Ratings based on 1,976 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maui

A gem of a hotel near Union Square

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Despite the heavy nearby traffic, it's a quiet place to stay. It's close to shops, restaurants & public transportation.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Union Square is a block away. There are lots of dining options nearby. Public transportation is easily accessible, so you don't need a car.
My wife and I spent three nights at The Orchard Hotel. Our stay began positively when we were greeted by a friendly night manager. We arrived at 6:00 AM after an overnight flight. The night manager cheerfully checked in our luggage and told us our room would be ready by noon, three hours earlier than regular check in time. This was a blessing because my wife and I were exhausted from our overnight flight. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. We were surprised by the quiet because a cable car line runs about 30 yards from the hotel and Union Square is noisy from the crowds and vehicular traffic, yet we heard no noise and we had a room that faced busy Bush Street. All of the staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. Union Square is a block away and the hotel is surrounded by lots of restaurants and shops. However, be prepared to hike up and down steep hills during your stay. Walking up the hills is breathtaking, literally.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Good location, in walking distance to Union Square. Bathroom is spacious. Staff are friendly and helpful. However, the room we had is really dark during the entire stay, and there is hammer and drill sound from upstairs everyday (possibly renovation) even during New Years Eve. Little amenities in the room, even charge for bottled water that are usually complimentary in other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and convenient

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Nice clean basic hotel near Union Square Chinatown and North Beach. Friendly and intimate atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Two blocks from Union Square.
In SF one night for x-mas party, central downtown location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey Peninsula

Good location close to Union Square.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Good size room. Can’t hear as much noise from the street as expected. Location is good. Water temperature in the shower fluctuated which was a little unpleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel bedroom, bad customer service

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: The room was nice and comfortable. The friendliness of the doorman, Brook. He was really nice.
Cons: Management needs to train the people at front desk to ensure good customer service and someone should pick up the phone for room service.
Location: Location was very good, near Union Square and China town.
I stayed for business, and this hotel does not work well for that. There was a laptop that you could use to print, but the woman at the reception did not know how to use it. Then the issue with room service. There is only room service for breakfast. I had a conference call and I was hoping to get the breakfast in the room. Well, I called room service at 7:30 am and nobody answered. I called front desk, and the lady who answered instructed me to call the restaurant directly. I called the restaurant and got the answer machine. Left a message providing my room number information and my breakfast order.. An hour went by, and I did not hear from the restaurant, or got my breakfast in. Not what you expect from a hotel and this price range.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Comfort and Care

Posted Dec 1, 2017
First rate staff and a clean updated room near Union Square. I would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Its location
Cons: The wireless was weak on our floor
Great location, concierge was very helpful, only problem was weak wireless in our fourth floor room, so we would go out in the hallway and it was better. The breakfast was really good and there were quite a few more very close by. If you want to take a cable car ride, it is right there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated furniture. Stained carpet.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
For the price that the hotel charges, they really should remodel and update the furniture and replace/clean the carpet. Everything just seems worn and old. The carpet has many stains on it. The hotel feels old and outdated, and not in a classy, elegant way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Humboldt County

Nice hotel centrally located!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable bed.
Cons: Cheaper parking but I don't think that's possible in San Francisco.
Location: Quick walking distance to Chinatown, Union Square, the trolley cars, restaurants.
The Orchard was a great find! I booked it due to its relatively close proximity to The Masonic. I didn't realize the hotel was only 2 blocks away from Chinatown and Union Square. After we checked in, we walked to Chinatown and it was great! The room was very comfortable, quiet and very clean. The staff was very friendly. There was valet parking at the hotel which was $55 plus a parking tax of around $8 but that is San Francisco for you! I will definitely be back!!