Ratings based on 1,518 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Close to Union Square, spacious room with great amenities. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Very nice!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Large room, friendly staff.
Cons: Need more outlets by the desk.
Location: Close to everything, felt very safe.
Large room, very convenient to many places. Very walkable to union square, Chinatown, north beach. Anywhere else use Uber.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, US

Good location of hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Overall, the stay is ok.
Location: Good location of hotel, close to bus stop and walking distance to Cable Train station.
One of the windows are wide opened. Need Maintenance staff to use tools to temporarily close the window. He said the Hotel will be under renovation soon. Not enough hot water in the shower. We have stayed in the hotel for 4 nights, but housekeeping had not vacuum the floors, not even the bathroom floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Donatella - San Francisco

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The elevators could stand to be upgraded due to wear.
The Donatella is a very nice hotel that has invested in recent room upgrades. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially the concierge! It's in the theatre distant in close proximity to dining and shopping. I would go back in an instant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Central and Convenient Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The Lounge and Location, Room size was great.
Cons: The noise from the nightclub. How do you fix something like that though? Better music in the lounge would be great too.
Location: Breakfast at 398 Brasserie nearby, fabulous bacon! The MUNI and Chinatown just blocks away. The F Line Historic Street Car on Market. Do that!
I can say that this was a pleasant experience in a new city. Just a block from the MUNI and a couple of blocks from the BART. We did not bother renting a car, just used their fabulous transportation system. If you get lost, even the homeless people will help you. The hotel staff was very friendly. However I was not expecting to get hit up for a timeshare and or vacation club right out of the gate. We backed out of that, but alot of people were sitting through the 2 hour demonstration for the club. The rooms here were clean and spacious! The only drawback was our room was on the 9th floor right above the RUBY Skye nightclub. If you are there on a weekend make sure your room does not face the nightclub entrance. There were people screaming in the garage below us until 3 or 4 in the morning. During the weeknights it is not quite as loud. The hot tub they offer is not available for you to just hop in. You have to check in with the spa person and have them show you around. Kind of weird and the tub only holds two people really. It's small. We did enjoy their tiny bar, it was really fun and loved the atmosphere. Another little tip. If you think you are just going to "hop on" those old wood cable cars. Guess again! We were there for four days and never got to ride it. Packed!! On a Saturday it's about an hour to 2 hour wait. Overall, I would probably stay here again. You are really close to shopping, Union Square, Great Restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Very good hotel near Union Square. Large rooms. Gr

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Very good hotel near Union Square. Large rooms. Great shower. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff. Street noise is annoying, but this is true for most Union Square hotels. Overall, it was surprisingly better than I expected and reasonably priced for SF hotels during a large convention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

the hotel was very close to shops and trams.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: clean and quiet
Cons: a usb charging point for phones and laptops
Location: café mason is a good for breakfast and blazing saddles next door is you want to ride a bike across golden gate bridge
the number 30 tram before tunnel on Stockton street to fisherman wharf was useful and only a short walk to china town vie grant avenue. a short walk to market street for other transport links.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires Argentina

Nice hotel next to the main attractions.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
No necessary to have a car. Everyone at the hotel very kind and friendly. Room very big and comfortable always clean early in the morning. Coffee available at the club in the 15 floor excellent. Hope to going there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

A Bit Shabby

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: The size of the rooms: large.
Cons: Pretty much everything can be improved: the physical condition of the building, rooms, and bathrooms. The staff is well-meaning but a bit forgetful.
Big hotel in the hotel-rich area near Union Sq. It has large rooms, but they are a bit shabby. The shower in my room had only hot water. It took two days to fix it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price, location and room.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Spacious room, service and onsite restaurant.
Very clean and spacious room and conveniently located to a lot of restaurants and activities.