Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

The Full Experience

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Staff, pool
Location: In the heart of the Tenderloin and close to everything.
Really nice staff at this motel who live in the area and directed us toward cool stuff. This personal touch made our trip most enjoyable. We had one housekeeping issue, which was resolved in minutes by the excellent housekeeping staff. Overall, the staff makes this place great and they put their all into helping us with any and everything we needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique, cool, "chill"...

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: I loved how we were treated. How easy it was to check in and check out. The rooms were very nice (updated), just steps to the pool, and it was clean.
Cons: The city needs to improve the homeless issue. More evident here than any city I've ever seen. Unfortunately the hotel sits on the fringe of that.
Location: We were able to get to AT&T Park, Fishermans Wharf, and all the sites with ease (less than 20 mins). Also the hotel is blocks from the best shopping.
You may not love the neighborhood, but the hotel is in a very convenient location. The staff is amazing, there's parking (which you'll learn is a big deal in this city), the courtyard and pool and really unique - and serve as an escape. Reasonably priced, relaxed feel, clean, easy to get to, within 5 blocks of cable car and train services. I would gladly stay there again, however it's not for everybody. In my opinion it suits a younger crowd (18-48), those who have travelled a bit, and those looking for something different, something less vanilla.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Rock n Roll kinda place

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Loved the front desk staff bat staff they watched out for me to ensure my safety as I was traveling alone
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An oasis.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
A funky mid century hotel with eclectic decor. Very clean. Coolest bar ever. Terrific front desk. Morning pastry program needs some serious attention, although the coffee and tea offerings were high end.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from solana beach

Nice and friendly staff

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close everywhere . We like it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orem, UT

Psychedelic baby!

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Interesting decor, cleanliness, staff
This motel has a very 70s retro theme going on. The hotel itself is quirky, interesting, and fun. Rather than seem outdated, the hotel embraces that it is from another time and makes the most of its unique qualities. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Beds are small but comfortable. The courtyard is pleasant and relaxing with chairs set up near a pool and under trees. The lounge is filled with 1000s of vinyl records. Once I got use to the unusual decor, I really enjoyed the motel. The location, however, is a little scary. The motel is set in the Tenderloin District, which is somewhat seedy and run down. There are good Thai restaurants nearby, but a lot of homeless people on the streets. However, no one bothered us as we walked daily to and from the Moscone Convention Center. The streets seemed more safe at night than during the day, because there were less homeless people on the streets then. There was lots of police presence. By the time we left, I was much less afraid of the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
by Andrea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Bästa hotellet i SF! Nyrenoverat i härlig, fräsch retrostil med egen parkering. Fräscha rum/badrum, uppvärmd pool och en restaurang vägg i vägg. Ligger bra till, centralt i SF. Området upplevs precis som på flera andra ställen i SF som lite "rough" men vi kände oss aldrig otrygga. Nära till flera restauranger, diners, barer och shopping. Kommer till 100% välja Phoenix Hotel nästa gång vi åker till SF! Dessutom supertrevlig personal i rec!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

always a pleasure

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel is really cool & the front desk employees are incredibly nice. mixed together with city & my daughter's spring break was totally made;) thank u.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Fun place to stay with friends, not the nicest area but if you're young and sensible it's all good. Close to lots of stuff.