Ratings based on 1,007 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: clean, helpful staff, excellent restaurant attached
Cons: the bathroom needs updating. I had to duck under a shelf and almost put my head in the sink to brush my teeth and wash my face.
Location: it is close to all of the attractions in the north east corner
good location. Walking distance to everything in the north east corner of the city
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

walking distance to fisherman's wharf

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The room was clean, the staff was helpful, and it is in a good location to public transit and walking distance attractions and shopping
Cons: update the bathroom. I had to duck under a shelf and almost put my head into the sink to wash my face or brush my teeth.
Location: Everything we wanted to see in the north east part of the city was in walking distance.
Hotel staff were vary pleasant. Room was clean, but small and outdated bathroom. No A/C and a lot of noise from the street at night and first thing in the morning. Excellent Italian restaurant attached to hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The room was too warm at times and the hotel could use a refresh. I liked some of the historic aspects though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver. Canada

Beautiful hotel building in 1905. Classic.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Very unic. Close of stations square. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.Y.

Nice quaint hotel very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Bathroom needs to be bigger at least in corner room we had and television could have a bigger screen
Location: Great location: stores, restaurants, Wallgreens all in immediate area
Really nice hotel in good location in downtown San Francisco with very good restraurant downstairs named Fino. Just make sure you get a room with a spacious bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mary at the front desk was incredible!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Perfect location, quaint, historical, beautiful rooms, amazing staff. Breakfast was great, complimentary wine in the evening. Just wonderful! We can't wait to go back!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Excellent location!!!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Great hotel! Just notice theres no pool and breakfast is always the same: eggs, hashbrown, bread and cereal.. After 3rd day i needed a change... The rest was awesome!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a family hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Do not take kids, loud, no parking, ice machine in basment and cant get after 6:00pm.. Old beds are awful.. Will not stay here again..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Lovely Little Gem

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: There's a great ambience there, a great feel to the place, and the staff was extremely helpful.
Cons: The TV was rather small, and the cable was snowy / fuzzy.
Location: Excellent central location near public transport. The rest of SF is easily reachable.
Charming old hotel with loads of character. Surprisingly quiet, even though we stayed on the second floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Average

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Just 1 night stay very average hotel .