Ratings based on 4,051 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Staff were really friendly and accommodating. There was a $16 daily surcharge on top of what we paid through Expedia. I guess I did not read the small print so this came as a surprise. Staff explained that this was to cover coffee in the morning and the cost of hotel wide Wi-Fi. The rooms were clean and quiet. It is a small and charming hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Convenient hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Cost effective in a good location for sightseeing. Close to Union Square and the cable car terminal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman Islands

Very nice and clean hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Welcoming staff, clean lobby and rooms. Having a restaurant and bar located right in the hotel was convenient.
Cons: I like the hotel the way it is. It feels like a step back in time when you walk into the hotel, in a good way.
Location: It's located near Union Square and the hotel is in walking distance to great eateries and stores. Public transport or taking a taxi is easy too.
The hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a historic feel and atmosphere to it. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They had snacks, drinks, and alcohol for purchase at a decent price in the room. The restaurant in the hotel, Jasper's, was quaint and the food was delicious. In the morning they had complimentary coffee and tea for guests. If I am ever in San Franciso again I will be sure to stay at the Serrano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

A Hotel with Character

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Safe, quiet location. Close to public transit and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. Very friendly and helpful staff. An older hotel, so the rooms are a little smaller, but the hotel is beautiful and there is something charming about the smaller spaces. You will have everything you need for a nice stay. The rooms and lobby were very clean. Only downside was no breakfast included, but they did give me a $5 voucher to use at the adjoining restaurant for every day I declined room service. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia Canada

Well preserved 1928 hotel Beautiful lobby

Posted Apr 21, 2017
My suite on the 16 th floor was big with nice furniture. I was on a corner with lots of windows. Staff was friendly and helpful. This will be my go to hotel when I come to San Francisco.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tampa fl

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Took 45 min after checkin to have access to the room. There was a 25/day resort fee that was not disclosed to us at check in. We found out at check out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

OK

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: concierges were helpful, great location next to Union Sq.
Cons: Wifi in the rooms, more attentive front desk staff. room service food/drinks availability, even super limited (currently none). in room coffee makers.
Location: Union square
funky little hotel, could be great, but is just OK. it's the little things. The front desk staff that ignores you while on the phone for 10 minutes, the wifi that doesn't work well in your room, the hot water that takes a bit too long to come out of the shower, etc. Nothing terrible, but easy fixes that could make it great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Clean room centrally located will be back soon wish had more time to explore more was not sure what to expect loved it close to restaurants union square and fisherman warf
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Was cery surprised how luxuriois it looked for the price. Definitely coming back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Very comfortable stay!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location and European feel.
Cons: The restaurant stops serving breakfast too early.
Great value for the price. The hotel is very well located 4 blocks from Union Square and has a very nice European feel to the same. The room size (King Suite) was perfect for two adults and the staff was nice enough. Having read previous reviews I was feeling uneasy about my choice, but we had a great time and enjoyed the hotel.