Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
A little unorganized with where to check in and how things were handled. People were nice but they need a little better system. Stay was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Historic hotel right downtown

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Historic ~ best antique elevator that one has to go for a ride in
Location: Tenderloin District, Market Street, Powell Street Cable Car, Ferries to Alcatraz and Sausalito
Great room, excellent breakfast buffet, staff were helpful with recommendations for restaurants and nearby sight-seeing options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint escape within s big city.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
The staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast area is charming and quaint. The conversation area is warm and cozy. The other guests were very nice as well, it was easy to make new friends given the comfort of the B&B. The rooms are small and the beds a bit too soft but they are clean. The staff takes good care of this little gem. We've stayed here twice and will visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Prince Albert, Sk.

Excellent location!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. it felt like a home for the week we were in San Francisco!
Cons: Garbage pick up at 5 am was noisy. I wore ear plugs every night. Also a hospital is down the street so sirens are heard every night as well.
Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Two blocks from cable cars. Small grocery store across the street. Excellent breakfasts and we loved the wine/appetizer evenings. It gave you a chance to chat with fellow travellers. Bought the week bus pass from Walgreens for $40 and used it every day. Bus, cable cars and trolleys are all covered by the pass and it's very easy to use the public transport. Also did the Big Bus Tour around the city on the first two days. It was excellent and you were able to hop on hop off at various locations around the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Wine and cheese was exceptional

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Small hotel with opportunities to meet other guests at breakfast and wine & cheese. Food was excellent.
Cons: Nothing. It was just what we were expecting based upon the hotel website.
Location: Great location - ChinaTown, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle UK

It's the extras that make it

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Del Popolo next door does very good pizzas.
Unfortunately I found the beds very uncomfortable (too soft), and I'd highly recommend earplugs for noise from inconsiderate guests, the elevator if you're unlucky enough to be given a room right next to it, and particularly for external noise (even with the windows shut). Don't expect a view from the window, and both times our room was a bit of a squeeze (though I think some rooms are bigger). On the plus side, we found the location really convenient, the breakfast was good, tea/ coffee/ bottled water/ sodas available at all times, fresh baked cookies during the day. Wine and nibbles every afternoon from 5-6:30. All the staff we saw were friendly. I would consider staying again, especially if they put new mattresses in!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago suburb

Quaint & Cozy

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Not bad for a boutique hotel. Small room that could use some updating (we had the "Deluxe Queen"). Breakfast was nice. The staff was great. The floors creaked. It was not pleasant waking at 5:30am to the person above us walking around their room for 2 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basildon, Essex

Chic, petite, boutique.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Lovely, small boutique hotel with just 26 rooms, only 5 minutes walk from Union Square. Very helpful and friendly staff and a nice little afternoon buffet every day so that guests could get to know one another over coffee, wine and canapés. Nice and varied continental style buffet breakfast each morning. Would stay again and would definitely recommend .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Interiors not so appealing for the price paid

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: High Speed Internet facility (better than many other hotels), nice hot water shower facility
Cons: Please include a small working desk (instead of the huge cupboard that takes up 1/4 of the room), an iron box and re-do the bathroom tiles, incl A/C.
Negative points - Front desk closes very earlier than expected and opens late for which we would have to go to the White Swan Hotel again.hallway is a very narrow one and the room/bathroom have very very old flooring and they also look worn out. To our dismay, we came to know after arriving that the hotel does not have the A/C facility which was the most difficult part on a warmer day and the room does not even have an iron box. very old building & wood creaking noises while people are walking around. ++ points - good hot water shower facility and very good high speed internet facility; The hotel is within walking distance to many great locations in the city and is very convenient to the shopping centers which is a huge +++.. Overall the experience was merely OK; We felt it was NOT worth the money that was paid. we wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone especially for those who would like to stay/vacation in the city during spring/summer seasons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by MS, Hotel Management
Hi VA, Thank you so much for your review; we surely appreciate the detailed response as it will all for us to better anticipate the needs of our hotel guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location. With San Francisco experiencing a late-blooming summer this year, there have been a few warm days. Our historic hotel does not have air-conditioning as the weather is relative mild year-round. We value your patronage and all the best! Michael Singleton Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Perfect hotel near downtown

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Hotel Ard near to restaurant, shopping and public transport. All by walking distance and totally convenient. Staff service are great and room are very clean. Highly recommended and will sure be back to stay.