Ratings based on 2,815 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Absolutely beautiful!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
My daughter and I love staying here! The hotel is gorgeous but the best part is the gym/pool. Every morning we go to the gym and then play for hours in the pool. It's relaxing and fun and we love it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel céntrico, de lujo, clásico modernizado

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Es un hotel histórico y lujoso, muy bonito, céntrico. La cúpula del interior es impresionante. Habitaciones correctas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fernandez

Excelente relación costo beneficio

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Muy bonito y elegante el hotel, conservando su toque tradicional. Lo único que no me gusto es que sin aviso alguno te hagan el cargo de $60 dólares diarios por el uso del estacionamiento el cual debería ser gratis o si lo van a cobrar por lo menos esperaría lo informarán a la llegada. Fuera de eso que fue bastante molesto para mí, las instalaciones y el servicio es de primera. Por cierto olvide mi iPad y mis pasaportes en la caja de seguridad y me los devolvieron sin problema. Edmundo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Loved the Palace

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and great service. The concierge was able to get us dinner reservations at a hard to book restaurant.
Cons: The drain in the tub was very slow to drain and the refrigerator needed cleaning.
Location: Great location near Union Square and a short walk to the Ferry Building.
This was a great experience from the valet at the front door to the reception and then to the comfortable room. Should we travel to SF again, Palace Hotel would be a top choice for our hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

The best hotel in San Francisco

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: How clean it is. And, for the size of the hotel, you are checked-in in minutes by very pleasant clerks.
Cons: For the size of the hotel, the 8 person jacuzzi is too small.
Location: There are 100 things to do in San Francisco.
This is a historical site that was remodeled in 2015. President Harding died there in 1923. Nikita Khrushchev stayed there in 1959. BART is just outside on Market. You can be in the airport in 30". The famous SF Cable Car Powell terminal is just 3 blocks away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Preserved Charm :)

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Beauty. The fact that they renovated something old and historical. Rates were respectable.
Cons: Smell in room. Musky/smoke???
Location: Location was great!
It was a grand and stunning first impression and did not disappoint thereafter. Staff was extremely classy and friendly. The Pied Piper lounge was located conveniently which made it so nice. The hotel accommodated our large group. The gym was perfect. Clean, spacious and excellent equipment. Rooms were spacious (except for the bathroom, which was average in size... keeping with the original authenticity). Hotel held the integrity of the old building w/ updated décor. The only complaint I have was I could detect a slight smell of smoking somewhere in my room. But I am hyper sensitive to the smell and I was still ok w/ it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county, ca

Lives up to its name!

Posted Aug 28, 2016
This hotel exceeded our expectations and we are a family of five! Kid friendly and adult friendly alike. The pool was amazing, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The staff were all very professional and friendly to our entire family. we even remember names like Norman, Scott, Jorge, and Felipe to name a few. Very service oriented and helpful during our stay. Will gladly stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Located in the middle on market street downtown.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Room some what on the small side and no dresser in the room to put clothes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México

Excelente ubicación

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Las instalaciones se encuentran en muy buenas condiciones
Location: Se puede llegar caminando a Union Square, Barrio chino, Yerba buena, centros comerciales.
Este es un hotel histórico, con hermosas instalaciones y una ubicación excelente, desde la cual se puede llegar fácilmente a todas las atracciones de la ciudad utilizando el transporte público. Pros: muy limpio, instalaciones muy agradables, cuenta con alberca techada, ubicación inmejorable Contras: no tenía una repisa o cajonera en la habitación, el WIFI y el buffet del desayuno son caros (38 USD el desayuno).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Luxury downtown hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The pool
Cons: Provide coffee in the room.
We are a family of 4 and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is spotless and perfectly maintained. The pool was the highlight for our family and was the reason we booked this hotel. I highly recommend it for that reason. The bathroom and beds are top quality. Our view was not good at all. Our window looked down on an area that was full of garbage, which was a tough site for such an expensive hotel. I assume we got that view due to our lower rate. The food and breakfast in the hotel is very expensive, but there is a Starbucks around the corner. As mentioned in other reviews, you have to pay for internet access. All in all, it is a beautiful hotel, and the pool is spectacular.