Ratings based on 3,289 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Beautiful property and conveniently located

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms with high ceilings and comfortable beds.
Location: Easy to get around, just blocks from Union Square where the tour buses stop.
The Palace is a beautiful and elegant property. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with high ceilings and comfortable beds. Hallways are wide with high ceilings and are well maintained. The concierge was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and with assistance in getting around the city. We did not eat at the property as prices are quite high. At the end of a busy day in the city we looked forward to returning to the comfort of the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Good hotel close to loads of shopping

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The staff was nice and very helpful
Cons: They could explain upgrade requirements completely.
Location: Taxi transportation was difficult to get to bring you back to the hotel for locations on the piers.
I upgraded the room but could not see the upgrades that I paid for. The rooms on my floor all looked the same, I wanted the four poster bed that was shown on internet as upgrade, plus we had to pay for buffet meal that I thought was included in the upgrade that I selected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: Walkable to everything. BART right outside the door.
We stayed here recently and will now come back to this lovely hotel on our next trip to San Francisco. Great location, comfortable bed, beautiful pool and nice fitness center cannot be beat. We did splurge for the breakfast buffet. It is pricey, but a delight. And the service was impeccable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Very clean and accommodating staff. Would definitely recommend to family or friends. Will be staying here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jun 23, 2017
loved it..... Great location, walking distance to everything and found it because the other hotel which I stayed last time's booked up. Will be going back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great, classic hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Location: Amazing Market Street location directly across from BART.
I have stayed at the Palace twice, and enjoyed both stays. It's great to see the the original grandeur of the property has been preserved. The Garden Court delivers the wow factor that you just don't see in modern hotels; and although incredibly fancy in feel, still manages to be comfortable. The rooms are a bit on the smallish side, but big by San Francisco standards. the entire property is clean and incredibly well maintained. A big plus is the indoor pool with sky view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Lavish central hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Cons: The inclusive breakfast did not include our children, despite paying double the standard rate for a family room. $19.99 for each child plus tax & tip!
Location: Located close to the BART stop for access to the airport. On Market street so easy 15min tram journey to Fisherman's wharf.
The hotel is a fabulous landmark building in the central finance district. The glass-roofed atrium is a breathtaking feature of the dining room. The leisure facilities are excellent and provide views from the rooftop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Destin, fl

Long weekend getaway with husband

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Best turn down service. Beds so comfortable. Staff was superb. Stunning building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful historic hotel in heart of Union Square.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Loved the central location. Great shopping, dining and coffee houses within short walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Rooms like motel...light years away from 5*

Posted Jun 2, 2017
No mirror in the room. Very dark room. No exhaust in bathroom and to top it all off zero water pressure in shower. We got cheated.