Ratings based on 821 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

In the center of everything.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Staff could. It have been better. Happy and helpful, they made our stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Well priced hotel in great location.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Loved our stay! Staff were excellent and so helpful. Beds very comfortable and rooms stylish and up to date. Loved the little luxuries like Bose bedside radio alarm clock! Easy walk to trains and buses and Union Square a block away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aiea, Hawaii

Happy to be back at the Taj Campton Place

Posted Jan 26, 2017
My wife and I have been returned visitors to SF and especially to the Taj Campton Place. We have enjoyed their friendly and accommodating hotel staff which make us feel like they are our family and friends. The hotel is conveniently located and walking distance to many Union Square stores, Chinatown, North Beach and to muni stops, subway stations and car rental companies. One of our travel goals whenever we are back in SF, is to try another new restaurant or dining place or adding a new experience we haven't explored or uncovered until we are back in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Clean and beautiful and classy. Staff all courteous and very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from walnut creek, california

wonderful staff.......but it shouldn't end there

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: explained above
Cons: explained above
Location: best location in san francisco. right off of union square tons of fine stores and, well, all types of retail stores....... at the doorstep
best part about the hotel is the staff. they are very professional and very friendly and helpful. they gave us what they call the california king room; not the deluxe king we had booked and paid for. ????? Room is average. Hardly any place (drawers) for clothes. We lived out of suitcases; not what you usually find in what is supposed to be a five star hotel. Shower is a real pain. Half glass door so it is cold to take a shower. Dining room is very small. 45 minute wait one morning before they could take us for breakfast. So we ate every day across the street at Grand Hyatt. Staff in bar is also tops. Everywhere, in the hotel, the staff is great.. We are used to Regency in NYC. The Taj is not the Regency. Also, using their site, I had requested flowers in the room and told them they could charge them to my bill; they never appeared and I wasn't charged. But they never were sent. A very nice experience in general but not five star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East coast

Great location but needs some upgrades

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Staff were incredible and the location of the hotel was superb.
Cons: The entire hotel needs an upgrade. It looks tired and the furnishings and bathrooms are a bit run down. Definitely expected more.
The hotel was a bit disappointing based on all the great reviews. Our room was a California room and it was very small, barely enough room to put everything. The pictures on the web site are not accurate. The bathroom did not include a tub, even though the picture shows one. The bathroom really needed an upgrade. The climate control in the room did not work and whatever the setting you made it, the temperature never adjusted properly. Sometimes too cold, other times too hot. The other issue was noise. We were on a lower floor and right across the side street was a club with very loud music on the weekend that went into the early morning. Staff were amazing and the hotel atmosphere was OK but just not what I have experienced at other hotels of this class in SF.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Channel guide only shows station numbers but not what is scheduled to show on those stations making the TV virtually useless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Taj Campton Place. I appreciate your candid feedback on your stay and want you to know I take your impressions very seriously. I do hope that you stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very nice and accomodating
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your kind review of Taj Campton Place! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again and I hope to be able to meet you in person one day soon! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location, service, amenities impeccable !

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Everyone and everything was perfect ! The entire staff was attentive, professional and friendly.
Cons: Nothing could have been better. The hotel was lovely, and the staff was amazing. The rooms were clean and well appointed.
Location: Near great shopping and fabulous restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Misty, Thank you very much for the kind review of Taj Campton Place! We do appreciate and thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased to note that you liked our staff and enjoyed the location. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel sometime very soon! Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel was excellant

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Paying for tea / coffee in room
Location: Location was perfect, right on Union Square
Fantastic time, all staff were so helpful and polite, room was perfect, clean in every way. Only thing was not happy that tea / coffee making facilities were not free in the room. Expect to pay for mini bar but not tea / coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Ashrafi Matcheswala, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of Taj Campton Place! I do apologize for the tea/coffee charges, we give one complimentary per guest per day. Thank you again for your kind support and your review. Kind Regards Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager Taj Campton Place