Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Aus

Don't judge a book by the cover

Posted Jan 13, 2017
The Motel Capri doesn't look like much on the outside, but the rooms are very clean & comfy. Located 15 minute walk away from Fishermans Wharf, perfect for our 30 hour lay over in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, everything close.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Good location, free parking, free breakfast, free internet.
Cons: Internet bad, not quiet, can hear everything.
Location: Close to pier 39, shops, restaurant.
Good location, free parking, free breakfast, free internet, but internet so bad. Room was clean. Hotel charge 5$ each day cleaning fee and 100$ deposit. I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: Perhaps update a little.
Not a bad deal. Basic room, perhaps a little small. It is dated but has all the basic amenities. The breakfast that is included is nothing to speak about but Union street is 2 blocks away with plenty of options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Great sized room, good price.
Cons: Better breakfast.
Location: Good location, walking distance to Fishermans Wharf.
From the outside I thought "oh no, what have we booked" but once inside the room had been fully renovated and was a good size. My only complaint is they took your towels each morning and you had to go and ask for new ones and they didn't service the room until around 4-5pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Could use more towels and perhaps change the way how they charge. They first place a hold on all possible charges in additional to the room cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Old-style motel with new rooms, free parking

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Old style motel with "No Vacancy" neon in a high tech city. They have an amazingly convenient parking lot with free parking, right under the rooms. The rooms are modern and comfortable with spacious desks, snappy hot water, and good wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Blah

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Beach is about a 7 minute drive, Lombard street is a block over and has lots of restaurants.
The hotel staff is not welcoming. They are rude and if you need something after hours they do not respond quickly. I checked in at 1AM and one of the staff members said they couldn't find my reservation, and that was that. After discussing back and forth and attempting to show proof of the reservation I had and telling him I had spoken with someone at the hotel confirming it would be fine to check in at that time I was still getting attitude and this person was being difficult. Eventually an older guy stepped in and was able to locate my reservation. When we got upstairs to our room the keys weren't working, so I had to once again go back down to the office and stood there for 7 minutes ringing the bell. Someone finally came out once again and gave me a spair key since the key card wasn't working. Never saw the staff members after that. They ask you check out by leaving the key cards in the room and locking the door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay while in SF

Posted Oct 14, 2016
The facility was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to all segments of the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to SF!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Right place, right price

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Great location, walking distance to all top sites, good restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk
Very good hotel, reception area needs a bit of attention, staff were friendly and helpful, $100 dollar deposit was requested on arrival which there was no mention of before we arrived in any paperwork or emails we had received,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel close to wharf but dirty

Posted Oct 4, 2016
After I gave my credit card for incidentals, they told me they held $100 for a deposit fee and $5 a night for a booking fee. I told them there was no mention of the deposit or booking fee. I had to agree and sign to get my key. The room size was good but there were ants on the desk, bathroom floor and one in my bed! There was mold where the bathroom floor met the walls. It may be the weather?? It was close enough to walk to the wharf. It was not loud except for the people in the room next to me. The neighborhood itself was quiet while I was there (on weekday nights).