Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Will definitely stay there again

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The only downsides I could find were that the few outlets available in the room were very loose, meaning sometimes my devices wouldn't charge properly (I might try a powerstrip next time), there wasn't a fitness center (there are several gyms nearby though), and the carpets were a bit frayed (which didn't affect my stay in any way). The location couldn't be better, the bed was comfortable, the shower had good water pressure and the water was hot, and everyone was very polite and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nv

Affordable Motel In Great Location!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The city view and balcony room. Free parking. Staff was helpful.
Cons: WiFi and TV reception is poor.
Location: Perfect location in the city. Located between North Beach and China Town. Easy walk to Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf and restaurants.
This motel is located between North Beach and China Town a perfect area to walk easily to many attractions San Francisco has to offer. Shops and restaurants are plentiful.The room we had was on the top level with a balcony and it had an awesome view of the Coit Tower and the Bay Bridge. Downfall was the WiFi and picture quality of TV but I wasn't there to stay in my room. The noises from the streets may be too loud for some but it did not interfere with our sleep after full days and nights playing tourist. Public transportation is easy to get to. Neighborhood seemed safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good hotel if you want to be in Chinatown.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great place to stay with clean room, and close to attractions you wanted to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eureka, CA.

Place to be and location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Professional staff and the room
Cons: Better wall and window insulation.
Location: Lots of things to do and close to Columbus Street.
We were upgraded to a room with a balcony facing the street. Kind a noisy from the traffic but the best view and a good place to just hangout people watching. The hotel staff are dress to kill and very professional. It's a good place to stay plus surrounded with restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Walkable to Piers

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Free parking
Cons: Just upkeep of older hotel
Location: Food!
Great location on the edge of Chinatown. Walked down to the tourist areas and not bad walk back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better value elsewhere

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: It was close to a few bus lines.
Cons: Location, management that separates a businessman from college kids, a real breakfast, and better access to electrical outlets that work.
Location: Located on the edge of Chinatown.
Having stayed at about 8 different old hotels in San Francisco, I think other hotels offer a better value for the money. There were few electric outlets that worked because the most readily accessible were in the lamp bases and had been used so much that I couldn't consistently get power to my computer. Initially, I was given a room with an interior door to the adjacent room where several college-age men and women were partying. The security guard they sent up to reduce the noise accomplished nothing. I was eventually moved to another room at 11:30 pm, about 18 hours after I woke that day and traveled across the country. The new room was in a quiet section of the hotel. The "breakfast" they provided, if I asked for it, consisted of two packaged sweet buns that are typically found in vending machines and coffee that I could make in my room's little coffee machine. Less than a half block away was at least a portion of the city's red-light district.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Great location

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Not a fancy place, but what a great location! City Lights Bookstore is right around the corner. Tons of restaurants from Chinatown to North Beach. Easy walk to the Embarcadero.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Heart of Chinatown so food is a plenty

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Deco dated
Location: Good chinese eats
Happy for a place to lay down after a long day! Cheap and cheerful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

bed bugs!

Posted Nov 22, 2016
we stayed one week in this hotel. i saw a bug in the room, but did not care. now, we are at home, with a bed bug problem!! i am almost crying, i have a baby with bed bug bites! i dont know how to get rid of them. thanks royal motor inn! this is the worst Thanksgiving gift to my family, ever.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient hotel in chinatown

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Chose this hotel because parking was free, though limited. There was very limited space on the ground level, but there's more parking underground though I didn't like the fact that your car key had to be turned over to the parking attendant. It gets pretty noisy even at night time as your room doors face the open hall ways, but that's not what bothered my about my stay. I wore shorts to sleep and got bites up my leg near the butt. I was very scared that there may be bed bugs so wore my jeans and sweatshirt to sleep. On the lighter note, if you like Chinese or Italian food, you can find many restaurants near by.