Ratings based on 3,384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

City Center between ROSS and TARGET

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location is very convenient.
Cons: One of front staff has to be improved service quality to listen to customer expectations.
Location: Good access to cable car station. Budget shopping available at ROSS and Target. Blue bottle coffee is recommended for breakfast.
Good: Hotel location is convenient. Good access for cable car station. Clean room has enough space. Bad: Complex elevator access especially for lower floor. Between elevator hall to room is also complex. One of front staff has poor service at check out. It took too long. My colleague was told that the hotel can not provide a receipt since you paid already at 3rd party web site even its reservation is not prepaid. He explained it in detail but she had not change her mind...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south korea

old but clean

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: kind staffs
Location: hotel locates in center of downtown so there are so many attractions around the hotel
old but clean, small but comfortable room It is as good as to stay in a week
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Business trip, turned personal trip.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Was in town for a food show, hotel was great. Must visit the 39th floor - The View Lounge
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by San Francisco Marriott Marquis, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, We love to hear from our guests and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please do come back and see us again soon when you're next in San Francisco! Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Deluxe and Trendy

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, trendy and chic decoration, deluxe amenities, great snack shop and restaurants in the hotel, convenient location
Location: Very convenient location. Bloomingdale, Metreon, Yueba Buena Garden, Movie Theatre, many small eating places are just steps away.
Nicely decorated hotel in a convenient location in the booming South of Market district. There are many many small eating places around the corner where you can hop out for a quick breakfast or snack. If you want to go shopping, Bloomingdale is just a few steps away. I find the location more convenient than my previous stay in Union Square Grand Hyatt. I have a super size room overlooking their court yard. Though my room does not have the city view, the sheer size and trendy room decoration makes my stay very special. Totally love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Toll gepflegtes Hotel mit Flair

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Extrem nette Concierges und Bedienstete, sauber großzügig und eine tolle Lage! Unser Zimmer war für Innenstadt-Lage erstaunlich ruhig.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2016 by San Francisco Marriott Marquis, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star review! We are thrilled to learn your hosts assisted in making your trip to San Francisco a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm Beach, fl

Wonderfull hotel!

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Amazing hotel, everything was great except the ammount that they charge for the parking at the hotel $68.00 day. Parking for yourself was $35.00. Overall was a great hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
You get what you pay, good location, nice rooms, good restaurants and a lot of amenities around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
The bathrooms need some updating. The beds were very comfortable! Great views and staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel for weekend getaways

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: The room was clean, renovated and what you would expect of a Marriott
Cons: 1) If you are going to charge $65 for parking, do something about it. 2) Cater to hotel guests instead of closing things down for private parties
Location: Central location (convention center, shopping and close to the business district), but the hotel has too many guests that congest all the bars around
This hotel has 1,300+ rooms and is geared to the convention crowd. I booked it as a getaway and it was a huge mistake. Here is why: 1) Arriving at the hotel by car takes you 30 minutes to travel the final half a block. Several people get so frustrated they move around all the cars and try to cut in at the entrance. When you finally make it, the hotel staff will come to your car and tell you to wait (another 10 minutes), and that the parking fee is $65 - parking in San Francisco is expensive, but $65 is higher than any other hotel (except the Four Seasons). You would think for that much they would hire more people to move things quickly. 2) The lobby of this hotel is like a Las Vegas Casino without the Casino of course. You fee part of a cattle heard as soon as you get in. 3) This hotel has great views at the higher levels, but if you booked your hotel through a travel portal, enjoy the low rise tower and no views. 4) The Sky view lounge looks awesome in pictures. Good luck enjoying it. The closed it down for a private event on a Saturday at 9:00 pm, and they started kicking everyone out at 8:20 pm. The lobby bar is the only other bar in this hotel. 5) Drunk people woke me up three time in the middle of the night, and the church bells rang early next Sunday morning. 6) The few bars in the vicinity of this hotel cannot accommodate all the guests in it. 7) Want a San Francisco getaway, there are many other hotels that are as central, where you won't feel cattle herded through
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love it!

Posted Dec 22, 2015
We stay at the Marriott every year for my birthday weekend. Always the best!