Ratings based on 952 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Unique hotel.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Delightful Victorian hotel furnished with genuine antiques. Only drawback was the lack of air conditioning. Fortunately the weather was cool when we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Close to Japantown, quiet, I like staying in a neighborhood away from downtown but close to downtown, driver service helpful I did care for breakfast service minimal healthy options and did not open till 715 I can for a conference and needed to be downtown by 73O daily
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very special hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Decore; location; parking
This is a beautifully decorated hotel if you like the Victorian style that is the theme of San Francisco. The location was very convenient and parking was very reasonable $ and easily accessible. Breakfast was great, staff were very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted May 5, 2017
Good location and out of the tourist/business crowds. Staff very helpful and nice. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The common sitting areas were lovely and comfortable. Our room was small and very dated. I might stay at this Bed and Breakfast again but not in the same room. The room had a musty smell and the sub-flooring which had carpet over it was warped in a number of places (and especially by the side of the bed).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sarasota, fl

Stopover before heading to Australia.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Historic!
Cons: See above.
Location: Dosa Indian restaurant...best Indian food I've ever had! Handy bus stop! Ticket for seniors: $1.25. Good for most of the day!
Good location, and fun hotel, but again, we never heard any ghosts! Disappointing! Lots of fantastic restaurants within walking distance and the bus right outside the door! Good cookies and tea, and a delightful fire in the fireplace at all times. A. It tired and not so clean?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place! Will def stay again.

Posted May 3, 2017
Warm, friendly and historic building in a convenient location. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Rooms are very comfortable and quiet at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted May 2, 2017
Victorian style, gorgeous authentic atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. Free upgrade to a jacuzzi suite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Continental breakfast could have been better. I liked the hardboiled eggs though (some places just have that gross scramble egg product).
3 out of 5
by Scott

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Mattresses were terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis MO

Very quiet hotel more like a bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The setting is super, very period correct Victorian. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff was very nice. Seems very close to everything!