Ratings based on 1,394 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Time capsule with unique character rooms

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: The historical character
Cons: free parking
Location: 7 minute walk to the pier
Great service and easy check-in. Free food basket in room and lots of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, brownies and candy available in the lobby. Lots of toilets and showers on each floor, so shared bathroom is no problem. Each room is unique with lots of character. Lots of antique and historical artifacts throughout the hotel which add to the time capsule effect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hostel

Posted May 26, 2017
한층에샤워실두세개에 화장실도두세개.극성수기아닌이상딱히화장실이북적이진않음.혼자캐리어끌고다니는분들은체크인체크아웃시지옥경험.방음이잘안되는편인데숙소분위기가전체적으로조용한편이라괜츈.위치엄청좋음.엥간한곳은다걸어서다닐수있음.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Decent hotel for the price

Posted May 25, 2017
I had a nice stay here. Some of the staff were great however I found one to be a tad rude. He seemed very uninterested in helping answer questions about the hotel or inquiries about things in San Francisco. The room appeared clean however I had concerns about how clean those dark duvets and carpets actually were. The wifi wasn't very strong and I had trouble reaching it on my laptop. Great location to fishermans wharf but I had some concerns about the surrounding locals. The hotel had ALOT of air fresheners going. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone sensitive to scents. Overall a pretty good stay however I do not know if the savings are worth the hotels disadvantages such as shared bathrooms/showers and very thin walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
A really amazing old fashioned hotel with a homely vide. Great location 5 min walk to Lombard street and Fishermans warf
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Solid spot if you're on a budget. Close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Historic hotel in a terrific location!

Posted May 22, 2017
The San Remo is a lovely historic hotel with a terrific location in North Beach! The shared bathrooms are not a problem at all - although I have to admit that I missed having an in-room sink as I did when I stayed there about 15 years ago. Makes things much more convenient! Also, I strongly suggest asking for a room with a window that opens to the outside of the hotel. My stay this time was in an interior room which was a bit dark - but not unpleasant. The restaurant and bar are also wonderful and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent character. Would stay again.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Unique style, very charming. The staff were very friendly and efficient.
Cons: The bed in the room we stayed is a little tired. It has that 'cup' which develops over time, rolling people to the middle. Maybe that is a feature :)
Fantastic friendly staff; Great location; Excellent cleanliness and upkeep. I would recommend this hotel, and will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arcata, CA

Great Location, Great Place

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Well, price could be a little less...
Location: See above
Wonderful hotel, really loved the location of this spot....hotel room was super clean, scent neutral, wonderful staff, right next door to a great Italian restaurant and award winning Mexican tamale shop....breakfast at the coffee shop on the corner...a few blocks walks to Fisherman's Wharf and the trolley cars that run you all the way to Haight Ashbury...Just all lovely. A little wait in the morning for showers. All in all a really great place to stay...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Beautiful hotel, rooms a little small for comfort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, NY

Cozy, unique hotel in a perfect location

Posted May 12, 2017
I really enjoyed my experience at the San Remo hotel. The Victorian style along with the fact that it's a small hotel made me feel right at home. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's at the perfect location too- right by the fishermans wharf, alcatraz, and little Italy. I was nervous about the shared bath, but it really wasn't an issue. The room had a sink and mirror for washing up and the toilets and showers were all individual stalls. No need to stay anywhere else the next time I visit San Francisco. Thanks again San Remo staff!