Ratings based on 2,602 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Great location near Union Square, cable cars, and BART/Muni public transit. Very comfortable beds and great shower. Although rooms are small and lack air conditioning, we were quite comfortable and the staff was excellent. Nice lounge off the lobby with fireplace. Coffee and tea in the mornings but no breakfast--no matter as there are lots of convenient fast food and full-service restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for your feedback on The Cartwright Hotel. We look forward to having you with us again. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Good stay, clean rooms, and friendly staff. Staff let me check in early and asked if I needed them to hold bags after checkout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback! We will be sure to share this with our team, have a great day! Cheers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

It is recommended to stay at this hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
First impression of the room was small and clean. Bathroom was small too. I thought closet was kind of big. Very clean and quiet. I stayed two nights. I would stay again at this hotel. Location was good and lots of places to eat. Hotel does not serve breakfast. No refrigerator in room. Overall, it was a good choice to stay in. My experience was good and the staff service were friendly and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello. Thank you so much for so much for staying with us and for the great feedback. We will be sure to share this with our team. Have a great day! Cheers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
We like the Union Square area, and so the hotel is perfectly located. During our stay, the hotel was in the process of renovating. Perhaps the rooms will look brighter. When I said I'd recommend the hotel, the answer really depends on what the friend desires and expects.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello. Thank you for your feedback on The Cartwright Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay as well as the area. I do apologize for our renovation, brightness is definitely going to be addressed. Have a great day! Cheers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Expect the bathroom has an exhaust fan

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Bathroom exhaust fan
the bathroom does not have a fan. The bathroom smells and is too steamy after showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello Yuk. Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for the issue you had with our bathroom. I appreciate your feedback as this will give us a better understanding om how we can improve. Have a great day! Cheers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great visit to San Francisco.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Nice hotel that is close to good transportation. So much to see within walking distance. Great restaurants close by too. Comfortable beds.
Cons: Some of the rooms need renovating.
Location: Close to Union Square, Hop On Hop Off stop, great restaurants and excellent shopping. Close to transportation.
We had a very nice stay. Really enjoyed our visit to San Francisco. Great location for all the sightseeing we wanted to do. Hotel staff was very helpful. The hotel lobby was very warm and welcoming. The Lobby smells lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello Susan. Thank you very much for you feedback and details on The Cartwright. We are renovating our rooms as we speak and we apologize that you were not in one. I will be sure to share this with our team and I am very pleased you enjoyed the charm of our hotel. Have a great day! Cheers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Old hotel right in union square great location, renovations being done so noisy. Tiny modern room with ultra tiny washroom. Overall had a pleasent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello. Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey,bc

Excelllent hotel near union square

Posted Mar 22, 2017
For the price the hotel is great, room was updated but small. Only used room to sleep. Excellent location to Union Square shops and good proximity to Powell station BART. Lots of food choices nearby so didn't mind there was no breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello Irene. Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to share your feedback with our team. Have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel in Union Square

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel was decent for the price and is in a good location in Union Square and we were upgraded to a renovated room, but the rooms are very small. Also, there was no heater in the room, so they had to bring us a space heater to heat the room which was a little odd, but it did the job. The parking is also peculiar because it is located 2 streets over from the hotel, so we paid $10 extra for valet to avoid the walk back to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello Andrea. Thank you very much for your feedback! We do apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I am glad you did enjoy the surrounding area. Cheers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with character next to Union Square

Posted Mar 18, 2017
This is an older hotel, well maintained and with character. Room a little small but comfortable. There is no breakfast available but several places nearby do breakfast; I had an excellent breakfast at Sears around the corner. It would have been nice to have a minibar in the room (after the long trip) but that's a minor point.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello Bob. Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great day!