Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, GA

Loved it!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Lovely historic building with modern upgrades where it counts, bathrooms!
Location: Nice location out of the busy tourist areas, but easy walking and Uber to everything.
Perfect resting spot after long days of touring - beautiful rooms with luxurious beds. Super clean upgraded bathrooms. Snacks, drinks all day, and wonderful breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgetown, TX

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Enjoyable experience - close to my grandbabies. Nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Small boutique hotel with good parking

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Stayed overnight there to do some bike riding and dinner, Location is great since it is away from busy downtown area. Great breakfast and nice parlor for a happy hour glass of wine. Service excellent. Rooms good but no AC during recent heatwave...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Everything
Convenient location on Muni routes. Very helpful staff. Complete breakfast included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

A different choice in San Francisco

Posted Jul 26, 2017
We've been to San Francisco many times and usually stay in hotels downtown. Thought we'd try this B&B for a change and was pleasantly surprised. The area was great and much less crowded. Our room was small (mini queen) but very quiet and comfortable and the bathroom was very modern. Breakfast was great and so was the hotel staff. We didn't rent a car this time and used Uber for everything. Much better and cheaper than renting a car in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Australia

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Character
Great stay if only for one night. We lost our bag and Jack was extremely helpful in helping us recover it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm, lovely welcoming Inn--near Presidio.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
I travel to San Francisco a few times a year for work. I needed to attend meetings at the Golden Gate Club in the park and took advantage of exploring a new neighborhood. The Presidio Heights area was lovely. With the park nearby, plentiful services and lovely shopping/dining area close by, it was a break from the usual Union Square/Embarcadero spots. The Monte Cristo Inn was so lovely. At 14 rooms it was intimate and comfortable. Everything you want from a B&B. Nice salon. Nice breakfast. Wonderful hosts. If your first trip to San Francisco and you are a tourist, this may not be your choice but if you are looking for respite after busy days of touring about or working...this place is charming and a perfect fit.
5 out of 5
by Lynne

Must stay!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
This place was a hidden gem! As soon as you walk in, Jack meets you and welcomes you his home. The B and B has a comfy at home feel with 24-7 coffee, baked goods and fruit. Breakfast was spectacular cooked to order. Great conversation close to shopping too. Two thumbs up! Very comfortable bed. Unique bathrooms--enjoy ;)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, quiet place

Posted May 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Each room is unique, with a old-time feel. Bathrooms however are state-of-the-art! Breakfast was wonderful, better than many large hotels.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

A cozy inn in a convenient city location.

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
This is my second stay. Both times I enjoyed the coziness of the Inn, the efficient use of space, and the good breakfasts.