Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worth it.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Waaay nicer than other hotels in the area that want to charge similar rates.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Good location for visiting San Fran. & San Jose

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Good restaurant and room service. The menu isn't large but all the food is excellent. After a busy day, nice to relax with an in-room movie and room service dinner. Good parking, though pricey. Sprawling hotel layout takes some acclimation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX.

Conveniently located.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Nice hotel. Staff very professional and knowledgeable of area attractions. With the exception of the $25 breakfast I would recommend. Big room, big bathroom. Pool is nice, Sana was awesome!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Disappointing

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The picture on the Expedia site. It looks so much better in picture than it does in person. The sheets were very white. Room was clean.
Cons: See the above : Staff could be happier, friendly, attentive to details. Dining room / Cafe needs a face lift and price drop.
Location: Great location. Eat at Mimi's! YUM!
The halls were a mess with litter and debris, dirty carpeting. The dining room was mediocre at best. It was cafeteria style, not at all comfortable dining, and the food was nothing at all special but priced like a five star. I booked it on line hoping to treat my family to something special. The only thing extraordinary were the prices. There was a used tampon on the sidewalk by pool. I reported it to house keeping, it was still there the next day. Gross. Staff seemed tired and not very happy- work as usual. Overall disappointing experience!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Michelle A. - Operations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Tamara, As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for your overall experience with us. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that these were isolated issues that are corrected moving forward. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to San Mateo. Best Regards, Michelle A. Operations Manager, At San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
1 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ng

would not come back

Posted Apr 18, 2016
The room is really old and not clean. Front receptionists r not that friendly. I have to fight with her about the charges. Overall. It was not a pleasant experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2016 by Samantha , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your previous stay with us. We will be sure to address the issue you experienced at the front desk. It is unfortunate to hear you did not have a pleasant stay with us and continue to work on ensuring our guests have a good stay with us.
4 out of 5
by Leo from OP, IL

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Had to pay extra for everything: Parking, WiFi, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

questionable cleanliness

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Hair was in the shower and when we turned the shower on, a stick came out of the drain. It had obviously not been cleaned...or even given a basic rinse. Our sheets made us itch and after the shower issue, we wondered if they had been cleaned. As most "upscale" hotels you have to pay for parking, wifi (seriously Marriott? should be complimentary at this point), breakfast etc. Food was just okay. For all we needed to pay, it was not worth it. They did have a free shuttle to and from San Fran airport which was nice BUT our plane came in at 10 and it stopped running at 9 so we had to pay $30 for a cab to the hotel. We did get the shuttle back to the airport which was nice. I'd rather stay at Holiday Inn/Days Inn, pay less AND get the complimentary wifi, breakfast, and a clean room. I've been less impressed with Marriott over the years.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Flower Mound

Business Trip

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Quick turnaround trip. Great room, great hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel!

Posted Mar 23, 2016
I had a great experience at the hotel. Traveled for business and it had a great location close to the bay, airport and only a 40 minute drive to San Francisco. I would recommend this to hotel to anyone. The California Grill located inside the hotel is also a great place to eat.