Ratings based on 2,887 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Hotel "reboot" as the staff kept saying.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The staff were excellent, very helpful and polite.
Cons: Tell people there is a refurbishment happening, neither Expedia or the hotels own website mention it.
Location: Nice area, out of the way but only a short walk to the central areas, tram stop outside, hotel on top of hill so steep pathways in all directions.
The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment of the lower levels, so there is a temporary lobby, no bar or restaurant or breakfast room, breakfast is served in a tiny room on the six floor which only has the capacity of around 35ish people so a couple of times we had to wait for a seat to become available, the same area served as the bar in the evening where drinks were served off a trolley, the hotel has a modern vibe to it with the funky music in the lifts and buzz words on the walls but once you get out of the temp lobby and onto the floors and the rooms it's quite dated, the yellow carpet in the hallways possibly looked good when it went down but now looks a bit used and not dirty but not clean, the rooms were OK but nothing special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great hotel close to everything

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location and friendliness
It was a great hotel in a great location. Right above Union Square so it was walkable to most things but also a bit away from the hustle and bustle. Very nice rooms and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, hotel has some great amenities

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The location was great, and the room was very clean and comfortable.
Cons: My only complaint would be woken up by the construction taking place outside.
Location: Location is ideal for visiting the tourist areas.
Hotel was in a great location, walking distance to China Town, Union Square etc.... Staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean, and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Good rate for S.F. Learned due to construction.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Helpful reception desk employee.
Cons: Not sure this hotel can change its image and modus operandi.
Location: In downtown San Francisco on the side of lower Nob Hill, so everything close....but beware trying to walk back up from the bottom of the hill.
Like many big city hotels, there was limited space to move around in my room. I should have suspected my good $230 - $250 rate was due to construction going on in the hotel. A bright spot was a very helpful reception desk employee, when I struggled with the lobby computer/printer. This is a good hotel for people who want to stay in a "name" place, versus a comfortable/"kick-back" place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wonderful Hotel!

Posted May 21, 2017
Our stay here was great! Check in was fast and staff was very helpful and nice...even upgraded our room to a king bed! Rooms are clean and updated. I love the provided water bottle and water refill stations! We would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cherry Hill NJ

Nice Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Great place to stay ! Location is good To get around ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable,clean,convenient

Posted May 18, 2017
Had a great stay here. Room was very nice, comfortable and clean. Only problem is that entire lobby is under construction (which was not disclosed when booking). Construction started around 8am and ended around 6 pm. Jackhammers,etc. Also no restaurant in hotel. Since we were out most of the day, the noise wasn't really a problem...but might be for others. Also no lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central location

Posted May 18, 2017
On arrival the receptionist tried to upgrade us to similar room with a harbour view at extra cost, breakfast area was cramped, building alteration on the ground floor was taking place however this did not cause any inconvenience or noise. All the staff were very helpful and could not do enough for you. The concierge were very helpful with advice and arranging transport to airport. We will stay there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Used condom in room

Posted May 17, 2017
Checked in early with no problem, they we understaffed at the front desk so it was slow. Drop my bag and head out for a day full of meetings. Get back get ready for bed and go to plug my phone in by the night stand when I discover a condom wrapper and condom (used I believe, I didn't investigate) between the nightstand and bed. Throw up a little bit in my mouth. Call the front desk and they apologize and get me a new room, I pack up my stuff and take said stuff myself to "new" room which is smaller and smells "musty". Call the front desk and ask if this is really the room they are giving me, yes is the reply, would I like some breakfast coupons... hahahaha... no. Call Expedia and say I need to get out of this "place " Expedia gets me out but hotel is still charging me for the night, I'm now stuck at this place for the night. Worst night of sleep ever. Wake up check out, after telling the morning receptionist what happen (while there's a line behind me) they comp me the "resort fees" hahahaha ... resort...good one. Leave hotel and go to a better hotel. Leave honest review, two days later hotel mgmt emails me and comps the room. If I could give negative stars I would. I leave you with the nicest possible photo as proof.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Entry t Disappointed

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The stafft
Cons: New lobby Different music in elevators New and clean carpets
Location: While it is close to Union Square, there are at least two very steep hills to navigate before arrival. Walking down is o.k., but the thought of going
Entering by garage because of recently begun renovation was hardly inviting. While the staff was friendly and helpful, the surroundings were drab. The music in the elevators was loud, loud, loud. The carpet on the 7th floor was ugly and dirty. We thought the Stanford Court was a first class hotel. What happened?