Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Interiors not so appealing for the price paid

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: High Speed Internet facility (better than many other hotels), nice hot water shower facility
Cons: Please include a small working desk (instead of the huge cupboard that takes up 1/4 of the room), an iron box and re-do the bathroom tiles, incl A/C.
Negative points - Front desk closes very earlier than expected and opens late for which we would have to go to the White Swan Hotel again.hallway is a very narrow one and the room/bathroom have very very old flooring and they also look worn out. To our dismay, we came to know after arriving that the hotel does not have the A/C facility which was the most difficult part on a warmer day and the room does not even have an iron box. very old building & wood creaking noises while people are walking around. ++ points - good hot water shower facility and very good high speed internet facility; The hotel is within walking distance to many great locations in the city and is very convenient to the shopping centers which is a huge +++.. Overall the experience was merely OK; We felt it was NOT worth the money that was paid. we wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone especially for those who would like to stay/vacation in the city during spring/summer seasons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by MS, Hotel Management
Hi VA, Thank you so much for your review; we surely appreciate the detailed response as it will all for us to better anticipate the needs of our hotel guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location. With San Francisco experiencing a late-blooming summer this year, there have been a few warm days. Our historic hotel does not have air-conditioning as the weather is relative mild year-round. We value your patronage and all the best! Michael Singleton Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Perfect hotel near downtown

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Hotel Ard near to restaurant, shopping and public transport. All by walking distance and totally convenient. Staff service are great and room are very clean. Highly recommended and will sure be back to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

ノスタルジックなお部屋、治安も良く、朝食も美味しく、夕方のワインサービスもあります

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: 無料朝食、ロケーション、無料ネット、無料ワインサービス、そして無料のドリンクサービス。
Cons: お部屋にセーフティボックスを設置してほしいですね。
Location: とても便利なところにあります。サンフランシスコ独特の坂道を上がっていかなければなりませんが、治安も良く、よいところです。
フレンドリーな従業員、無料の朝食も美味しいし、ネットも無料、ドリンク(水と炭酸飲料)は飲み放題、夕方にはワインサービスもあり、他の宿泊客とおしゃべりも楽しめます。エレベーターは時代もので、お部屋も古いですが、不便には感じません。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bremen

Zauberhaftes kleines Hotel in perfekter Lage.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Eigentlich alles
Cons: Die Hellhörigkeit.
Location: Sehr zentral zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten
Freundliches, sehr hilfsbereites Personal in jeder Abteilung (Rezeption, Service und Housekeeping) Liebevoll eingerichtetes Zimmer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptionally friendly atmosphere

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The Petite Auberge is a well-located, small hotel in an older building. It is well maintained and has very friendly staff and a generous policy of supplying free drinks and nibbles each evening, as well as home-baked cookies in the afternoon and breakfasts, all included in the room tarif. The evening wine and nibbles events encourage guests to mingle and chat, generating a very friendly atmosphere. My room was very comfortable, but the older building means that noise from the street is not acoustically blocked, as it can be in newer buildings. Occasionally there was street noise at night. This was the only negative, but it was minor, and clearly a function of staying in an older building. I really enjoyed my stay there and would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by MS, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for your thoughful review on your recent visit with us! We have collected your insights, and thank you as they will assist in our efforts to further enhance our guest experiences. We hope you choose to stay with us again! Warmest regards, Michael Singleton Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Nice location rooms were very quaint and nice. Location was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

the hotel has warmth and charm but is showing age.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Staff. Breakfast.
Cons: Noise. Rate the rooms to reflect their varying standards.
Location: Location is moderate. Access on foot can involve some steep climbs, but it is San Francisco.
This is a nice, moderately comfortable hotel. But there are some rooms that aren't up to standard. When a hotel needs to offer a written warning that noise from the rooms above can be so disturbing that earplugs may be necessary, it is not a good sign. From my room every step taken in the room above set off a creaking from the floorboards that could be heard loudly below. the room had no fridge and the bathroom was too small for a hand basin, so that was placed outside. No fridge and broken window locks caused security concerns. The bed was advertised as a queen size but was very clearly a regular double. After booking more than two months in advance and paying a relatively high rate, these aspects detracted a lot from what is largely a decent hotel with fantastic, very helpful staff. Also on the positive side, the included breakfast is very substantial and of high quality and the daily wine tasting sessions are generous and a great idea. Worth a visit, but ask for an upstairs room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

petite auberge makes a happy holiday

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
we had a great time at the hotel and will go back next year
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Thomas

OK for a quick stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Fine enough, we drew a downstairs room and the window didn't have security, so we needed to close it when we weren't there and at night. They should provide a fan to those rooms; even though SF isn't often hot, it was warm enough to warrant something in a closed room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by Michael Singleton, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, Thank you for your review! We value your patronage and feedback as it will certainly help us to incorporate elements that will help to elevator service and hotel offerings. Though we have rooms on our first, ground level, our hotel room facilities are secure as our facility perimeters are enclose with key access only. All the best and safe travels! Michael Singleton Operations Manager