Ratings based on 723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Gross but great location

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Location was central. Easy to take an uber everywhere or walk 3 blocks to hop on the train. Starbucks in next door. Molton Brown products.
Cons: Get rid of the fried food smell in hotel rooms! Staff should acknowledge the issue, rather than pretend like it exist.
Location: Starbucks next door. Walgreens within 1 block. Lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Day 1 the lobby smelled of fried foods. Go up to the room on the 5th floor but it's coming in through the ducts! I call and the operator says she's never heard of such a thing so I contact the front desk, who despite working in a lobby smelling like fried onions, doesn't know about the smell but will send an engineer. The engineer arrives and says something's wrong with their duct system. They're stopping cooking and the smell will go away shortly. The smell never went away. I had a wedding to attend the next day and there's no dry cleaning fast enough that will take the smell out, so I spray on extra perfume. It's really really gross to sleep in a hotel room smelling of fried onions. The next day it smells like fried fish. The day afterward, it smelled it fried somosas. I mean these are delicious smells in a kitchen so their food is probably amazing, but really disgusting to sleep in that smell and have all your clothes smell awful. Also, their operator and front desk pretending not to notice, when I called is, super awkward. I had to speak with front desk in person for them to acknowledge it but they just said it'll go away... every day they said this. Perhaps they're working in that 24/7 and can't tell the difference anymore but it's super noticeable to anyone who steps through the front door. Also, this hotel is not sound proofed, so you can hear other people's showers running early in the morning and late at night; also you hear all deliveries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy Alley

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Area, room decor, staff, restaurant .... everything! Just not the noisy room on the alley!
Cons: Another room location.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, walking ..... everything!
We normally LOVE Campton Place. We have been staying there for years. The hotel and staff are the best of the best. We had a "city view" room reserved but, for some reason, we were on Campton Place (alley way). No view at all but we thought it would be nice and quiet as we like to crack open our window at night. Apparently, there is a night club in that alley that comes to life around midnight. We looked out our window and there was a long line of partiers. They were having a great time! Very noisy up until around 3:00am. Next time we will make sure to ask to NOT be on that side of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa Valley

excellent

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: all
Location: perfect location in Union Square
excellent hotel in Union Square San Francisco California,best of the City; turn down service,special attention, Thanks again for a wonderful stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutiquey Feel with Large Commercial Conveniences

Posted Nov 5, 2015
From early check in, to our 3 hour lunch in the hotel restaurant to the day we had to say goodbye, one member of the staff was more gracious and helpful than the next. The location was perfect for us, i.e. next to food, drink and shopping. Spent 4 lovely days and nights exploring all Union Square and the Embarcadero had to offer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Enjoyed the hotel, BUT

Posted Nov 1, 2015
The location was great, the hotel is quite nice and comfortable. There was a large problem with the room, however. When we arrived about 11:30 PM, they graciously showed us to a room that DID NOT HAVE A STALL SHOWER. I was in San Francisco to celebrate my 82nd birthday and I was very specific when I made the reservation. I took the front desk more than an hour to find a room, but one was eventually found. That room was a large, king bed room with a very large chaise lounge/couch at the food of the bed. It was to be a city view room, but the window was quite small and had another love seat directly in front of it. The room was nice, but had way too much furniture in it. The bath was nice with a single sink, a wonderful stall shower and a toilet that was extremely difficult to use because it had been squeezed between a very large tub and the wall. The hotel did everything they could to help; the design of the room was the problem.LEd
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff but common areas were very lacking

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: The staff, and the huge full length mirror in the bedroom
It is small like a boutique hotel. Entry way, lobby and bar are all so small and does not have the grand feel that you would want from a 4 1/2 star. Bar was probably the smallest I have ever seen. House car is wonderful to have and staff was very nice. Room was clean and bed was wonderful but room did not feel extra luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great venue

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Loved the hotel and location.
Location: Breakfast was next door at Starbucks and located 1/2 a block from Union Square with many shops + the park.
Terrific location with many amenities including a superb dining room + very helpful staff always. Rooms are small but beautifully appointed for a 5-star stay in comfort. Will definitely come back again and again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel right by union square

Posted Oct 20, 2015
The hotel staff was amazing, but there was one man that stood out, his name is Dan. Whoever chose him to be the first person you meet before you walk into the hotel is genius! We loved the hotel, but Dan made our stay that much better. He's one of the nicest people you will ever meet. He is the type of person that can bring a smile to your face no matter the type of day you are having. His joy is contagious. He definitely restores my faith in humanity. As for the hotel, it is nice and very clean. All of the hotel staff is amazing! All of the employees are so friendly and happy. I look forward to staying at this hotel again, I will be telling my friends about it too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice small hotel with good location.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
The hotel is small, my room was small but well appointed and comfortable, view from my room was disappointing. The staff is welcoming. The most important thing for me was location, it's close to many attractions and transportation. As most luxury properties food was expensive. Overall it was a good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Great location, comfortable room and friendly staff.