Ratings based on 3,315 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Ideal location

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Stayed here many times..Seems to have become more pricey..57 dollars a day Valet, 22 dollar continental breakfast??? Currently undergoing remodel..New rooms are nice, new fitness center as well..May look at other options in the area...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Great, great location. newly renovated room

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Great place for us and very happy with the price, location staff and room. If we get the same deal we’ll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, good value

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Nice perch at cable car intersection downhill to almost everything. Wifi was down out entire 2 day stay but staff compensated us with breakfast upgrade. Expedia VIP earns you free continental breakfast. Staff seemed to admire our Expedia status which is unusual since many hotels seem to resent it. Felt like really good value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No second chances

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: See above..
Location: Did you ever hear of coffee shop, sundry shop, or even vending machine....or even a stocked mini bar?...
I had a bad cold when I arrived , so I couldn’t believe the front desk that their was only food service from 4 to 10 PM? It’s OK for no room service, but no sundry shop or even a soft drink machine? Are they for real? Plus the mini bar was EMPTY? Then, I bought the cancellation insurance, my plans changed and I couldn’t stay the second night, only to be told the $45 insurance didn’t cover that....Trivago, here I come!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from healdsburg california

We always stay here when we come to the city.

Posted Jan 13, 2018
The location is excellent. This is the 4th year we have stayed here. And we’ll continue to come here in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

good location, ambience, views,can be overpriced

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: nice library and sitting area
Cons: bar staffed with poorly trained, lazy staff
Location: chinatown, grace cathedral
newly renovated room lacked: removable phone, hairdryer, working thermostat, enough outlets in living area, robe, dresser(!!!!!!), blankets,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location and a good hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: The location
Location: On Nob Hill and right between the 2 tram lines. Walking distance to Union Sq, China town and restaurants
This is a good hotel. Has a great location. Beds comfortable and I slept well. They are in a middle of a renovations but did not seem to effect the guests in any way. The valet parking was fast. Very happy with my stay and would go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2018
unfortunately no parking and not breakfast. i hopes breakfast would be included next time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Situation on the hill but good comfort

Posted Jan 7, 2018
I prefer having a higher floor but I m OK even if there is noise outside. I will be able to support and you give me things for ears. But when I reserved I normally have a special room for easy accessing people. I m not handicapped as everyone know but I have a problem when I slept so it s difficult to have a good humor but it s OK I live with this since 10 years and now I can manage it. In my point of view, you are the best hotel in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

historical building but clean

Posted Jan 7, 2018
excellent hospitality and comfortable room. sanitary is clean and comfortable. near to downtown but not aloud.