Ratings based on 2,549 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location and affordable

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Right in the union Square district close to multiple transit options, attractions, and restaurants. Staff was friendly and accommodated our needs. I had an issue with my foot and the front desk provided me with several bandaids. I needed a document printed and it was free and super easy with their small business center. The room was small, but clean, and served it's purpose. If you plan to live in your hotel room then this isn't the right choice for you but if you're going to be out and about and simply need a clean and convenient place to spend a few evening ours and sleep then this is a perfect choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Cartwright Downtown

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: location, customer service, the rooms are small but this adds to the atmosphere as the hotel has maintained its 1920's look and feel
Cons: Just be aware the rooms are small
Location: see experience
Great location, 1 block from Union Square and within walking distance to lots of fun pubs, nightclubs and restaurants. If you like to avoid the crowds of the pier, stay here. Cab fare to Pier 1 is only $10 but if you like walking the hotel is easy walking distance to both Fisherman's Wharf and the Clocktower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI

Seriously in the heart of union square

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pictures need updating of the renovated rooms because they are beautiful! Hard wood floors so they're pet friendly. And even though renovations were still going on, you can't hear anything even from the outside. Modern and very clean. You are only allowed to skip 2 housekeeping days. The price was awesome for being just a few minutes walk from good shopping and tourist attractions. Uber rides would be $3-5 dollars to Haight/Ashbury and Fishermans wharf. Very quiet hotel although the size on the room is just enough for 2 people, anymore would be very cramped. All staff were real helpful and they offer a shuttle to and from the airport for $17 a person. I wish I took hotel pictures!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Cozy hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location, room, staff
Location: Close to Union Square, shops and restaurants
This was my husband and I's first time in San Francisco. We visited in December 2016 for our baby moon. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and staff. Everyone was friendly and very accommodating. Our room appeared to not have heat so front desk staff provided us with a portable heater right away. We discovered later there is heat, silly us, we just didn't know how to turn it on. We stayed in a very nice corner room and although slightly small, it was very comfortable and clean. It had an amazing, spacious shower which looked to be recently renovated. This hotel is centrally located, walking distance to Union Square, many shops and restaurants and entertainment. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello Jaylena. Thank you for the great feedback. We would also like to thank you for staying with us at The Cartwright. I will be sure to share this with our team. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Union Square! Great accommodations for price!

Posted Feb 5, 2017
This was a great location I chose randomly because of the work location I needed to be close to. I live two hours away in the Central Valley and work here in SF. I worked late and needed to work early next morning, and didn't feel like driving home, so I chose this spot out of the blues. I am a Marriott Platinum Rewards member and typically do not stay less than 5 stars, but I was surprised at this property. I called and attempted to check-in before check-in time and nothing yet was open. I sat down and stood up in about a minute that my room was ready. I give kudos to the guy at the front desk and I believe the manager I spoke to earlier that morning. However, I didn't catch their names. The room I got was for a single person, but the bathroom was spacious. I believe it was a handicap accessible which I didn't mind. I was very impressed with the decor, marvel in the bathroom, lighting, and I think the wooden floor in the room. I literally could live there if I had too. The only thing was it got hot at one point, so the ceiling fan was useful, propped open the window a bit, and the turned on the window fan, and I was golden. I would consider this location again if I needed too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, centrally located

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The lady at the front desk was not accommodating or nice at all. She seemed bothered because I simply needed to clarify the credit card charges during my stay. On the contrary, the gentleman that evening were very sweet. We booked a standard queen size bedroom and it was very small. The room is clean equipped with basic amenities. The bed/hotel could improve on offering warmer blankets or thicker sheets. Overall our two night stay was mediocre. If looking into this hotel, definitely consider an upgraded room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfy, centrally located

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Easy on the budget, close by lots of eateries, cable car runs half a block away. Clean & charming
Cons: hot water in the mornings in room 501.
Recently remodeled/updated, clean room a but on the small size but that was expected for the price & location. Super nice staff as well. only one small hiccup - my room did not get hot water in the mornings for two of the 3 days I was there. I was told it was issue associated with that particular room only. HOWEVER - I was comped for both nights without an issue (I didn't even ask for a refund of any kind but they did it anyways). SO - highly recommended little place in the middle of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello. Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. I apologize for the hot water, we are under renovation at the moment. We will share your feedback with the team. Have a great day. Cheers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, Ca

Very nice hotel, perfect area close to it all!!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived for our 1 night stay. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel structure is very old but rooms are modern. Room was small but very clean and comfortable. Beds were cozy. Wonderful shower! We were on the 6th floor overlooking the buzzing town. I loved the location. Everything is only a short distance away...fishermans wharf, Chinatown, pier 39, union square. 24 hour restaurant on the corner is great! Good food, service and prices. Hotel lobby is very cozy with comfy couches and hot beverages. Had I known how dog friendly this hotel was...my baby would of been there with us. The one thing that I did not like at all was the parking situation. For one, it costs $35 per day to self park your car in a garage on a street behind the hotel. So if you need to go back and forth to your car at all, plan on a short hike each time. I had to call uber to take me up the street to my car to retrieve something because the hike was too much for me. Overall, I loved it here and would stay again if offered the same rate again in the future and they accommodated guests a little better with parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Thank you very much Chrissy for the awesome feedback! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share this with our team. Cheers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Banos

Excellent and friendly staff.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Loved the friendly staff, the cleanliness of the room, the heater accommodations that I asked for, the location of the hotel, the fact that they accept pets, and of course the price! I will definitely return for a night on the town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Ronnie N., Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you very much for the feedback and for staying with us at The Cartwright Hotel. We will be sure to share this with our team. Cheers!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location and staff

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The location is really nice and convenient. Very close to union square. The hotel staff are really nice and courteous. The only negative point was the condition of the room. Very minimal and bad conditioned furniture.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Kevin Vossen (Operations/Sales Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review and are currently working on improving the issues you've mentioned. In a few months all of our rooms will be refurbished and updated.