Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Comfortable Stay w/free Parking

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: I was able to park my car conveniently and safely for free. Lots of restaurants, etc. within walking distance.
Cons: The bedspread had a large oil-like stain on it. They could improve the good experience by replacing anything that is worn out, broken or stained.
Location: I was there for a concert and the location was good. There are restaurants, stores, movie theater within walking distance or short drive or Uber.
This is a small three-story building. I stayed one night. The room was basic, comfortable, quiet and fairly priced including free HBO and parking. Exactly what I was looking for in this trip. Other hotels that I considered either provided no parking at all or charged $30 or more extra per night for parking. I felt comfortable in the neighborhood during the day, but would be more cautious at night. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Iris, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We're glad our location was convenient and we hope you had fun at the concert. However, we regret that you felt much more comfortable in our surroundings during the daytime than you did at night. Although we're happy you enjoyed our quiet, simple, comfortable accommodations and convenient, complimentary amenities, we offer our apology for any aspects of our property that appeared to be in need of updating. We agree that renovations are in order and are excited to be in the process of upgrading rooms. Your kind praise is much appreciated. It's great to hear that the excellent value we provide met your needs ideally and we'd love to deliver an even better experience when work is complete.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Ok hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Hotel still has not given me my deposit back from my stay two weeks ago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear John, Your feedback is appreciated. While we are happy to hear you had a satisfactory time while at our hotel, please accept our apology for the delay in getting your deposit returned to you. Please feel free to contact us directly with any questions you have, and we will be happy to try and work with your bank to determine what is holding the process up. We hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time you are in the San Francisco area.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jan 10, 2018
A pleasant inexpensive place to stay in a wonderful but very expensive city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
San Francisco living is definitely not cheap but we're happy to hear you found our rates to be extremely reasonable during your stay at the Rodeway Inn Civic Center San Francisco. We aim to provide our guests with a good value so it's gratifying to hear we've done so through your visit with us. The next time you're looking for a five-star lodging experience in our area, we hope you'll keep us in mind.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove

Hotel in City Center

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Cheap and conveniently located.
Lift wasn't working, so had to walk up to 3rd storey. A bit noisy as we can hear outside conversations up to nearly 4 am. Heater and refrigerator on the noisy side. No breakfast although was stated in ad as with breakfast. Some inconsiderate guest parked their car in the middle of the hotel driveway blocking it and we had to wait for more than half and hour to get out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Alan, Thanks so much for staying with us during your recent visit to San Francisco. We appreciate the kind words you shared about our prime location and competitive rates. Our team would like to apologize for some of the elements of your stay that did not live up to your expectations. You deserved uninterrupted peace and quiet, as well as a hassle-free experience, at our property, and we are very sorry you did not receive that. Please keep us in mind next time you are in town, as we would love to improve your perception of our offerings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek CA

