posted street signs carefully for parking rules! The hotel is a converted saloon and bordello from an age gone by. Modernized just enough to offer creature comforts (bathroom completely redone, great shower and with mechanized toilet!) while retaining its original character. The real pleasure is the staff, however. We stayed two nights and came to know Jack and Nick a little, who were friendly, helpful and fun. Even our room cleaning gal was sweet and personable. Nick's full breakfasts were made to order and very special. His attention to detail made all of the difference. No elevator in this establishment and our room was on the second floor. Meant carrying luggage up the old staircase, but Jack was right there to help. No air conditioning in the room, but a window opened, with top down, bottom up shades and an interior atrium view. Another window in the bathroom allowed for sufficient air circulation. This was the sole concern of merit that I have with staying here during warmer weather. But, it IS San Francisco, after all! I'd definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Very Friendly and helpfull

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Osteria was a treasure, nice restaurant only a block away.
I really enjoyed the victorian era room. everything except the bathroom was true to the era. the bathroom wasvery modern and up to date.