Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Worst hotel I have ever stayed

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Very bad experience 1 was no hot water Other thing we were leaving to go to airport in the morning 6 am there was nobody at the reception to unlock the door for us to go out for 15minutes We could see our taxi waiting outside we had to request our taxi driver to wait. Other person was waiting to come in.he kept ringing the bell no answer we kept phoning but no on answer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Not so great area

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The front desk personnel were polite, kind and very accommodating.
Cons: The elevator was scary.
This hotel is in need of renovation/updating. The area is rough, lots of homeless and panhandlers. It is close to Union Square. The rooms are small and walls seem pretty thin, since we could hear our neighbors conversations. The elevator is crazy-scary. Although we were on the sixth floor, we opted to take the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with very good location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Hotel is next to various restaurants and stores. Is easy to move through the city, since it's close to bus stops and the Bart. Hotel staff is very nice and make sure your stay is good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara CA

Close to the center of downtown.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
It's OK. No real negatives. It's an older building and the rooms (at least ours) are small, but not bad. The continental breakfast includes hot/cold cereal, toast, yoghurt, juices, coffee, tea, sweet buns, bananas . . .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apple Valley, MN

Nice downtown hotel with great staff!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Great staff, cleanness, amenities, and location
Cons: breakfast
Location: The location is great, right next bus stops, downtown, many restaurants, stores, very walkable.
I was very concerned about staying at a somewhat comfortable hotel in downtown SF, because I have read so many bad reviews about other hotels in the area, that I was kind of pessimistic. But this hotel really helped my trip into becoming a memorable one, great price for what I was getting, considering that other hotels in the area I would have to be sharing a bathroom. This one I had my privacy, my own bathroom, cable TV, and a nice queen size bed. They cleaned my room every single day I spent in SF, bed sheets were clean, and everything smelled nice! No complaints at all about my room. The location is great! I felt safe to walk everywhere, and it's right downtown, that are some Starbucks 1 block away from it, and it's located at one of the main streets in SF. Also, the staff was excellent! I loved my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Great value, good location.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Polite, helpful staff, decent room with good bed. Generally good facilities though bathroom looking slightly tired. Very good location for buses/tram and walking. Surprisingly not too noisy given central location. Breakfast fine, nothing outstanding, but plenty available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moreno Valley

Great location and staff!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Stayed at some higher priced hotels in the area before and first time staying at the Super 8. I have to say that it was a pleasant stay since location is central to the areas I intended on visiting during my stay. Uber was ~$8-$10 for everywhere I wanted to go (pier 39, chinatown, etc...). Staff was friendly and helpful since the time I walked through the lobby doors. I understand that the building is older and stuff, I would say it was a good bang for the buck and would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Good location and value

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Value and location
Cons: Elevator
Location: Great location! 2 blocks to Union Square & Powell St cable car. Mass transportation and many restaurants nearby. New Delhi Restaurant was very good
Staff was pleasant, room clean although small -however my accessible bathroom was huge. Elevator needs repair. Free breakfast was reasonable, although the dining area was too small. Great location! 2 blocks to Union Square, transportation and variety of restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Good value, great location

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Good breakfast, great location near Union Sq. Hotel is old but clean and staff is friendly anmd helpful. Nothing fancy but much less expensive than big name hotels a block ot two away. Would stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Old . Terrible smell around hotel . Breakfast very simple .