Ratings based on 904 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aiea, Hawaii

Home Away From Home

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: The friendliness and service of the hotel staff. The location of the hotel.
The Taj Campton Place has been our hotel of choice whenever we are in SF. We have enjoyed and liked the location of the hotel to many of the stores near Union Squares as well as access to the Muni, taxis and subway. It is within walking distance to Chinatown, North Beach and the Ferry Building. We have enjoyed the Taj Campton Place hotel staff known for their friendliness and service to their hotel guests. They have always treated us like we are returning family instead of just as hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great hotel, amazing staff

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Staff, hotel itself
Cons: Nothing
Had a great 7 day stay at Taj Campton hotel, best hotel we have stayed at in our US holiday. The staff were amazing, extremely polite and pleasant. The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic, I would stay here again and recommend it highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Pricey but nice. Recently renovated rooms.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Good stay. Close to union square. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great location and staff

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We spent a few days vacation in city and would certainly come back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach CA

Great location, great staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Location: one block to Union Square
cool amenities, great room with everything you can think of, including having the maid put cute little rubber bands around my phone headset and charger cords! Staff was great (especially Laura at front desk), and the restaurant (mostly breakfast) was super. Didi (bartender) was very responsive, professional and fun!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Terrible attitude from the reception staff (Laura), this is my second and last time in this overpriced hotel. Normally you will get a very small room with terrible views. Good location but that same as the Grand Hyatt that is in front and has better rooms and much better courtesy from the reception staff. I don't recommend this hotel, for the same price I'm shure you can find a much better option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Wonderful stay in the Taj

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Hotel is in a perfect location in San Francisco, the room was very clean and comfortable and spacious. Great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Fantastic stay!

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Staff, room, bar
Cons: Nothing specific
Location: Perfect San Francisco location
The best hotel stay we have had in ages. Staff and service were simply fantastic. Location, room and all other aspects were great. Will definitely return!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good - but still not as good as Taj in Asia

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Having read various reviews of this hotel, I had high expectations on the service. While I can't fault the staff's smiles and courteousness, the service still fell short compared to the service at other Taj properties I have stayed at in Asia. Cons: - I booked the room a month before, and I requested a late check-out at the time of booking - I never heard back from the Taj. - Upon check-in, they told me this was not possible and asked that I pay a half day rate to stay until 6pm. This seemed ridiculous to me for 6 hours of extra stay. They refused to extend this any further than 7pm. Since my flight was at 1am, I took this option anyway. - At checkout, they charged me US$200 for this extra "half day"! This is way more than the rate I paid for the night before. To be fair, I did not ask about the rate - but they did not tell me the rate either. - These experiences certainly left a bitter taste, but the positives: Pros: - Great location - walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the Color Factory - Clean rooms - Great in-room amenities: nespresso machine, toiletries, etc. - Front of house staff - especially the doormen were just lovely - Free Wifi
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Room was like a closet! Elevator noise all night!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Central Location!
Cons: Customer Service!!! Old building that should be torn down!
Booked in advance and changed plans, but hotel would not cancel reservation! Careful out there, they must be hurting for business! Called Expedia and they referred to Hotel. Hotel would not discuss! Arrived in San Francisco and drove to Hotel and pleaded my case and they said absolutely not! Did not seem to care at all about the customer! Shame! Never again!!!