Decent for the price

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Internet service, cleanliness
Cons: It would be nice for there to be a thermostat to adjust the temperature (shouldn't be that expensive). They do not offer breakfast, just a danish.
Location: 100 meters from the most dangerous neighborhood in SF. Easy walk to the opera and symphony.
This place is clean and a decent, secure place to stay if price is a concern. It's within walking distance of the Van Ness and Civic Center stations. Free parking is a huge plus in SF if you have a car. I came at a very un-busy time of year, and was able to get a parking spot easily, but there are clearly not enough spots for all of the rooms, so I imagine you'd have to get there early if they're full. Unlike what another reviewer wrote, this place is not in the Tenderloin per se, but is only a block away, so I would not wander past Van Ness. There were some homeless people staying the night under my 3rd floor window. The block this is on, and Van Ness itself are generally safe. The mattress was cheap and springy, but not sagging, so decent to sleep on. The bathroom looked newly remodeled. The free internet worked well. This site lists "breakfast included," but all this consisted of exactly one packaged danish worth 89 cents, so I don't think it's quite honest to say breakfast is included. Plenty of places to eat nearby, though. There's no thermometer to adjust the room temperature, just an unmarked dial, so you kind of have to get it by trial and error. Check-in was slow, because the person has to run the credit card twice, once for the room, and once to put a deposit on your room, then she has to go into another room in order to determine your room and get your room key for some reason. This is a fairly centrally-located, decent place to stay if price is a major issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Belgo, Our team appreciates your insightful, constructive review. It's great to know that you enjoyed our free parking, reliable Wi-Fi, and newly remodeled bathroom during your stay. However, we regret to hear that certain aspects did not meet your expectations. You've highlighted many opportunities that we can take advantage of to offer a more pleasing experience next time so thank you for the input. We hope you'll join us again when traveling to San Francisco to witness all the ways in which we have improved.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid and simple hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Easy check in. Plenty of parking. Great staff. Great proximity to food, drinks, venues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to see that you had a simple, comfortable, and welcoming stay with us! Our goal is to provide our guests with a tremendous value with our caring service and tremendous location here in downtown. It sounds like we succeeded! Come back and visit us again soon here at the Rodeway Inn Civic Center San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Poor hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The shower didn’t work, and they provide parking but if you arrive late you must park in the street. They have some lot not enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the maintenance issue you identified with the shower. It is very unusual and we will pass your review along to our maintenance team. We are also saddened to see that our free city parking was not adequate for you. It is our goal to provide a stellar experience here in San Francisco and we are sorry to have fallen short. Please allow us the honor of another opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, Tn


Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Close this hotel.
Location: It is close to the Historic Castro District; however you take your life in your hands by going through the Tenderloin area.
The area is in the Tenderloin, and you can't walk down the street safely because of the homeless people fighting and begging. It is disgusting and dangerous. Our safety was in question at several times. You have to walk in the middle of the street to attempt to avoid the beggars and the drug deals. The local taxi companies won't even go past the 200 block of Eddy Street, forcing you to walk the next 6 blocks. Never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Fred, We appreciate you voicing your concerns about your recent stay at our hotel. While we cannot control the people outside of our property, we hope you enjoyed the many positive attributes that we offer inside such as our complimentary breakfast, well-appointed rooms with kitchenettes, or on-site business center. We hope you will reconsider your decision as we would love to have you back if travels bring you to San Francisco again.
2 out of 5
by Brad from San Francisco California United States

it was cheap but so was I

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
it's a Rodeway Inn so I kind of knew what to expect the rooms were very dated but the staff were wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017
Dear Brad, Although our decor wasn't to your liking, it's wonderful to know that our excellent customer service was the highlight of your visit; we will be sure to share your accolades with our team! Thank you for being our guest and we hope you will book with us again when traveling to San Francisco.
4 out of 5

Mostly Good

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean and comfortable, including the bed. Had the standard amenities of fridge, microwave and in room coffee maker. The air conditioner worked well regarding both cooling and heating. The morning lobby continental breakfast was very limited, but since I'm not a big breakfast eater, that didn't matter to me. The room price was fairly reasonable in the context of extremely expensive San Francisco. On the negative side, the WiFi was not consistently strong, in fact was very slow and clunky at times, though it was fairly fast at other times (mostly very late at night or very early in the morning). The TV menu was limited and didn't even include the channels carrying the baseball playoffs and as a big baseball fan, that was a downer. However, overall the experience was positive and I would stay again unless there were a better deal to be had to suit my needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017
Dear Raymond, The feedback from your recent visit is appreciated. We are thrilled that you had a very positive stay with us for the most part. While your room met your needs in most aspects, including cleanliness and comfort, we apologize for the issues you had with the Wi-Fi service. We know how important connectivity is and we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. Your comment concerning our breakfast options is appreciated as well as it helps us to identify areas that we could improve on. The next time you visit our area, we hope to welcome you back to Rodeway Inn Civic Center San Francisco!