Ratings based on 4,161 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Stayed overnight. Very nice lady at front desk. Easy check in and out. The room was ok but they had really comfortable bed. Bathroom very small but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Nice old world stylish rooms and lobby. Close Uniion square and shopping
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent location.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros - location and price Cons - fee for wifi and tea and coffee is way too high.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Room was small, staff really couldn't help with anything but to check me in and out, valet was too expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to theaters and shopping

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Easy going staff. Accommodated late check out with a smile to allow us to fully enjoy lunch- it was much appreciated. Room was comfortable and clean. Easy access to restaurants, theater, shopping ( 3 blocks from Union Square). I usually like a more modern decor but I enjoyed my stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Amazing location. Could not be better.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room makeover
Location: Everything, in the heart of SF
As expected, the hotel is dated and is need of a makeover from top to bottom....including this miniature showers and toilets. However, again, from a location standpoint you cannot find a better spot to be in the heart of the city. Would def stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

small hotel near to public transport

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: small size
Cons: breakfast should have been included
Location: union sq was excellent
was excellent. loved the golden bridge and golden park
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Jenny K, Hotel Management
Hello Amal, It's all about location when you visit the city-- and with destinations like the Golden Gate Bridge, you can't go wrong with a San Francisco getaway. We're thrilled our location made sightseeing easy and hope we can welcome you back soon to see more of the city!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Lots of problems with room maintenance that got taken care of but caused inconvenience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
My husband and I had a fantastic time in San Fransico! The hotel was very old/antique but clean & cozy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Jenny K, Hotel Management
We love knowing we could be part of your San Francisco memories. We're biased, but we think you chose the perfect city for a couples escape! Originally built as the Hotel Californian in 1923, our boutique hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in San Francisco. While we love our history, we want to keep Serrano looking like new and we have beautiful updates in store. We hope the next time you're looking for a little rest and relaxation (or a big city adventure!), you'll head back our way. We'd love to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enough hotel in a convenient area.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The only objectionable aspect was the mattress quality - really uncomfortable. Otherwise, a good choice.