Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham,CT

Charming bit of the Victorian Age!

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Tons to do and see.
We stayed at this charming hotel for 5 nights for less than $90 a night through Expedia. The lack of an elevator was overlooked, as we just loved all the charm of the place, as well as the treats and beverages available at the check-in desk, the massage chair, the various shelves of books, historic posters, and the availibilty of a washer and dryer. The location was perfect, blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli's, and the trolley stop.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

hotel was location good/size of room small

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The antiques were fun to use and look at. The historical aspect was interesting.
Cons: It would have been nice to be given the option of room size. We would have take a double bed if we had known the size of the room made a differ
Location: There were some great restaurants. Tour buses, bicycle rentals, and ferry were near by.
I liked that we were close to Fisherman's Wharf. The size of the room was too small. The fact that the hotel was built in 1906 was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Very nice hotel with beautiful decorations.full options even more than 5 stars hotel.... Message chair, computer with printer for guests... free coffee bar... Everything is OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Absolutely wonderful - so much more than expected

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Everything, history, decor, just everything
Cons: Not sure what it would be
Location: Fisherman's Wharf within 1 mile, just a perfect location
This was just wonderful. Staff was beyond helpful and wonderful. Would highly recommend this place to anyone going to SF. Prefect location, walking distance to everywhere you might want to go. Cleanliness and just perfect. Was really happy with our choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

nice location, staff very nice

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: The people
Cons: the bathroom can be cleaner. You can provide somewhere to put your cloth at while you are taking a bath. my cloth simply flipped from the hook
The staff are super nice and helpful! The hotel is more like a hostel. the rooms are tiny. We stayed at the room without sink for the first night. It was very dark and a little noisy. The second night, we upgrade to a better room with sink. It was much brighter and private.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic but OK

Posted Dec 20, 2016
It's fine as a place to sleep for a night or two. The facilities were more basic than I was expecting e.g. there was not a proper place to get changed in the showers; the sinks were in the hallway so everyone got to see you brush your teeth and shave. The room was pretty small - I could not even find a spot to comfortably keep open my single suitcase. It seemed quite noisy when I was going to bed - I used ear plugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great location, decent price.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Clean, location, friendly staff.
Location: Close to the pier, fishermans wharf and transit.
The hotel is small and old fashioned, it is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. As a solo traveler this place worked great for me as it was close to the wharf and cheaper than a lot of the larger hotels. The rooms are very small and the bathrooms are shared, so I would recommend that families or those looking to spend a lot of time in the hotel go for a larger place but if you are one or two people looking for a great place in San Francisco I highly recommend San Remo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

great place and location

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Overall the hotel is a quaint and adorable place. It is an older building and the theme of the hotel sticks with that, and it doesn't feel very clean. However, for the location and the price it is well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel close to tour

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Price, Comfort, Staffs, Location
Location: Fishman's warf, Alcatratz island, Coit Tower, Cable museum, Trolley 1st station, Restaurants
Nice hotel nearby many tour area including trolley station. Parking is good and easy. Validated parking fee is reasonable. Two restaurants including one Italian restaurant beside it are nice. Quiet and comfort. Price is not expensive. Public showers and restrooms are not bad and easy to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hostel/hotel near Fort Mason, Pier 39

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Charming historical site and facilities - heaps of character.
Cons: It is what it is. I loved it, but it's a high-end hostel with historical charm, so if that's not your thing, don't stay here.
Location: I love this part of the city: I'm a swimmer who always tries to stay near Aquatic park. But it's a trek from, say, Civic Center, Haight or the Castro.
I suspect people will either love or hate this place. If you're fine with hostel-like accommodation (private rooms, some with sinks, but shared bathrooms and showers), then this is a charming place, steeped in character, and close to many of San Francisco's waterfront attractions. If, in contrast, you were drawn here by the cheap price for the location, but were secretly expecting a full-fledged hotel, then you'll detest this place. Me, I loved it.