Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Good for the price

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean. Convenient location. Free parking. Free coffee and muffins in the morning. Not the best neighborhood, but the facility is secure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Beside a bar

Posted Nov 9, 2015
The staff were all wonderful and polite, but the fact that I had to weave my way through drunken strangers in the courtyard a few meters from my hotel room was awful. It was unsettling and I think having a gated courtyard seems silly then to let drinking patrons from a public bar into the courtyard where they have easy access to your rooms makes no sense. My room was vibrating from the music at the bar and I called the front desk and he said he would call them to shut the windows, but there were still 50 people hanging out in the courtyard. They kick everyone out of the courtyard at 12am but you can still people hanging around till 1am. The music from the bar was so loud and the patrons were yelling and screaming, and laughing... It so disruptive. I had to wake up early both days, I felt like I had no peace and quiet until morning. If I knew this I would never have booked the hotel. Very upsetting and I paid almost $300 a night for a room I couldn't enjoy after nightfall.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monmouth County, NJ

San Fran No 1

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: It's layback; the rooms are round a Courtyard, & the Bar & Restaurant are off that yard. There's a big fire with protective seating.
Cons: For my trip, nothing.
Location: I was there on business so always had places to go, things to do. Lobby service is first class so getting advice, transport, etc., was top class.
The area is a bit threatening after dark probably for female visitors but otherwise it is a great location.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cool, clean hotel in a central location.

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Location, decor, staff, heated pool.
Cons: I would like to have a filtered water station where I could fill a bottle of water or grab a cup of water while out by the pool.
Location: Although it is adjacent to the Tenderloin, I felt very safe. I was able to walk to a few local restaurants, cafe, and movie theater and felt safe.
A charming hotel in a centralized location of San Francisco. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at the hotel and their accompanying restaurant, Chambers. I would absolutely recommend this spot for anyone looking for a clean, trendy hotel with a retro yet modern vibe.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

This place is a gem!

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: The art and design and staff.
Cons: Nothing really. The hotel was clean. The staff was awesome. The vibes were killer. Loved it!
Location: You can easily walk to the mass transit which was huge plus!! I felt like we were centrally located for getting around the entire city.
The staff was amazing and extremely helpful! They gave us directions to places we wanted to go, and offered advice for places to go and visit on our short trip. The property is really fun, and just like the photos. Swimming in the pool on the weekend at night when the bar next door is open and flooded into the courtyard is a lot of fun. The bar next door gets packed so lots of people were hanging in the courtyard. It was loud, but not annoying. Meet lots of cool people staying at the hotel too!! Nice location for getting around. I would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Best staff ever!

Posted Sep 15, 2015
We're on a three week roadtrip for our honeymoon and have been staying all over the west coast. The staff at the Phoenix made us feel more welcome than anywhere else, even the super fancy places. They were so warm and lovely, we felt right at home. We can't wait to visit again.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great staff, helpful and clean.

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Staff made the experience that much better.
Cons: Fridge in the room, water pressure in shower.
Location: Location was great as it is the center of where we wanted to go on either sides. The only downfall was location, unable to walk places. Taxi's helped.
Great staff, very helpful with suggestions for food, places, bus tour, etc. Hotel felt it was priced fairly and you got a good room for the cost. The only downfall was no fridge, and water pressure in the shower was low.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

Wonderful hotel with a terrific staff!

Posted Sep 2, 2015
My friend and I stayed at the Phoenix for 4 nights aug 22-26 and had a wonderful stay. The room was clean and exactly as advertised, as was the pool and courtyard. The best part about the Phoenix is the great staff. Everyone that worked the front desk while we were there was exceptionally helpful and gave us great recommendations on restaurants and activities. Joe even gave us a nice basket of complentary snacks and gifts on our last day which was a nice surprise. Although the Phoenix isn't located in the best part of town we had no trouble and felt perfectly safe venturing out at any hour. Great trip can't wait to come back.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Cool hotel hidden behind a wall

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: The room is spacious and hotel staff is awesome.
Location: Many good restaurants within blocks of hotel and close to city center.
Our last 2 nights spent in San Francisco driving the PCH. Very excited to see SF for the first time. Our check in with Mike was super pleasant we arrived a little early and was able to check in with no extra charge. Our room was spacious, modern and very comfortable. Our teenage girls had fun in the heated pool. Hotel offers coffee and muffins enough to get started. We had free wifi and parking. The staff at The Phoenix are so nice! The only unfortunate sight is the homeless so sad to see.
4 out of 5
for Families
by Ralf from Schweiz

Insidertip Nr.1 im Reiseführer

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Das Hotel ist sehr gut, das Personal sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend. Zudem ist es der Insidertip Nr.1 in meinem Reiseführer! Was will man mehr? leider ist der Standort des Hotels nicht Top. Zu viele Obdachlose und zu viel Dreck auf der Strasse.