Ratings based on 830 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Great stay, room on smaller side compared to a typical hotel room but I had no need for a larger space and location is great for downtown San Francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

Fancy!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Lovely hotel and close to everything. The doors were opened for me each time I went in and out. Staff were always helpful and happy to provide service. Maybe I'm just a 3 star kind of traveler, but found the daily request from hotel staff to complete turn down service a little too much. The internet quality was poor, you can upgrade for $12 a day which I thought that was a little unreasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location for transportation

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room. Excellent staff. Very quiet until Friday night when the club across the street was about to open and people were standing in line.
Cons: Fitness area had one treadmill that worked and one that was broken for the entire week, it was only empty two out of 5 days we tried. Restaurant $$$$
Location: Dining options are weak. Shopping, Cable Car line & SFMoMA
Taj Campton is a very nice hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The location is good, near Union Square but the dining choices in this area are not that varied, almost all options are in hotels. Close to the shopping district and on the opposite side from Fisherman's Wharf touristy places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

In the center of everything.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Staff could. It have been better. Happy and helpful, they made our stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Well priced hotel in great location.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Loved our stay! Staff were excellent and so helpful. Beds very comfortable and rooms stylish and up to date. Loved the little luxuries like Bose bedside radio alarm clock! Easy walk to trains and buses and Union Square a block away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aiea, Hawaii

Happy to be back at the Taj Campton Place

Posted Jan 26, 2017
My wife and I have been returned visitors to SF and especially to the Taj Campton Place. We have enjoyed their friendly and accommodating hotel staff which make us feel like they are our family and friends. The hotel is conveniently located and walking distance to many Union Square stores, Chinatown, North Beach and to muni stops, subway stations and car rental companies. One of our travel goals whenever we are back in SF, is to try another new restaurant or dining place or adding a new experience we haven't explored or uncovered until we are back in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Clean and beautiful and classy. Staff all courteous and very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from walnut creek, california

wonderful staff.......but it shouldn't end there

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: explained above
Cons: explained above
Location: best location in san francisco. right off of union square tons of fine stores and, well, all types of retail stores....... at the doorstep
best part about the hotel is the staff. they are very professional and very friendly and helpful. they gave us what they call the california king room; not the deluxe king we had booked and paid for. ????? Room is average. Hardly any place (drawers) for clothes. We lived out of suitcases; not what you usually find in what is supposed to be a five star hotel. Shower is a real pain. Half glass door so it is cold to take a shower. Dining room is very small. 45 minute wait one morning before they could take us for breakfast. So we ate every day across the street at Grand Hyatt. Staff in bar is also tops. Everywhere, in the hotel, the staff is great.. We are used to Regency in NYC. The Taj is not the Regency. Also, using their site, I had requested flowers in the room and told them they could charge them to my bill; they never appeared and I wasn't charged. But they never were sent. A very nice experience in general but not five star.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel experience

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, a very pleasant stay in a very comfortable hotel that affords privacy and yet is centrally located and has easy access to a range of local attractions. The restaurant (and room service) are also especially good. The only downside of the hotel is that electrical plugs are hard to reach -- as a business traveler, having easy access to electrical outlets for the "portable office" is an expectation that all top tier hotels needs to fulfill.