Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel near Union Square

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: location and cleaning.
Cons: it has an old style - it could be nice for many people, but I prefer more modern style
Location: Everything is nearby, so is perfect for a short stay on the city. Last block from Powell St is a really big hill. But that is pretty common in SF.
All was very nice - great location, good size room, clean, everything renewed, very polite attention. Only reason to no put 5 stars is because of the price - we were undecided between this an the Hyatt a couple of blocks nearby, and choose this because it was an expedia offer matching the price of Hyatt, and based on descriptions this seems to have bigger rooms. But we visited Hyatt when there and it is a much modern building, better located and with more life than this. So this never can cost the same than Hyatt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo,Japan

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Hotel staffs are elcellent. Very kind and frendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Nice hotel. Upgraded my room when I arrived. Walking distance to Union Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD CHOICE IN SF

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: This hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is nice. They have a coffee maker. Nice bathrooms. No 'resort' fees like several in SF charge.
Location: Close to Union Square and China Town - not that I frequent those anymore but if you are a visitor you are right there.
I stay frequently in the city for business and typically stay at one of my chains but the are sometimes full or way high on rates. If you read reviews on SF hotels you'll find that many fall short of expectations, even 4-star hotels. I have found the Orchard, when rates are reasonable (SF can be off the charts expensive some nights) is a very solid choice. There is a reason they are among the highest rated on Expedia. Thumbs up for the Orchard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach CA

Posted Jan 24, 2017
The hotel was very nice, friendly staff. The room was super clean and comfortable. I was just there for work early the next day, so didn't check out any amenities or food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice reasonably priced hotel in a great location.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The hotel is on the corner of Powell and Bush Street which is a great location for a tourist visiting the city. The staff at the desk were responsive to our requests and all of the Concierge/Door Men were wonderful and tremendously helpful. I would definitely stay at the Orchard Hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st Louis

Staff was most helpful. Room was clean

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Nice location. Room was comfortable. Bathroom was huge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

orchard hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness, professional staff helpful concierge close to union square
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location excellent for shopping
Stayed for 3 nights Beautiful hotel, very clean , nothing too much trouble Joe very helpful knowledge where to go excellent Provide turn down service Hotel close to cable cars and union square The breakfast included is lovely Would stay there again most definently
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great location in the city

Posted Nov 25, 2016
My partner and I had a cosy room, comfortable bed (although we found a bug within the sheets at the bottom of the bed on our last day) and lovely bathroom. All staff are very friendly. Very convenient location in the city so you're able to walk to restaurants, malls and other stores. There is a steep hill from the main road to walk up but not too bad. Breakfast was great here but wouldnt recommend dinner - to me I would have preferred more options. Overall, a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Great place, everything within walking distance. Staff was excellent always willing to help. Would definitely stay there again.