Ratings based on 770 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older motel in reasonable shape

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Able to be picked up for our tower tour.
Cons: Parking
Location: Able to walk to restaurants
Parking was challenging; lobby was very small, continental breakfast had to be taken back to room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that we were able to offer you a convenient location to stay for discovering San Francisco. We are sorry that you had some difficulties with parking and we are disappointed to note you found our lobby small but we trust this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too noisy to sleep

Posted May 29, 2017
I am writing at the midnight when I am staying at the hotel. I was assigned the room with the windows faceing to the street and I can hardly sleep because room is not soundproof and can't block the noise of the passing vehicles and the curtain is half transparent and can't block the road light. Not many parking lots even though it says "free parking ". So far the worst super 8 I have ever stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that the noise level was an issue for you. It is a shame that you did not make us aware of this at the time as we would have been happy to offer you an alternative room if available. We do have a significant amount of guest parking available free of charge, and we apologize if this was fully utilized on your arrival. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Room and bathroom was dirty. Sink wouldn't drain and fixtures were loose. Bed linen had what appeared to be dried food and stains.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience during your recent stay with us. Our room service team works hard making sure rooms are prepared well daily, so we are so sorry to hear that you did not find your room clean and well maintained. Please know that we will be looking into this to ensure this does not happen again. We hope this won't deter you from staying with us again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
nice for the price ,good location, parking is tight smaller car best.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that everything was to your liking, particularly that you enjoyed our affordability and great location. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

A good bet for the price

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Cons: The room was in so-so condition
Location: Great area
Terrific staff. It is good value for a hotel close to the Marina.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, It's great to hear that you liked our location so much - we are ideally situated for visiting the Marina. We are always delighted to get positive feedback about our great team, so thank you for that. We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit the city! Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cute hotel for cheap stay free parking & breakfast

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The way they resolved our issues was super generous and thoughtful! Our hot water wasn't working so the manager gave us a key to a new room so we could shower there. They also make sure that each car parks nicely and will make you re-park if it's not in the lines to prevent from a crowded lot. There's a pretty patio on the top floor, and the rooms are decorated nicely. Very splendid stay!! Comfy and enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, We are just delighted to hear that you had a splendid stay with us! It's great to get your feedback, and we are very happy that you were so pleased with the way that the issues that you experienced were dealt with. Thank you for your understanding. Once our guest reports an issue to us, we like to think that we are very proactive in resolving it appropriately for them. We hope that you will visit us again when you are next in San Francisco! Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by Liem

Location is the only reason to stay here.

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The receptionist was not kind enough. The parking was vey limited, first come first serve basis. The breakfast was really too simple. Laundry was not available due to "run out of gas".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be careful

Posted Mar 20, 2017
This hotel has only full,queen.king beds single room 1st and second floor, only 2 beds on 3rd floor for families, has stairs only, breakfast no place to sit have to carry food back to room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy that you were reasonably pleased with your stay, albeit we do have limited space for breakfast. We hope that this did not inconvenience you too much, and that it will not affect your decision to stay with us again - we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for one night stay

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: Breakfast should be better.
Disappointed with the stay, as there was only limited parking space and the heater was noisy and disturbed my sleep.
2 out of 5
by Peter

Free Parking (up to 12 spots)

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was a business trip that should have started better. I arrived at the hotel only to be told the provided free parking was filled. There are not enough parking spots at the hotel for the number of rooms. I was told to find parking out on the street. I ended up paying $15.00 for a spot off the street. The room was adequate for my stay, not a lot of extra space. The room faced Lombard Street which had traffic noise entering the room until past 11 pm. Needless to say, I will not be returning to this hotel. Stay somewhere else.