Ratings based on 2,667 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The do-it-yourself hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
No room service. No bottled water. Old fashioned rooms. Limited restaurant service. Poor breakfast. Disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Nice hotel and on top of the hill in San Fran.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Great location!
Cons: The amenities inside the hotel could be expanded.....store, coffee shop, etc.
Location: Location was at the center of 2 different cable car routes. Excellent transportation venue if traveling without a car!
Very quiet room to sleep. Beautiful view of San Francisco. Hotel was undergoing quite a bit of water damage/restoration during our stay. Many times the elevators (3) were down to 1 working. Sadly, there was not a 'little store' for asundries located within this hotel. But overall, the staff was very accommodating and helpful in finding restaurants and booking tours!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

SF Classic with best Location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
a classic SF hotel with a classic location. descend from knob hill in various directions to some of the most popular SF locations -- union square, North beach, The financial district, china town, etc. The old girl is a bit tired, but still worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Hotel is ok but for the price we paid I was expecting a lot more. Feels like a 3 star
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, Ca

Great location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Excellent location.
Location: In the heart of Nob Hill with Tonga Room across the street and Top of the Mark next door. Two of the most famous bars in the city.
Staff is very attentive and responsive. Accommodations were excellent. Property was superbly maintained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Ok

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Staff at front desk needs training on being more courteous when guest ask for help or some directions. Room was located near Powell street and road noices all night.Cable car, sirens, druggies yelling and swearing 3:00am in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to China Town

Posted Feb 14, 2017
My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day weekend here, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! Service was excellent, very friendly staff, there was a wonderful aroma throughout the hotel and rooms. The towel rack was heated, they had a pillow "menu" to choose from, and a complimentary plastic refillable water bottle which can be refilled in the lobby at a filtered water station. The city view from our room was gorgeous! They upgraded our room and included breakfast at no extra charge. They have bikes that can be rented right there at the lobby. Walking distance to China town (Chinese new year celebration was going ok that weekend), it was a wonderful experience! Will defenitely be going back to this hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not what I expected

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Checking in the staff wasn't friendly. Hotel bar closes early not that it matters no one is there anyhow. There's a surprise 20 a night charge not sure for what. It is on top on the highest hill around so prepare for that. Next door is the fairmont princess or the intercontinental I think it's called, I suggest them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This hotel was perfect. I wanted something close to union square but not in the center becuase I wanted something a bit more quiet. And this was just the place. It's a 5-10 min walk to union square. But when you walk back to the hotel it's uphil so be prepared for that. It's San Francisco though so you can't escape those hills! The location is safe and quiet. And the staff was friendly and accommodating. Check in was at 4pm but I arrived early and they were nice enough to check me in. They also allowed me to check in an hour later and held my luggage until later that night since I had a late flight. Im so thankful that they made my first trip to San Francisco great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice $$$

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Nice hotel, but most expensive valet parking I never seen 80$/day.