Ratings based on 4,119 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in dt

Posted May 23, 2017
good location, near union square asks 5th ave, Macy's, nice hotel in dt. price was not that high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

One day whirlwind

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Also decor was charming. Gave 4 out of 5 only because there was a small plumbing issue ( seen to quickly by staff)
Just had a one-night stay in San Francisco. Serrano was the perfect location to do a lot of things with no wasted time. Great restaurants close by and easy access to some of the highlights (Fishermans Wharf, Buena Vista, shopping..)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Terrible

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Replace entire staff with anyone who likes people.
Location: Fishermans Wharf is close
Nothing about my stay was good. Nobody was friendly, parking was misleading, room was poor, bathroom was tiny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Serrano Hotel is a beautiful hotel. It is old wor

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Good staff, helpful Concierge comfortable rooms, nice decor and a good location.
Cons: The pillows were way too fat. They were uncomfortable to everyone in our group.
Location: Close to trolleys and sightseeing jump off points. Close to Shopping as well.
We went to San Francisco to attend Hamilton and do some sightseeing. This hotel was right on the border between a nice and a more scary side of town. The staff tell you which direction to go and if you listen it is a wonderful location. It was just a pleasant walk to Union Square to catch our tours and do some shopping. Trolley's were close by and easy to catch near by as well. The restaurant staff at Jasper's connected to the hotel was great and their hours were good. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms were cute and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted May 22, 2017
Very friendly and accommodating staff! Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Clean room, but small. Good location.

Posted May 21, 2017
Small room. Queen bed, right after we arrived they offered an upgrade to a full bed?? Convenient location but aggressive homeless everywhere. Short walk to food, shopping and cable cars, buses.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Cozy, clean rooms for two

Posted May 21, 2017
Hotel was clean, located closer to the Tinderloin area than would have liked, but close to cafes and easy to access transportation. Room was very small, but bed was comfortable. There was also in unexpected "hotel fee" upon check-in that did not seem to be for anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fran, CA

Posted May 21, 2017
I know it's a bit much to ask of most hotels but mattresses are rarely in decent condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Descent location

Posted May 17, 2017
The room was comfortable and clean; however, a bit small. There was nothing in our room that allowed us to hang-up anything...i.e. a jacket.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Jenny K, Hotel Management
Hello Steve, Thanks for your 4-star review and for taking the time to share feedback about garment space. We're in the midst of ongoing improvements and this will be taken into careful consideration as we plan for the beautiful updates ahead. We loved having you as our guest and hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted May 16, 2017
The Serrano is in a somewhat iffy location, but the rooms are decent and very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only drawback to this hotel is the location but it is within easy walking distance to Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Jenny K, Hotel Management
Hello SBS, We love to offer our guests the red-carpet treatment when they stay at Serrano, and we're thrilled to hear our service was a highlight of your stay. (We're biased, but we know we have the best guests!) While our location, within walking distance of many San Francisco landmarks, is often a guest favorite, we're truly sorry your experience fell short. We want guests to feel comfortable both inside and outside of our hotel, and we're taking this seriously as we do everything we can to make sure guests feel at ease. Always know our onsite concierge is more than happy to help you find the best ways around town because our goal is to help guests enjoy San Francisco to its fullest!