Ratings based on 1,364 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento Area

Beautiful hotel in a central location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Beautiful hotel with first-rate amenities, although the rooms could be larger. The courtyard brunch buffet was delicious and a wonderful experience for my two young daughters. Parking is steep - an unfortunate trend for SF hotels in the area. In addition, I wish the hotel staff had notified us of the traffic-snarling Chinese New Year parade taking place in the immediate vicinity the night of our arrival. We would have re-scheduled our arrival time if we had known, and it would have eliminated an incredibly frustrating experience and start to our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The Palace Hotel is in a great location. The rooms comfortable and clean and the beds are awesome.
The Palace Hotel is an excellent hotel close to everything in SF. It's central location allows for easy access to ATT Park, Union Square, Chinatown, Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel itself is a classic design with beautiful rooms. The beds are comfy and the room was very clea. Excellent choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, Ca

palace hotel by Mary

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The Garden court was beautiful. Reminded us of the 1st class on the Titanic.{we saw the movie} Chrystal chandeliers, and fancy decor.
Cons: I would have liked seeing the rooms in Victoria décor.
Location: There are several art galleries, Garedellis chocolate, Britex Fabrics, dress shops. Nice location.
We loved the Palace. It is a little spends but worth it I mean who else beside Madonna inn has heated toilet seats? and a wash and dry system built into the toilet? We were welcome by the car attendant who parked our car. We stayed on 6th floor and had a great view of the skyscrapers out the window. We got woke up to the cooing of pigeons up above us. they sounded content. We had planed on eating dinner at the pied piper but not much of a menu, later found out we had to have room service and then got the choice of food. It was delivered and set up for us and very good. wonderful service. I was able to walk to my favorite fabric store., Britex. Had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Love the Palace. Staff is very welcoming and rooms are nice. The lobby and lounge are impressive. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool and gym facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but no dresser!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Loved everything but the complete lack of dressers, super small closet and tiny bathroom. Not at all practical for anything other than a one night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
It was last minute booking and it worked out great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great stay.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location, personnel.
Cons: WIFI
Location: Great great location
Great location, awesome hotel. Great service. Veery nice place to stay in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful historical hotel in great location in SF

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The historical hotel is old-world beautiful with so much old features kept after the renovation. It is in a great location, convenient for walking to most attractions and right next to Bart and Muni stations. The room was very clean, an bed was comfortable with excellent linens. We also loved the large gym and a big enough pool for swimming laps also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langley

Great hotel-in the heart of San Francisco

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Loved the architecture, and the extensive use of marble and granite. The tall ceilings throughout the hotel and in the rooms provides a spacious feel.
Cons: The parking is extremely expensive, twice as much as garages in the same vicinity...
Location: The location is very central, with every amenity nearby, transit stops at the building and goes everywhere...
The Palace is a great place to stay, right close to Union square and all the amenities. Very clean, and the staff is friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Location, but Pied Piper, not so great.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The location of the hotel was great. It was walking distance to many things like, the Ferry Building, Union Square, and Chinatown. The room was spacious, although the bathroom was a little tight, staff was friendly, and the common areas were clean. The only complaint I have is from my dining experience at the Pied Piper. It was pretty busy on a Saturday night after the marches on January 21, but I felt like the waitresses passed our table a few times before getting us menus or asking if we've been helped and our glasses of waters never got refilled. We ordered the burgers since "it was the best burger in the Bay." That didn't quite ring true. It took 26 minutes for our burgers to arrive It was dry, unimpressive, and I this they forgot to add the bacon. You'd be much better going to Gott's Burgers in the Ferry Building for a delicious, juicy burger.