Ratings based on 1,198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Fantastic stay in a great location. The Hotel staff was of the most accommodating I've experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel muy centrico

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Las habitaciones son muy cómodas
Cons: El estacionamiento no esta incluido en el precio de habitación
Location: Gran variedad de comida internacional en los alrededores.
Muy bien ubicado, con fácil acceso a muchos restaurantes y al metro. Muy cómodas habitaciones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

40th Anniversary Stay

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The food and service at the restaurant was very elegant. We loved the room and our view . . . . Next time maybe we will bring earplugs!
Cons: The neighboring night club could be much more conciderate. . . . . .
Location: Well we hiked up Nob Hill to Grace Cathedral, and the cable car museum, over to Powell to get on cable cars, ate at Sears fine foods and the Tonga Roo
We had a great weekend at the Donatello Hotel! Everyone was very kind helpful and went way beyond to help us celebrate. If we could just shut down Ruby Skye the club across the way. It ruins getting any sleep at all!!!! The drummer was in the middle of the street pounding away atv2in the morning and nothing is done . . . . . My husband and I just looked at each other an said, "Welcome to SF!!!!! Thank you for making our weekend special but there really needs to be an ordinance for excessive noise past midnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Great Union Square location.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect and we felt comfortable going out at night. A lot of people were out walking to dinner.
Cons: The blinds in the room didn't work well and had to put a pillow on the window so the rooms across the street couldn't see in.
Location: Location was great took the bus six miles to The Cliff House, no transfers needed to get there, which helped us, we leave in a rural area.
Close to shopping, restaurants, buses, and a trolley stop. The room was spacious for San Fransisco and the windows opened. The staff was helpful and let my daughter and I know which area of town to avoid, which was helpful we ended up walking everywhere. To the wharf, China Town, and North Beach for dinner. One helpful hint is the hotel entrance isn't on the street map quest has it on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome and relaxing stay!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Very comfortable bed! We slept so well! The room was spacious, modern and comfortable! Staff are very friendly. Great hotel!! So close to union square and cable car!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Excellent location.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Close to all places of interest, including many, many shopping opportunities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was great

Posted Jan 25, 2016
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel but I am upset with Expedia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great hotel in Union square

Posted Jan 19, 2016
This could be one of the best experiences I've had in SF. And I come here a lot. Maybe about 8-10 times per year. Location is great. anything you could need for a 3 day weekend is about a 3 min walk away. Transportation, Powell St., Walgreens, bus stop right downstairs. The hotel staff were friendly for the most part. I didn't really like how the concierge was trying to sell a future vacation seconds after checking in. Wasn't really ready for that. The gym was lacking. But the real star is the room. The room was really big for SF standards (there is just so much space!) the TV was modern and worked really well (tv in the bathroom too), and there was a DVD player. The bed was comfy and met expectations.. Also hotel staff came and cleaned the room every day that we stayed. Another downside is if you stay on the weekend, the club across the street can get very loud. But that just comes with planning to vacation in a city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

centrally located near Union Square

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: room maid service didn't show up until after 3 pm
Location: Shop, eat, theater.
The staff from the bellmen, valet parking attendant, front desk and more were all very helpful. As well, if you were interested in purchasing a membership, information was available there as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at Donatello

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Please see experience
Cons: Toilet and the shower water. It was hot then cold for the entire span of the shower
Location: About a block away from union square and multiple fantastic restaurants.
Great hotel! Friendly staff and awesome bar! The bartender was one of the best around! The room was so large and the bed was beyond comfortable. The bathroom had a TV in it, which was cool. I did not like the way we had to flush the toilet using the handle, like the ones you see in a public restroom. They gave you popcorn daily which was such a plus! Also, GREAT location! We were about a block from union square and a hop, skip and jump from multiple great restaurants.