Ratings based on 1,420 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Close to the airport

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Closed to many restaurant and the airport ,easy access
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your recent stay with us. I look forward to sharing your kind words with our team, and hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Guest Experience Team @ Stone Villa Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Convenient and remodel appreciated

Posted May 24, 2017
Cons: The remodel includes hardwood floors, but they were really dirty when I visited. My socks and feet were filthy. This must be mopped daily.
This is a convenient location for San Mateo Event Center and I enjoy the Peruvian restaurants in the 1 block radius very much. The motel has remodeled compared to previous years. I especially value the refrigerator and microwave since I have a specific diet I need to maintain for health.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Jessie M., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate our guest's opinions and suggestions. We assure you we take cleanliness very seriously. We hope to see you again and also experience our Brand new Carpet in the rooms upstairs. Thank you once again for staying with us! General Manager-Stone Villa Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly acceptable motel experience

Posted May 23, 2017
Cons: Sound deadening between floors could be improved.
Location: Close to the San Mateo fair grounds.
The room was clean and the front desk staff made checking in a pleasure.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Jessie M., Hotel Management
The front desk and the rest of the Stone Villa Inn Family appreciate your positive feedback. Look forward to seeing you again real soon! Thank You
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short walking distance to Event Center

Posted May 23, 2017
I am sorry to say I can't give this place a high rating. Though the staff was nice and helpfully, and parts of the room (116) look recently renovated the room I stayed in was lacking some TLC. Areas of the ceiling and wall was stained with what looked like a can of cola exploded in the room. The door lock was not working correctly. The latch barely contacted the strike plate. The bed was lumpy and noisy Long over due for replacement. The bed frame is on wheels and head board is connected only to the wall. So if you sit up on the bead and lean against the head board you go for a ride. The pillows were old and flat. The sheets were worn and gave me rashes. I hope that was because of to much soap in the linen. My wife and I were up all night and not in a good way. Itchy and scratchy not a moment of sleep. the bed made crunching noise with any movement. At about 4am I got up took a shower to discover the hot water was seemed at least 10 minutes delay and the tile grout in the shower was hosting brown looking mold. I recommend this hotel to a friend with a warning, Try one of the other rooms. I welcome the owner to send me a refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Jessie M., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We would work on the concerns you mentioned so our valued guests may not be disappointed. We appreciate opinions and suggestions as it allows us in giving our best to our guests. We hope to see you again and be able to have a pleasant experience staying at our Hotel. Thanks, General Manager-Stone Villa Inn
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close Freeway Access

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Close freeway access
Cons: Housekeeping should knock on the door. Rooms with TV's should be provided with remotes that work
Location: Nothing
The room had a nice modern fresh look, however there was no television remote, the satelite was not even hook up to the TV. There was no alarm clock, the closet still had old musky, cigarette smoke from long ago. The door to access the outside had no weatherstripping. There is no food of any kind being offered to their guests upon check out. The positive to the whole experience is that there are plenty of liquor stores around the hotel to get a snack from, and there is close freeway access!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Jessie M., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We regret any inconvenience caused. We do not serve breakfast however, we are soon going to have a coffee shop (Grindstone) at our Hotel premises offering wide range of breakfast and beverages. We took your suggestions and did the needful. We hope you give us another chance to have a better experience on your next visit. Thank you once again for staying with us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very nice stay. Friendly staff. Not very many channels on tv 😕. Close to festivities appx 20-30 mins away. Leisure parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Jessie, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We would discuss with the management to add more channels. Currently we do have Dish HBO which has been a great addition to our recently remodeled and upgraded property. Thank you for staying with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice and quiet with spacious rooms.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Good location if you have business in the area. Close to food, Starbucks, and other conveniences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Jessie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It motivates us to continue to provide our best. Thank you for staying with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
The location is extremely convenient. The room was clean and comfortable. There bathroom counter space is non-existent for toiletries which was disappointing and cumbersome.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017
Thank you for your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Tammi

Horrible

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Never stayed. Checked in and checked out. Hard lumpy bed. Broken lock on door. Men outside. Felt unsafe as a female traveling with daughter.