Ratings based on 853 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Nob hill

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Old building with no soundproofing made sleep difficult Staff accommodating. They try to help The rooms on the front of building on street just too noisy
4 out of 5
by Robert

Bed and Breakfast Feel

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Impeccable service. (Leon was great!) This quaint hotel with a bed and breakfast feel was a great find. We always look here or at their sister hotel next door (White Swan) first when spending a night or two in the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nea tziona

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Happy hour at 5 pm
Cons: Breckfast
Location: Good location
We are satisfied, The standard room was very small
5 out of 5
by Kathryn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Come for charm, romance & location, not comfort

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Charming and friendly atmosphere, which spills over to guests. It's hard to find a B&B atmosphere in the city but the Petite Auberge manages it.
Cons: Even for an old building the rooms (especially the bathrooms) could be updated.
Location: Chinatown and Japantown is walking distance and easy Uber to everything else in the city.
My wife of 30 years and I used to come here when we were young lovers and so nostalgia brings us back to the Petite Auberge. It's still very charming, the people are very friendly (when someone is actually at the desk rather than at the sister hotel next door) and the breakfast and evening wine/snack are very nice. Also, the location is really terrific as it is very centrally located especially if Chinatown is your thing. But, if romance isn't on your mind, you may be disappointed with the dated nature of the hotel and it's general lack of creature comforts. I expect that the best value will be the deluxe king room with fireplace but ask if it's the one at the front of the hotel before booking. Be forewarned, it is very noisy! But, if you like "street sounds" (we do) then you can take advantage of the lower rate for this room. They do provide a white noise machine which we used and we slept fine through the night -- and, trust me, it's not pretty if my wife doesn't sleep well. But, it's not enough to cover morning traffic noise when it gets going in earnest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The location is very nice. The hotel staffs were very kind.
5 out of 5
by Terry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Saskatchewan, AB

San Francisco Treat

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfast that included hot oatmeal, eggs cooked different each day. Complimentary wine in the afternoon. The Quaint little rooms.
Location: Location is on a relatively flat street, 2 blocks to street cars that take you to the wharfs. 3 blocks to Chinatown entrance.
Nice little character hotel that is over 100 years old. Our hotel room was small, but very functional for the limited time spent in the room. Shower was great, lots of hot water and a good shower head. The old elevator is very cool, but we preferred the stairs for the excercise. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is fantastic! Freshly cooked so it is hot and delicious, egg style even changes from day to day. The hotel provides a free wine/tea late in the afternoon around the fireplace. Although we didn't make it too often as we were out seeing the sites, we were able to grab a glass of wine that was still available when we got back from our day's adventures.
4 out of 5
by Rodolfo

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Reception was very nice. Mattress was very old
5 out of 5
by Ed

Simply Charming

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very charming (i.e. small) hotel in the center of SF. My wife and I loved it and would return. Yes, small room, but very comfortable. And very clean.