Ratings based on 1,316 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Nice continental breakfast.
Cons: Bed & sink too low. Difficult to wash face or rinse out mouth without hitting your head on shelf above. More counter space & exhaust fan needed.
Location: Location excellent. Short walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, theatre district, trolley, public transportation, galleries, restaurants.
Very friendly staff with knowledge of SF. Room very small and not as nice as website photos. Clean but dated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east coast

Nice hotel small bathroom

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great location, close to union square and easy to get to the hotel. Our shower bathroom was so small you could brush your teeth in the sink while sitting on the toilet. The shower was extremely tiny as well. The room other than that was nice. Our power strips kept tripping when I used my hairdryer. One of the power strips also only worked part of the time. The breakfast was nice, parking is convenient and cheap for the area if you park in the lot behind the hotel. Fino is amazing and it's great to get a complimentary glass of wine each evening. One thing that turned us off from the hotel was the front desk staff welcomed a homeless man to grab coffee in the lobby. I'm all for helping people in need but letting him help himself to the coffee bar that we just paid for by staying there seemed a little odd.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Great central location
Cons: Nothing though as it is what it is.
Location: Close to Union square and buses to Fishermans wharf
Great location. Awesome restaurant at the Hotel. Although we were located on the 2nd floor and never slept every night for the 4 nights of our stay as it was so noisy from the partygoers leaving the venues around the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Could be great....

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Our room was not very clean; after arriving and inspecting the room, the shower was included various stray pieces of someone else's hair. The bedding was also questionable. We requested that they re clean and put new bedding on and we were told that the rooms are "completely cleaned between guests". On another day we found a suspect item on our bathroom floor which we were told was a hair net that someone had dropped. It appeared to us as a ball of hair on the floor; we will never know as we wouldn't touch it! Breakfast on day one was good; carbs and fruit but after having stayed a few nights you can tell that its the same items put out over and over and not always replenished. Breakfast is located outside your room on your floor every day, that's really great. I found out on the way home that booking through Expedia includes the cost of the shuttle but I didn't realize that going in so had paid for uber. Perhaps that was my oversight somewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa AZ

So very friendly

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I booked the Andrews because I wanted the ambiance of a historic hotel and the hotel was just that. The best part of my stay was the staff. The most friendly of any other place I stayed at. So very helpful too. My only suggestion is to replace the mattress.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not what I expected.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: The hotel is dated and needs to be remodeled.
I would not stay there again. You could hear people talking next door like they were in your room. Their alarm woke me up at 5:00 AM as if it was my alarm. You could hear the maids talking 3 rooms away like if our door was open. Our bead sheet cover was stained and discolored. The double bed room was very small for 2 people. The bathroom was even smaller. Using the toilet and shower was a nightmare. The floors and bed were very squicky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Charming

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The hotel is charming. The people were friendly and the service was excellent, can't wait to come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great Price and location and very friendly staff

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The Staff, location and price.
Cons: Brighter rooms, I could not raise my room shades to bring in more light.
Location: The hotel is block away from Union Square, good location !
Loved the location and the staff...and could not beat the price. As to be expected in this area and for the price, the rooms were small and a bit dark, but suited my needs. I would stay here again ! Added Bonus, Free fruit and muffin breakfast served on each floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Excellent staff. Helpful responding to requests. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fernando Valley, CA

Vintage Hotel, excellent hospitality, convenient

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: see above! EVERYTHING, very reasonable price rate.
Cons: Honestly, I can't think of anything. My spouse was surprised that we couldn't get a couple of channels on our t.v. (particularly Fox News)
Location: Recommend The Rambler just down the street for brunch or breakfast. Great spicy Bloody Marys!
We loved this 1905 hotel -- within easy walking distance of public transportation and good places to eat. Staff friendly efficient courteous. Narrow staircase as is typical of an early 20th century hotel, but easy to navigate (even for my 6ft + spouse). Next time we'll probably splurge for a sitting room, but we were very comfortable in a standard queen room. Generous walk-in closet in the room. Lovely toiletries. The hotel -- though had many visitors -- was very quiet...as if we were the only guests! Quaint elevator. Cozy lobby. Fresh flowers on the lobby tables. Generous continental breakfast spread on each floor every morning. Of the three nights, we stayed, only were around to have the complimentary (and excellent) generous wine pour on the first night. (From the Fino Restaurant/Bar adjacent to the lobby.) Such a nice touch! Only possible downside...but you'll find it everywhere... Area has the occasional homeless of any city's downtown, but nothing aggressive. Felt very safe.