Ratings based on 1,439 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

general hotel with good location

Posted Aug 5, 2017
goodlocationgood locatuon.but space is too narrow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville FL

Inexpensive (for San Fran) in Union Square

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Staff were great, easy check in, let you leave your bags at the front if needed. The hallways and elevator are dated however the room itself was clean and tidy. Being nearly 6ft the shower head was low for me but this pretty typically. There is a breakfast on the top floor - juice, cereal and toast - simple but nice. The room was small, the bed filled the whole room - but wasn't there 80% of the day so that suited me fine. This area of San Francisco is very dirty and frequently harassed by homeless people but not outside the hotel (more towards to Westfield). Lots of food and eatery and super close to tram and BART
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Choice for Union Square

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The gentlemen on the front desk were friendly and nice.
Cons: EVERYTHING. The free breakfast, don't even bother.
Not worth the price paid. It is very outdated and feels dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Hotel is at nice location. lift makes scary sounds

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: location and helpful staffs
Cons: lift and breakfast
Location: good location
Hotel is at nice location, excellent staff. Room are bit small but at this price and location no complains. lift is old and makes scary sounds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

A so so hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
First night the room (on back side) was a dump, terrible , could be just worth $40. But after changing to street side, the room is totally different; big bathroom and nicer wall, floor etc. friendly staff , convenient location, but the elevator and the building is pretty old
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good for shirt stay

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Hotel is close to Union Square and very accessible by public transport. Hotel itself is old and could do with upgrading furniture in rooms and the bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean room in the heart of S.F.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Booked this place knowing what i was getting---a clean but basic room in the heart of S.F., where hotels are generally very expensive and situated in old buildings. Considering the location--2 blocks from Union Square and the cable car routes--this place is a solid value for where it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by manoj pathak, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your kind words. We are really excited that you liked the hotel.Yes, we are centrally located close by to union square,cable car ,shopping center,china town and also our rates are quite reasonable compared to other hotels in this area. We look forward to host you again next time when you are here. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Not bad

Posted May 25, 2017
I spent a night in this hotel. The location is great as it is close to the union square (lots of shopping, restaurants and subway). It's the major area. But the neighbourhood is not the greatest. I feel safe to walk around in the day time but not so in the night time (I took uber instead). I saw a syringe nearby but I won't blame the hotel for this. The room is small but functional. For the price I paid, I think it is a fair price. It's a "no frill" style hotel and I don't have a huge expectation. It also includes free wifi and breakfast. The hotel offers $17/person ride to the airport and it's cheap. The downside are not so good sound isolation (I can hear the music from another room), no exhaust fan in the bathroom and the A/C is not controlled by the temperature. It requires manual adjustment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by manoj pathak, Hotel Management
Hello Guha, Thank you for your review. I was just going through your reservation and i found out that your reservation was cancelled .You didnt even stay in our hotel .Also regarding the deposit of 100 dollar , i see that since you didnt even came to hotel , there was no way that the hotel charges you 100 dollar .Also regarding the fees for internet and water charge, our hotel provides free internet,water bottle and free breakfast. You are free to give us a call or email us if you need any help in this matter. thank you
4 out of 5
by Angel

Dirty Linen

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom and room was clean. I have one complaint. It is a major one though. When it was time for bed, I pulled back the sheets and found linens dirty with lint and hair. Be that it was late and warm I pulled the sheets back to how I found them and slept on top of them. I used a throw for a blanket.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Justin, Hotel Management
Hello Angel, Thank you for your review. we are happy to know that you liked the service of the front desk and the room and bathroom .I am extremly sorry about the dirty linens .We are really strict on the cleanliness of the bed and we will get into this incidents.We give highest priority on the cleanliness of the bed. I am once again sorry for that and would like to compensate this incident by upgrading to suite room in your next stay in our hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Terrific Location

Posted May 23, 2017
Apart from the location nothing else is good about this hotel. Small cramped rooms, unfriendly staff at the front desk and bad air conditioning though need to admit concierge is really nice and helps you out. The hotel charges a deposit of $100 from international debit/credit which is no where mentioned while booking, which I still haven't received till date ( 23rd May ) and I checked out on 11th May 17'. Also they charge $17 per day for internet and water bottle ( one tiny bottle for 3 adults ) which they term as "resort fees". I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The AC is terrible and makes loud noises, the bathroom is tiny and hardly has any place to stand. I thanked my lucky stars when I checked out after 2 nights.