Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: very tired looking
very nice great staff rooms not as i expected from website rooms need to be updated needs a coat of paint at least
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, FL

65th birthday trip

Posted May 12, 2017
Hotel was very nice. San Francisco is expensive but clincher came when hotel charged me $18 for in-room coffee/tea on 2 mornings. Free coffee in lobby. Went to bar, restaurant, was generous with service personnel . . . Surprised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted May 11, 2017
In SF for a conference. The hotels in the union square area can be a bit hit or miss. The Taj, however, was definitely a hit. Very friendly staff, always smiling and helpful. My room looked out onto the Hyatt across the street which isn't the nicest view but hey, I've had much worse at other sf hotels. The room itself is very nicely appointed with most every amenity you'd need. And the bathroom reminds me of those in Mandalay bay in Vegas: dual vanity, big bath, full separate shower and a separate room for the toilet. It was nearly a separate hotel room until itself. Too bad this visit was just a quick overnight. Would have enjoyed staying longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 9, 2017
Very friendly and attentive staff. Room was excellent large comfy bed and good size bathroom. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay near Union Square

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: It is a nice, quiet, centrally located hotel with very responsive staff. There is nothing not to like.
Cons: The carpeting in our room.
Location: The hotel is steps from Union Square with world class shopping and close to many terrific restaurants.
Check in and check out were easy and quick. The hotel staff were polite and responsive. We made three special requests, they were honored and taken care of promptly. Even though the hotel was steps from Union Square entrance and exit from the hotel was very safe and without any issues. The food and drinks were well prepared. We had a lovely time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
It was very nice and in a great location. Wonderful staff. I feel the restaurant is overpriced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Wonderful experience!

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Quiet yet great location close to everything. Especially like the wonderful, helpful staff who even went to CVS to pick up cold medication for me!
Cons: Nothing. Keep it just the way it is.
Location: Close to shopping, financial district and waterfront.
Excellent staff, location, quality of room and services. Restaurant was amazing! Wish I could live here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

San Francisco Stay

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Comfort, small, amenities.
Cons: The view!
Location: Great location.
I was attending a conference in San Francisco. The room was comfortable, clean, although not a great city view like was advertised. The staff was welcoming and the lobby was nice. Appreciated the variety of teas and the cucumber lemon water. Very close to the Moscone Center and nice location near Union Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel near Union Square in San Francisco

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: It is easy to get to. You enter into a beautifully appointed, clean and bright lobby and are greeted with a smile and a warm 'hello'
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: It is convenient to many shops and attractions, e.g. Union Square, Powell Street cable car line, Embarcadero, Fisherman's Wharf.
After a long day of travelling, we were greeted with smiles and pleasant 'hellos' by the staff at the front desk. During the stay, they continued by greeting us with a "welcome back" every time we went out and by helping us with our queries. The staff at all levels was extremely polite and quick to ensure we were happy. We felt at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very nice hotel. Great location with convenient access to dining and shopping.