Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice boutique hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was good, with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries, and eggs prepared to order.
Location: It is in a nice neighborhood, not far from Golden Gate Park, the Presidio, and San Francisco Bay. I used a car, but there is bus service nearby.
The Monte Cristo Inn had all the amenities of a good hotel, with the friendly comfort of a bed and breakfast. I stayed in a "petite queen" room which had a full bed. The attached, updated bath had a Toto washlet toilet and a rainfall shower head.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newbury Park, CA

A Comfortable Inn

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The comfortable bed and bedding and also the delicious breakfast and great coffee!
Cons: Some of the wallpaper is beginning to peel.....I'd like to see that patched up so it doesn't detract from their charming décor.
Location: It's a pretty good location, though I was kept busy attending 2 functions and didn't get a chance to scout the neighborhood.
I enjoyed my brief stay. The staff were very accommodating. They really made me feel at home. I would gladly stay at the Monte Cristo again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from all over

Super stay!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Location, quiet, great breakfast, ease of check in/out.
Cons: I would like a firmer mattress.
Location: Great little antique stores not too far away,
I keep returning to the Monte Cristo because it is such a perfect B&B. No muss, no fuss. Everything you need is provided crisply and easily. My only minor quibble is I like a hard mattress and the MC's are a bit soft for my taste. But since I keep staying there it is obvious that this is not a big issue. Breakfasts are outstanding with loads of fresh fruit and granola, eggs to order, and incredible coffee,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So. Cal

Comfortable B & B close to the Presidio.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Overall, we were satisfied with our accommodations. This is an old hotel that has gone through several renovations. Most recently, the bathrooms have been upgraded to a modern clean look. Ours had plenty of counter space and an impressive shower. Our room was not large but that was fine as we did not spend much time there. It was definitely comfortable, especially the bed. The breakfast room is cozy and a good place to make your daily plans while enjoying a made to order meal and informative conversation with the staff. We would recommend this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great area. charming.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
excellent breakfast/service. small detail, no ice in the hotel. street parking somewhat challenging but occasionally easy. would be nice to have a small fridge. otherwise, perfect. will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Perfect Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 9, 2015
My son was taking an exam at the French Lycée on Ortega street; we were looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay with a wonderful Breakfast in SF and we found it ! Our host contacted us the day before to check our arrival time with us, the rooms were very clean and the beds so comfortable. The bathroom spotless and very nice and we just loved the decor (old French style). The breakfast is one the the best we ever got in a hotel: fresh fruits, nice plate of eggs and toasts, beverages, dry fruits etc.. everything my teenager needed to start the day. Staff was very friendly and helpful to find a place to dine. A great stay in a original place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Zachary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint hotel with an old style twist

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
A surprising little pearl in a quiet part of SF. The staff was very helpful and had great recommendations for restaurants in the neighbourhood. The rooms are "old style" but with a modern twist
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Daniel from San Jose, CA

Delightful Stay

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay at the Monte Cristo was delightful. My wife and I traveled with a friend to attend a wedding at the Presidio. We booked two rooms, and because the wedding was at 4:00pm, I contacted the hotel a day in advance to request that, if at all possible, our rooms be available before 3:00. We arrived at 2:20, and our rooms (#2 and #3) were ready. The innkeeper greeted us warmly, knowing we were the group that asked for special accommodation. It’s a charming inn. Rooms are cozy/tight, but that didn’t stop the three of us from sharing a quick picnic lunch in one room before changing into our dress clothes. The next morning, we really enjoyed our breakfast at the inn. Not just a standard buffet, but excellent bacon and scrambled eggs with French bread toast right from the kitchen accompanied by berries from a farmers’ market on the buffet counter. The cook and the person serving both visited during our meal to make sure everything was good. We had prepaid, and check-in and check-out went smoothly and quickly. This is a great location to attend an event at the Presidio. It’s about a $10 cab ride to the center of the Post (before tip), not bad at all when shared three ways. Our first driver was not familiar with the Presidio, so it wouldn’t hurt to print out a map of the location of your event. But it’s a straight shot down Presidio Ave. My wife and I will certainly stay here again, as will our friend. This place has a great personality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Discovery bay, ca

B & B atmosphere with hotels comforts!

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay, very accommodating staff. Excellent breakfasts.