Ratings based on 3,202 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, MD

Hotel was stunning and luxurious

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Perfect location. Felt pampered. Staff and concierge were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york , ny

Hotel and rooms feel new and fresh

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Never stayed here before. Was really pleasantly surprised how nice and modern the rooms and hotel are . Have seen this hotel for years and never stayed there due to how old it was. Hotel is fresh and new ! Really nice experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Lovely old hotel in great location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: location and room
Cons: service, which was inconsistent
Location: close to the ferry building and waterfront, also good for union square and the cable cars
Our first room, although lovely and comfortable was very noisy due to hidden pipes and we had to wait 2 days before we could be moved which meant we didn't get much sleep initially. The staff were either very good or really rubbish, one receptionist implied we had a poorer room and service because we booked expedia, which is a terrible indictment. Luckily the next person managed to find us another room, which was just as nice and must quieter. The housekeeping staff were also inconsistent and I'd say this sums up this hotel. Lovely hotel, with well appointed and comfortable rooms but not quite 5*.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

disappointed service

Posted Apr 20, 2017
No connection front desk and bell desk staff. My driver brought my jacket to the hotel and hand it to bell desk staff. I confirmed front desk staff whether my jacket reached to the hotel.but she told me that she did not know. Actually the jacket stayed at stockyard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The hotel is generally comfortable but our room is next to the street, which makes our rest somewhat difficult. The valet parking is a bit expensive compared to other hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Reservations , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Beautifully updated hotel with the friendliest, most helpful staff we've experienced! From check-in to valets to the concierge...everyone helped so much to make our stay delightful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Palace Hotel , Hotel Management
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Palace Hotel! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the Palace Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon. We love knowing our ambassadors provided you with an exceptional experience. We will be sure to share your comments with the team and congratulate them on their commitment to excellence. We hope you return to the Palace again soon. The Palace ambassadors are so happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for your wonderful comments! We will share your experience with our team so they can continue to celebrate their commitment to excellence. We look forward to welcoming you to the Palace again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel. Stay if the price is right.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This is a beautiful, old, but very clean and updated hotel. The wife and I found a great price on a room on Easter Sunday and it was worth every penny. The clerk at the desk gave us a king bed room without issue even though Expedia had only offered two doubles at the price we booked. We didn't get to eat at the restaurant because our four month old's sleep schedule didn't line up with the window of time we had. We did however order dinner to the room; it was ok. I have yet to be impressed by a room service meal anywhere so I guess it was about par. All of that being said, I wouldn't spend extra money just for the five star rating on this spot. There are hotels very close to this one that are every bit as nice, if not nicer, even without quite hitting the "five star" mark. To summarize; this is a great hotel that I would stay at again as long as there's a good rate offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Palace Hotel, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Palace Hotel! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the Palace Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon. We love knowing our ambassadors provided you with an exceptional experience. We will be sure to share your comments with the team and congratulate them on their commitment to excellence. We hope you return to the Palace again soon. The Palace ambassadors are so happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for your wonderful comments! We will share your experience with our team so they can continue to celebrate their commitment to excellence. We look forward to welcoming you to the Palace again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Palace

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The housekeepers were nicer and better with people than the front desk.
This hotel is not in a nice neighborhood. The doorman were never there to open the door. Especially being in a less desirable area it would have been pleasing to have more presence at the front. The few times I was at the front desk there was an employee with no guests working on the computer. I had to wait several minutes before they were available or was greeted. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, and probably get this rating only because of the fancy chandeliers in the lobby. The pool area also was not maintained and there were used towels that sit on the chairs after the guests left. The room temperature control also did not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Reservations , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 star hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This is truly a five star hotel. The staff, the facilities and every amenity are thought of. A beautiful building that is matched by top notch service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Everything was fantastic including the restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Palace Hotel Reservations, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!