Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Nice funky kind of retro hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: I likes that the atmosphere was laid back and friendly. It is a throw back to the age of motor inns but right in the middle of the city. Great bar.
Cons: I was there during the holiday season and the bar and restaurant were reserved for private parties. should have a small section reserved for guests
Location: The area was a little sketchy, a lot of homeless people, its beyond the control of the hotel, it should not stop you from staying at this great place
Stayed there for three nights for a business trip. Was within walking distance to everything I needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Great design and good location - friendly staff who were very attentive and professional. The heated outdoor pool is a real bonus as is the restaurant Chapters.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2015 by Diana, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for the amazing feedback. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. take care, Diana
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Good for the price

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean. Convenient location. Free parking. Free coffee and muffins in the morning. Not the best neighborhood, but the facility is secure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Beside a bar

Posted Nov 9, 2015
The staff were all wonderful and polite, but the fact that I had to weave my way through drunken strangers in the courtyard a few meters from my hotel room was awful. It was unsettling and I think having a gated courtyard seems silly then to let drinking patrons from a public bar into the courtyard where they have easy access to your rooms makes no sense. My room was vibrating from the music at the bar and I called the front desk and he said he would call them to shut the windows, but there were still 50 people hanging out in the courtyard. They kick everyone out of the courtyard at 12am but you can still people hanging around till 1am. The music from the bar was so loud and the patrons were yelling and screaming, and laughing... It so disruptive. I had to wake up early both days, I felt like I had no peace and quiet until morning. If I knew this I would never have booked the hotel. Very upsetting and I paid almost $300 a night for a room I couldn't enjoy after nightfall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monmouth County, NJ

San Fran No 1

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: It's layback; the rooms are round a Courtyard, & the Bar & Restaurant are off that yard. There's a big fire with protective seating.
Cons: For my trip, nothing.
Location: I was there on business so always had places to go, things to do. Lobby service is first class so getting advice, transport, etc., was top class.
The area is a bit threatening after dark probably for female visitors but otherwise it is a great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by melinda from seattle

GREAT FIND

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
This was surprise. GREAT oasis in a very dicey neighborhood. Funky, clean with a great resteraunt and bar, wonder bedding and great soaps . I was shocked. I will be back. staff was amazingly helpful and kind. This is a steal in San Francisco. you can walk anywhere from here as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cool, clean hotel in a central location.

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Location, decor, staff, heated pool.
Cons: I would like to have a filtered water station where I could fill a bottle of water or grab a cup of water while out by the pool.
Location: Although it is adjacent to the Tenderloin, I felt very safe. I was able to walk to a few local restaurants, cafe, and movie theater and felt safe.
A charming hotel in a centralized location of San Francisco. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at the hotel and their accompanying restaurant, Chambers. I would absolutely recommend this spot for anyone looking for a clean, trendy hotel with a retro yet modern vibe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ibrahim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Vermont

Fun spot run by great staff

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
A spunky spot that is more eclectic and certainly more interesting than the traditional, high-rise franchise hotel. While the building is clearly older, it has all the key amenities (including a nice bar), and the decor is bright. Most importantly, the staff was upbeat, authentic and helpful. And there's parking on-site, which made life easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Thomas from Tenderloin

Glimrende party-hotell!

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Blir ikke bedre i SF for gutta på tur. Pool party nesten hver kveld, Chambers er en knall bar med mye liv og røre. Tenderloin er full av uteliggere og narkiser, men de er stort sett vennlig innstilt. Mange gode barer og klubber i nærheten, og ikke langt til de "trygge" turistområdene heller. Rommene er litt slitne og ikke luksuriøse, men gjør nytten.