Ratings based on 2,167 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: Its location
Cons: The wireless was weak on our floor
Great location, concierge was very helpful, only problem was weak wireless in our fourth floor room, so we would go out in the hallway and it was better. The breakfast was really good and there were quite a few more very close by. If you want to take a cable car ride, it is right there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated furniture. Stained carpet.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
For the price that the hotel charges, they really should remodel and update the furniture and replace/clean the carpet. Everything just seems worn and old. The carpet has many stains on it. The hotel feels old and outdated, and not in a classy, elegant way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Humboldt County

Nice hotel centrally located!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable bed.
Cons: Cheaper parking but I don't think that's possible in San Francisco.
Location: Quick walking distance to Chinatown, Union Square, the trolley cars, restaurants.
The Orchard was a great find! I booked it due to its relatively close proximity to The Masonic. I didn't realize the hotel was only 2 blocks away from Chinatown and Union Square. After we checked in, we walked to Chinatown and it was great! The room was very comfortable, quiet and very clean. The staff was very friendly. There was valet parking at the hotel which was $55 plus a parking tax of around $8 but that is San Francisco for you! I will definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 31, 2017
What puts this hotel in front of the rest is the staff , the door men know their stuff and are only to willing to give you advice on. Anything asked . Location right next to a cable tram stop ,which takes you down to fishermans wharf, China town just down the street , close to some great shopping in Union square, give it a try you won't be disappointed .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

great for us

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Cons: do better than a 1 cup at a time coffee maker
Location: cable cars, train station, chinatown, wharf (by cable car)
great location, staff, and condition. No complaints
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Parking and Charges

Posted Oct 27, 2017
My in laws that stayed with us at this hotel parked their car via valet which was $55. When leaving the staff took 40 min and brought out the wrong car. In addition, my in laws ate at the restaurant for breakfast which was good. However, both the valet and breakfast accidently got charged to our hotel account instead of my in laws. Both of these mistakes are what make me put overall 3/5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Just spent a few days in San Francisco with my daughter for her fall break. This hotel was the ideal location for us - close to yummy restaurants, the cable car line, shopping, Chinatown and bike rentals. The room was so quiet we could easily rest up for our next day of adventures. The staff was helpful finding places to eat or hunting down our lost tour bus. Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville, Ca

Great value near Union Sqyare

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Very accommodating staff, modern clean rooms, great location and value. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

close to shopping and food

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Liked the location, Quiet, large room. Liked walking up the hills
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Central Location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. We had easy access to Powell St cable cars to Fisherman Wharf and Central Railway Station for airport transfer. Plenty of good shopping and restaurants close to the hotel. Overall very pleased to stay at Orchrd Hotel.