Ratings based on 1,596 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester UK

Location excellent but....

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Refresh is needed. Declutter and re-think of rooms. No room for suitcases, clothes, floor space to get dressed. Working sockets.
Location: Walking distance to the Wharf
Excellent location. While we knew this was an' antique' hotel we didnt realise exactly what we were letting ourselves in for. The rooms are tiny with an old fashioned small wardrobe. The bed was clean but very very high to try and get into. The bathrooms need a refresh. I would prefer to see less free pens/raisins/candy and more on basic refresh of rooms without taking away from the character charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Problems which were fixed, so OK

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: The communal feel about the place, lots of greenery, nice and airy, friendly people on the staff also other travellers.
Cons: Just dont make mistakes with payments again.
Location: In our 60s we walked easily to Union Square and Fishermans Wharf easily so great location. Watched Fleet Week air show at Wharf. Caught Big Bus
Overall the stay was fine. Great location close to Fishermans Wharf, also we walked to Union Square and back again easily. Upon returning home to NZ I found that the hold on my credit card for the key deposit had in fact been debited from my account along with the cost of 3 nights accommodation (for 2) which had already been prepaid . It took about 4 days and a few emails for San Remo to fix that problem, so despite that hassle to their credit the mistake was rectified in full and to my satisfaction. Access to free coffee and tea and chilled water was nice, also a few lollies for the sweet tooths! Bathrooms were kept clean and tidy. It was good to have disposable paper bath mats for standing on after showers, and a supply of clean towels and face cloths available all the time. A shame some people still cant manage to shower without leaving wets floors for the next people though. An airy place with lots of greenery - quite quaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Such an adorable place!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location. Character. Staff. Accommodations.
Cons: Size of the bed and the mattress... but can't complain with the price point at all.
Location: It's in a perfect location. Walking distance to the wharf and even the Ferry building, if you don't mind a longer stroll.
With a bed and breakfast feel, and decor of Italy... this place was beyond charming. Located in a great neighborhood on the skirt of the Wharf in North Beach, the location couldn't be beat. The set up in the hotel for showers and bathrooms, was clean and convenient. I don't have a complaint about the place. Best price in the area, and looked much nicer than the chain hotels as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Visiting San Francisco

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The staff were thoughtful and very helpful and accommodating.
Cons: for those who can't climb stairs, an elevator would make staying here perfect. All else ensures a quality stay
Location: We walked to the Cable car station, two blocks away, walked to Pier 39, rode the hop on hop off bus which took us through every site in SF.
Staying at the San Remo Hotel was a wonderful experience. The was great. So close to Fishermen's Wharf, Pier 39, and the Cable cars, as well as the Embarcadaro. We parked our vehicle and walked all over SF for two days. We stayed in the Penthouse of the hotel which consisted of climbing a few sets of stairs, but the roof top patio and view as well as the seclusion of our room was well worth the climb. The weather on this trip was exceptional and after our busy days of from a perfect location.exploring, our room was clean and cozy. The staff at the hotel very accommodating. Would recommend the hotel to those who can climb stairs and want to discover San Francisco
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review. We are a historic, Victorian, European style hotel that will offer you a unique experience in a wonderful location at affordable prices. We've opted to maintain the original floor plan and not change it dramatically, so we keep the same amount of stairs as in 1906. It is good exercise! We are happy you decided try our hotel and you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your return visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

A shared bathroom experience done well!

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Great location and inexpensive
This hotel is in a great location and the perfect spot to rest your head at night. We got one of the rooms without a sink or bathroom, and I was a little worried. But have to say the way they've arranged the bathrooms (it's like a house bathroom where it locks and is private when you use) were awesome and so were all of the sink locations. They keep these areas VERY clean. I never felt iffy about using them at all. Bed was really comfy. Room was small but didn't spend much time. They held our luggage for us before we left and in general were super friendly. Highly recommend for a no fuss stay in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Imperial Beach

Charming & Nostalgic - perfect for SF

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Such a lovely boutique hotel. Immaculately clean and a perfect experience for us. It was different yet perfect for our San Fransisco vacation. I won’t stay in any other hotel. This will be our “go-to”
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
We are delighted you will consider us your to-go to hotel in the beautiful San Francisco. Hope you come back real soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Close to Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Enjoyed the boutique feel of the place, Would totally recommend for the experience!
Cons: It was what we expected for a boutique hotel - don't change anything!
Location: Location was perfect. Within easy walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and cable car and public transport - great for getting around.
Was so close everything was within walking distance - brilliant. We had to phone the Night Staff as our shuttle didn't arrive for a pick up at 3.15 am and they phoned us a taxi - nothing was a problem, they were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, Alaska

Fun, cozy hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
What a treasure is this little place. I loved my little room with its antique iron bed fitted with a very comfy new pillow top mattress. Up rather steep staurstand with narrow but delightful hallways, this would not be a good fit for anyone who can't do stairs or uses a wheelchair. Shared bathrooms were not a problem for me. Very clean. I'll be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location but small rooms with thin walls

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great location and staff were friendly and helpful; however the room was very small, two twin beds were very soft, walls were poorly insulated and could hear everything in adjoining room, only shared bathrooms and pay parking was two blocks away. Glad we only booked for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: personable & friendly staff. Manager & owner available to meet. So nice! A unique experience from the typical hotels making it a fun experience.
perfect location to walk to all san Francisco has to offer. Loved our stay at San Remo, Thank-you to all of you who made our stay so pleasant. We will be back ! Sincerely Terry & Buck