Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the ghetto

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Homeless people outside. Trash in the room. Wear n tear on the walls. Not in the best area to walk around at night. They don't seem to clean the bed sheets well. Wouldn't stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 29, 2016 by SOMA Park Inn, Hotel Management
We are very sorry your stay was disappointing, we never want any of our guests to feel the way you do. The cleanliness (or lack thereof) that you describe is not at all representative of our standards! There obviously must have been a mistake or oversight by our housekeeping staff. We sincerely apologize.
3 out of 5
by HSUEHMEI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Noisy.

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Not a bad place to stay, but very noisy. On a busy corner. Easily hear traffic through your room door. Tough to sleep.
4 out of 5
by Mario from Upland

Hotel staff

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff and they really take care of you however the area is poor. There are homeless everywhere in that area. Other than that it is a great hotel and the staff will bend backwards for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2016 by GM of SOMA Park Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the compliments on our staff. We agree with you that they are wonderful and we are so happy you felt their warmth! Yes, there are a lot of homeless people. Unfortunately this is a citywide issue. We hope you never felt your safety was comprimised. We have never had a safety issue at our hotel and we have saftey measures in place. We enjoyed having you with us and hope you will stay with us on your next visit to SF.
1 out of 5
by william from Long beach ca

NICE HOTEL IN A DANGEROUS AREA!

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
HOTEL WAS NICE AND CLEAN. SURROUNDING AREA, SIDEWALK STREET AND PARKING LOT FULL OF HOMELESS AND ROUGH LOOKING PEOPLE. URINE SMELL AND VOMIT IN PARKING AREA. HOTEL HAS SECURITY MEASURES IN PLACE. I DID NOT FEEL SAFE WALKING ONE BLOCK IN ANY DIRECTION. WILL NEVER STAY IN THAT AREA AGAIN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2016 by GM of SOMA Park Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. We are so sorry you did not feel safe. We never want one of our guests to feel that way. Please know that we have never had a safety issue at our Inn. We agree with you that San Francisco has a serious homelessness issue, but unfortunately this is a city widespread situation. We apologize that you had to experience this and that it affected your opinion of our property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly; the room was large and comfortable.
Cons: The neighborhood.
Location: We walked downtown San Francisco -- many nice restaurants and pubs in the area; civic center and convention center was nearby.
The staff at the hotel is excellent and accommodating. The hotel is dated, but reasonably priced. It is within walking distance of downtown San Francisco. The only drawback is the neighborhood -- very close to many shelters and services for the homeless population, so you will see many homeless in the neighborhood. We had no problem with the area and felt safe and secure at the hotel. They also have parking for an additional fee which was very reasonable for the downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2016 by SOMA Park Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We’re so happy you felt the warmth from our staff and enjoyed your room! We’re glad to see you walked many places and enjoyed our close proximity to restaurants and pubs. Please accept our apologies that you didn’t love our neighborhood. Unfortunately, homelessness is a big problem in SF and can be seen in any neighborhood. Although, we are happy to see you felt safe, we would like to assure you that we have never had an issue with safety at our hotel. Our guest’s security and comfort is our top priority and we hope you felt that. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had great service, organize and a microwave and refridgator. Many information about sight seeing was provided given that it was a my first time in San Francisco. But the neighborhood was not the best. I would stay closer to Marina or Pacific Heights since that is where most place we wanted to see were located. Overall, I wish this hotel would be in a better neighborhood and it would be fine and affordable
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2016 by GM of SOMA Park Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid remarks. We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinions of your stay with us. We are very sorry that our location was not what you were looking for. Hopefully Uber or taxis made it easy for you to explore SF. In the very least, we are happy to read that you loved our service. Our staff tends to go above and beyond for our guests and we appreciate you noticing that. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
by fernando

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2016 by GM of SOMA Park Inn, Hotel Management
We love 4 stars, thank you very much! Please come stay with us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
comfy beds and nice shower. had to be moved out of one room to another, roaches found. majorly yuck. but new room nice clean. low bath tub, easy to get in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2016 by GM of SOMA Park Inn, Hotel Management
We cannot apologize enough that you were inconvenienced in such a way. We are very sorry. Please know that we have addressed that issue with your first room and all has been taken care of. Thank you for your understanding and we sincerely hope it did not taint your opinion of our entire property.