Ratings based on 2,056 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was clean and comfortable.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Hotel staff was really disappointing. I asked them to recommend a restaurant, and they pointed to the pizza place across the street. When I asked for a NICE restaurant, they were flummoxed, like it was the first time they had heard the question. At least make a list you can keep at the front desk for guests, since the staff didn't know anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel staff.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Nice and friendly staff.
Cons: Complimentary water bottles should be provided.
Location: Great location.
Very nice time in San Francisco. The only drawback was that the power in most of the city went out on Friday morning, so we were unable to get breakfast. We had to make other arrangements for getting to the airport , since the BART was not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Great hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great boutique hotel 2 blocks from Union Square, Chinatown, next to cable car route, and most everything. We extremely enjoyed the hotel and its location. Staff were fantastic. Highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel close to Union square

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Close to union square, shops, restaurants
Cons: nothing
Location: all you need for San Francisco
Had a great overnight stay in transit through San Francisco. Everything good, comfortable bed, nice sized room, friendly staff. There was some sanitary papers on the floor in the bathroom but otherwise the room was clean, can hear other guests in the corridor but this was not late at night so no problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff. Bathroom.
Cons: Better bedding.
Location: Right on the cable car line with easy access to Fisherman's Wharf and other tourist attractions. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
Stayed here two nights for a work trip. Great location to jump on the cable cars for sightseeing. No view from the room, but that was fine. Bed and mattress were just okay, and the location of the television was a little awkward. Bathroom was nicely updated and large. Front desk staff were EXTREMELY nice and helpful. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is located in a safe neighborhood

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Was located where it was convenient to the sight seeing we were planning on visiting. The streets are steep -
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

I'll be back....

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff that helped me with a lost item and shipped it to me after finding it.
Cons: I didn't find anything.
Location: Not too far from Chinatown. I didn't sight see much as this was a business trip.
This was a nice surprise. It's always a bit of an adventure with the boutique style hotels in San Francisco and my experience has been that price is no real indicator of the quality of the hotel. My room was good sized, the bathroom was large, the bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel near Union Square

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: location and cleaning.
Cons: it has an old style - it could be nice for many people, but I prefer more modern style
Location: Everything is nearby, so is perfect for a short stay on the city. Last block from Powell St is a really big hill. But that is pretty common in SF.
All was very nice - great location, good size room, clean, everything renewed, very polite attention. Only reason to no put 5 stars is because of the price - we were undecided between this an the Hyatt a couple of blocks nearby, and choose this because it was an expedia offer matching the price of Hyatt, and based on descriptions this seems to have bigger rooms. But we visited Hyatt when there and it is a much modern building, better located and with more life than this. So this never can cost the same than Hyatt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo,Japan

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Hotel staffs are elcellent. Very kind and frendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Nice hotel. Upgraded my room when I arrived. Walking distance to Union Square.