Ratings based on 542 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but dingy

Posted Jul 24, 2015
No lifts meant you had to carry bags up three flights of stairs. Rooms were clean but not very big and dark. The hotel needs a good freshen up, it is looking old and tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norge

Grei beliggenhet og kvalitet

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Veldig grei beliggenhet i byen. Rommene var reine og fine. Boblebad også. Parkering for bilen din på stedet er veldig praktisk. Personalet var hyggelig. Prisen var også bra siden vi bestilte i litt tid i forveien.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Better than I expected, would do it again.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
I was trying to get close to the Marina District and stay under $200. I was a little leery going in as I was traveling with my 8YO daughter. But everything was nice and the staff was helpful, no attitude like I had read in one review. Best part was room was quiet and bed was clean and comfy. It was a nice stay. Parking spaces are tiny and there are probably half the number of spaces as there are rooms, but we got lucky.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Hotel slightly better than ok.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The young manager was awesome he made you feel welcome, other staff not so much. If you can live with issues I indicated the location is fantastic.
Cons: Get rid of the lumber, plastic sheeting & dead plants; fix up the patio area; new beds, towels, linens; add to menu items upgrade wifi.
Location: The location is about 5-6 blocks to marina and has benches along the paved walk way. The bus is on the next block, Chestnut. Downtown parking $40/day
We picked this hotel because it met our three criteria: parking, wifi & breakfast. The lobby area is the breakfast area, with standing room for only two people. There are no trays to take your food/coffee to room, so take the one from your room. Breakfast very basic: bread, frozen waffles, bananas, cereal, coffee, juice. You have to pay for bottle water/pop. Staff are slow to open and put food out and quick to put away so go early if you want breakfast. Parking is limited and frustrating because guests cannot seem to park within the lines. One of us had to guide the other into the stall every time. You also have back out of the parking lot, which is courtyard style, onto Lombard Street. The wifi, though the hotel has 3 guest wifi lines it was always a challenge to logon and remain on for any length of time before you lost the connection - very frustrating when you are using the wifi for map directions in the city. Lastly the hotel and room: On the third level there is a deck which we found by accident which would have been beautiful had the entire upper corridor not been covered with plastic sheeting and plywood laying on top of it to prevent the plastic from blowing off not to mention the dead plants, old light fixtures and 2x4 lumbers everywhere. King room was tight: bed, 1 night stand, 1 arm chair, desk & 1 chair, tv/stand, fridge & microwave. Bed sagged on one side so we put a pillow under the mattress. Toilet ran continuously. Bathroom dated, holey towels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario Canada

Two day stay in San Francisco

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Room was large and clean.
Cons: Would be nice to have a room where we could take our breakfast as the front lobby is very small and you have to take your meal back up to your room.
Location: Located in a nice area. Nothing sketchy about it. Bus stop is right around the corner. Walgreens right around the corner.
After looking through countless hotel searches I decided to choose the Super 8 based on cost, location, and name. This hotel is about a 15 minute bus ride to the Fisherman's Warf and downtown areas of interest. Bus costs only $2.25 and you get a transfer that is good for about 4 hrs. Our room was very clean and spacious, however, it was quite noisy as we were on the street side. I would ask for a room off the main street next time. The staff were very friendly and courteous. Breakfast was your typical carb meal of cereal, bagels, bread, waffles, tea/coffee, yogurt. Enough to get your morning started. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel close to public transportation.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
We found the room to be quaint and clean. There was a lovely terrace on the upper level which was very nice for relaxing in the sun. We would stay here again if in San Fransisco. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price and convenient

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Break fast and parking lot
Location: Tour of San Francisco
We stayed 3 nights for trip. The price was nice compare to other hotel. Breakfast was poor and Parking lot is very narrow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Sehr unfreundlicher Empfang und Abzocke

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Lage
Cons: Liegt glaube ich mehr an der Leitung des Hotels, Verbesserungen durchzuführen....
Location: an der Lombardstreet, mit dem Bus ganz einfach zur Goldengate Bridge und mit einem anderen Bus direkt in die Stadt. Auto nicht zwingend erforderlich.
spätere Anreise, es dauerte 15 Minuten, bis jemand an die Rezeption kam, obwohl ein Schild 24h reception angebracht war. Der Portier ist ein mürrischer, älterer Mann, der nur am Geld der Touristen interessiert ist und kaum Worte findet. Zu allem Überdruss mussten wir10 Dollar zahlen, da wir einen späteren Flug hatten und nur unsere Koffer da lassen wollten um noch ein bischen durch die Stadt zu laufen. Das haben wir noch in keinem Hotel/Motel erlebt, wo wir für die Nächtigung 200 Euro/pro Nacht bezahlen mußten. Die Zimmer zwar sauber aber winzig. Einzig die Lage war toll und das indische Lokal gleich nebenan ein Glücksfall: Viva Goa. Auch in der Näheren Umgebung - Chestnut Street sehr viele nette Lokale und Bars, auch fürs Frühstück, das in dem Motel nicht gerade umwerfend ist. z.B. hatten wir das Gefühl die Toastscheiben sind abgezählt...nun wie gesagt in der Nähe gibt es auch zahlreiche Lokale die zu besserem Frühstück einladen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erfurt

Kleines Hotel an lauter Straße

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Gratis Parkplatz + gutes WLAN + guter Zugang zu Bus & Bahnen
Cons: Freundlichkeit, Aufmerksamkeit, Sauberkeit, Zugang zum Frühstück
Das Super 8 liegt an einer lauten Hauptstraße, die man auch bei geschlossenen Fenstern noch hört - ebenso wie die Nachbarn und ihre Klospülung. Am nervigsten fand ich jedoch, dass der Raum zum Frühstück abgeschlossen war (wahrscheinlich aufgrund der Obdachlosen in der Umgebung) und die Tür nur geöffnet werden konnte, wenn sich jemand im Raum befand. Ich bin jeden morgen mehr als einmal zum Frühstück gegangen, weil einfach nie jemand an der Rezeption war. Mich stört es einfach enorm, wenn ich morgens nichts zwischen die Zähne bekomm. Wie meine Reisebegleitung sagte "Das Beste am Super8 ist der Inder nebenan".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norddeutschland

Lage ist toll, gute Restaurants und Shops in Nähe

Posted May 21, 2015
Ständig laufendes Wasser in der Toilette wurmt einen, wenn sonst immer vom Wassersparen im trockenen Kalifornien geredet wird. Dürftig eingerichtet, Kühlschrank laut und hat unser Essen über Nacht eingefroren. Schade. Aber es wurden einige Zimmer neu renoviert. Das lässt hoffen.