Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Clean and beautiful and classy. Staff all courteous and very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from walnut creek, california

wonderful staff.......but it shouldn't end there

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: explained above
Cons: explained above
Location: best location in san francisco. right off of union square tons of fine stores and, well, all types of retail stores....... at the doorstep
best part about the hotel is the staff. they are very professional and very friendly and helpful. they gave us what they call the california king room; not the deluxe king we had booked and paid for. ????? Room is average. Hardly any place (drawers) for clothes. We lived out of suitcases; not what you usually find in what is supposed to be a five star hotel. Shower is a real pain. Half glass door so it is cold to take a shower. Dining room is very small. 45 minute wait one morning before they could take us for breakfast. So we ate every day across the street at Grand Hyatt. Staff in bar is also tops. Everywhere, in the hotel, the staff is great.. We are used to Regency in NYC. The Taj is not the Regency. Also, using their site, I had requested flowers in the room and told them they could charge them to my bill; they never appeared and I wasn't charged. But they never were sent. A very nice experience in general but not five star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East coast

Great location but needs some upgrades

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Staff were incredible and the location of the hotel was superb.
Cons: The entire hotel needs an upgrade. It looks tired and the furnishings and bathrooms are a bit run down. Definitely expected more.
The hotel was a bit disappointing based on all the great reviews. Our room was a California room and it was very small, barely enough room to put everything. The pictures on the web site are not accurate. The bathroom did not include a tub, even though the picture shows one. The bathroom really needed an upgrade. The climate control in the room did not work and whatever the setting you made it, the temperature never adjusted properly. Sometimes too cold, other times too hot. The other issue was noise. We were on a lower floor and right across the side street was a club with very loud music on the weekend that went into the early morning. Staff were amazing and the hotel atmosphere was OK but just not what I have experienced at other hotels of this class in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location, service, amenities impeccable !

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Everyone and everything was perfect ! The entire staff was attentive, professional and friendly.
Cons: Nothing could have been better. The hotel was lovely, and the staff was amazing. The rooms were clean and well appointed.
Location: Near great shopping and fabulous restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Misty, Thank you very much for the kind review of Taj Campton Place! We do appreciate and thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased to note that you liked our staff and enjoyed the location. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel sometime very soon! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel was excellant

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Paying for tea / coffee in room
Location: Location was perfect, right on Union Square
Fantastic time, all staff were so helpful and polite, room was perfect, clean in every way. Only thing was not happy that tea / coffee making facilities were not free in the room. Expect to pay for mini bar but not tea / coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of Taj Campton Place! I do apologize for the tea/coffee charges, we give one complimentary per guest per day. Thank you again for your kind support and your review. Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Highly Recommended

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Hotel location, rooms and service were all top rate. Hotel restaurant is excellent and deserving of its Michelin stars.
Cons: The artwork in the rooms, unlike in the public areas, could do with an upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear MT, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking to renovate our rooms and lobby soon and your comments will certainly be taken into consideration. Safe travels. Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The room we had was well appointed with a comfortable bed and generously sized bathroom.
Cons: The cups were terrible and difficult to hold with a hot drink in them.
Location: The location was great. Right near Union Square and central to the things we had planned to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Nice hotel. Well placed for walking. Great staff. Very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your kind recommendation! I am thrilled you had an enjoyable stay with us. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Best hotel in San Francisco

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: We liked everything about the hotel. The staff, the chocolates, the fitness center, etc.
Cons: I can't think of anything that needs improving
Location: We got in pretty late because we went to Muir Woods before check-in, but everything seem in close proximity to all the great restaurants.
This has to be one of the best hotels in San francisco. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel the bellman was right there to assist with our bags. The front desk staff was alert and attentive to our first steps into the door. The guy at the front desk was very accommodating, he even left the front desk to bring our bags upstairs. The hotel was very bright, white and clean. The rooms are very spacious and bright.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Teresa, Thank you for your kind recommendation! I am thrilled you had an enjoyable stay. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wonderful room & staff

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The staff are friendly, courteous & professional, from the doorman to the reception desk to the maids. The room was very nice and had a great setup. I liked that they put the dresser & closet in the washroom. Made things a bit more convenient. The hotel in centrally located and just a few blocks from Market Street with lots of restaurants in the vicinity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, Thank you very much for your kind review of Taj Campton Place! I am thrilled you found us amongst all of the wonderful hotel choices in San Francisco and enjoyed the satff and location. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Campton Place on your next visit to San Francisco! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place