Ratings based on 784 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wonderful room & staff

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The staff are friendly, courteous & professional, from the doorman to the reception desk to the maids. The room was very nice and had a great setup. I liked that they put the dresser & closet in the washroom. Made things a bit more convenient. The hotel in centrally located and just a few blocks from Market Street with lots of restaurants in the vicinity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, Thank you very much for your kind review of Taj Campton Place! I am thrilled you found us amongst all of the wonderful hotel choices in San Francisco and enjoyed the satff and location. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Campton Place on your next visit to San Francisco! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Everything was as we expected or better.
Cons: The room was on the small size but normal I suppose for a mid-city hotel.
Location: Just a step from Union Square ; we walked everywhere.
We could only stay three days and asked a very helpful concierge for recommendations for a show and restaurants and directions for getting about; all her advice and services were excellent. The staff at the hotel were eager to please and our stay was topped off by a marvellous meal at their two-star restaurant. We are already telling friends that they should stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you so much for the lovely review of Taj Campton Place! We appreciate your patronage and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel someday very soon! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Lovely city centre hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Everything worked. Great staff!! Bedding was Frette. AND the room had a Nespresso machine. What's not to love.
Location: Middle of the city close to all the best shops, Cable Cars, etc.
A very comfortable and elegant hotel. Perfect location across the road from Union Square.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Helen, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Taj Campton Place. I am happy to read that you liked our linen and the Nespresso machine. We do have a wonderful and convenient location and hope to see you at Taj Campton Place again someday very soon. Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great location!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
I can't say enough about this great hotel. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The location can't be beat. The doormen were always helpful and knew a lot about the area from public transit to great restaurants late at night. I love this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, What a pleasure to read your very kind review this morning! Thank you for choosing Taj Campton Place and for taking the time to post your impressions of your stay with us. I do agree that the location is extremely convenient and our staff are wonderful. Thank you for your patronage again and safe travels! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in financial district of San Francisc

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Lovely lobby, rooms immaculate and comfortable. Great location for shopping and plenty of places to dine nearby. Loved our stay. Alternate parking is a bit less pricy and is a block away. Loved our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, What a pleasure to read your very kind review this morning! Thank you for choosing Taj Campton Place and for taking the time to post your impressions of your stay with us. Thank you for your patronage again and safe travels! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta canada

Great hotel in the union square area of San Fran.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Very nice hotel close to union square. We were able to take the BART from the airport to a stop within 3 blocks of the hotel. All the hop on hop off bus tours stopped at union square so easy access to the bus tours of the city. Walking distance to China town section. Rooms were good and staff friendly and helpful. Great trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Greetings from Taj Campton Place in San Francisco and thank you so much for taking the time to share your most valuable feedback. I want to thank you again for taking the time to email me to provide this valuable feedback. Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marin County, CA

elegant hotel right near Union Square

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: room design, staff and food and location.
Cons: over night parking was $60.00! That is the most I've ever paid in S.F. and I stay in S.F. hotels multiple times per year.
Location: Walking distance to China Town, North Beach, Union Square, Nob Hill and Embarcadero.
small but well appointed room with efficient design, comfy beds and lovely linens. The bathroom was spacious and newly updated. No street noise enters the room but you do hear your neighbors if there's a connecting door. It was my birthday and Nick who checked us in kindly sent up a yummy piece of cake that was beautifully decorated. Breakfast at the hotel was top notch. Everyone from the valet, front desk and restaurant staff were so friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Robin, Greetings from Taj Campton Place in San Francisco and thank you so much for taking the time to share your most valuable feedback. I do apologize for the noise that you heard from the room next door, we will keep this in mind when we do our next renovation. I want to thank you again for taking the time to email me to provide this valuable feedback. Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely older hotel. Great staff.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: It was perfect for my visit to the City. I enjoyed my stay. It was quiet, comfortable and a great location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Shopping nearby was excellent and it was a comfortable walking distance to explore China Town. Otherwise Uber was very convenient in getting around.
I enjoyed my stay. For the most part, it was quiet and comfortable. Although, my room had no view to speak of and looked down on an alley-way between two building walls. I did not spend much time in the room, so it was not an issue this visit. The Campton Place restaurant was superb and The Bistro was great. Both were very pricy, though. I appreciated my credit toward daily breakfast and the service was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I truly appreciate you taking the time to post your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. There are wonderful choices for travelers who are staying in San Francisco and I am very happy to hear that we may count you as a fan of Taj Campton Place. Our amazing staff really does work hard to ensure guests are 100% satisfied with their experience and I am thrilled this came across to you. I do apologize for the poor view from your room, Thank you once again! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place 340 Stockton Street San Francisco
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Central, comfortable with excellent service

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Staff went out of their way to ensure our needs were met. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Ginny, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of Taj Campton Place! I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. we are looking forward to your future visits. Thank you again! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place 340 Stockton Street San Francisco
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The closeness to everything, i.e. Chinatown, Union Square, Fishermans Wharf, the friendliness of staff and our room was very spacious.
Cons: NA
Location: Very central to street cars, buses and all amenities were very close, great stores to do some shopping i.e., Macy's, H & M, Walgreens
Very comfortable hotel room, the staff were always helpful, courteous, friendly and made us feel welcome every evening when we returned. There was a newspaper at our door every morning. When we required some assistance i.e., bathroom lights went off when we accidentally tripped the breaker and service tech was at our room within 5 minutes. Wonderful service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Jon , I was delighted to read your review of Taj Campton Place and thank you for the same. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the excellent location of the hotel, it is one of the most convenient places for shopping and all the wonderful sight-seeing that the city has to offer. I am happy that you liked the amenities in our rooms too. I wish you safe travels for your future journeys and look forward to your future visit to our hotel. Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place 340 Stockton Street San Francisco Email: cmpgm.sf@tajhotels.com