Ratings based on 4,012 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Central hotel. Busy area. Easily accessible by public transportation. Close to Bart, Muni and Cable Car stations. Close to tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping. Some interesting characters in the area. Hotel was sufficient and met our needs, the staff was great, and my only complaint is the shower in my room (and neighbouring room) made a strange and loud noise when in use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brockville

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This hotel is `big and busy in a good way. A great vibe in the bustling lobby area. Very central. Helpful staff. Terrific fitness room. I purchased breakfast at the coffee shop on the main floor - great store!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
It was pleasant and we really enjoyed the experience. I would recommend this hotel. The restaurant the view on the top floor has a great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Lounge over looking the city
Cons: elevator signs on each floor, very confusing
Location: Union Square, tons of shopping and central downtown. Right next to BART.
Wonderful hotel, very nice, clean and courteous staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good location but

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The staff and conveniences close by.
Cons: More signage in halls and updating of the interior. The lobby was nice but the rest could use a face lift.
Location: Target and restaurants. I was there on business. It was close to the event venue on Mission.
The hotel was beautiful and in a great location with conveniences close by. The pipes (when neighbors were showering) were extremely loud in my room. It was like a maze getting to my room from the elevator. Twice I got lost getting to the elevators ending up in a dead end (going the wrong way). More signage would definitely be a plus, as I am not spatially challenged. The restaurant for breakfast only offers a $30 buffet (worth about half that), so be prepared. There is a grab and go place, but if you want a made to order breakfast, the hotel is not the place. The staff was personable and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Very central

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The hotel was very beautiful in the lobby area. The concierge was very helpful and friendly. The bed was fluffy and comfortable, but the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner (the bathtub specifically). Overal, it was a good hotel and I would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dirty H2O, Ct.

Perfect weekend getaway

Posted Jan 22, 2017
This hotel is perfectly located in the downtown area with all of the shopping and dining options one could ever desire. I fully enjoyed all that San Francisco had to offer along with being in close proximity to Oakland in order to check out the Cavs Vs. Golden State Warriors. Best weekend trip ever! Thank you Marriot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by San Francisco Marriott Marquis, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, Just935! We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dixon, Illinois

nicely located in the center of Union Square

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: We love The View Lounge! I also like their work-out facility and the steam room. Also liked the fact that you could see security personnel around.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: I love that it was within walking distance of a big shopping mall (Westfield) and many other nice stores and nice restaurants.
We recently stayed there for 4 nights during Christmas, to visit our 2 sons who live there. All the staff were very professional and pleasant. Housekeeping did a fabulous job every day. We've been staying there lately every time we go to San Francisco and it is now our choice every time we go to San Francisco. It is a very well run hotel. We had no complaints!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by sfodt, Hotel Management
Hello Dave, Thank you for celebrating the Christmas Holiday with your family at the Marquis. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your generous 5 star review. We can't wait to welcome you back to your new home away from home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

One night family getaway to San Francisco

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: the room was spacious just what we need it for our family of four
Cons: no pool at the fitness center and the view lounge should give priority to registered guests because it gets busy
Location: lots of things to do around, very close to union square but far enough to enjoy the walk.
Valet service was pricey but secure and professional, check in was a breeze, room was big (got a 2 queen room for me, wife and 2 children), the FREE wife was great and reliable, buffet was good but pricey for my taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, California

Great hotel...

Posted Jan 16, 2017
but, someone had smoked in the bathroom. The shower curtain smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. It should've been removed and replaced before the room was booked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by SFODT, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, R. We're so happy you had a great stay with us and appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Your feedback will be shared with our housekeeping team as a learning opportunity. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.