Ratings based on 1,664 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Good service at quality hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2017
This hotel is well located near union square. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Good transport to attractions many in walking distance. Rooms are a generous size with modern fittings and comfortable furniture. Good storage space and some ktchen facilities. Hotel staff are very helpful. Recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great spot, spacious room, friendly staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Spacious room, great location
Cons: New mattress, skip the timeshare pitch at check in (disguised as an information briefing)
Location: Close to all the shopping, not too bad a walk up to fisherman's warf as long as you're fit. Short cab ride otherwise. Transit is a good option too.
Really enjoyed our stay at the Donatello. Location is really good (be warned though, city is noisy, can't really escape that, people love to honk their horns for every small thing). Staff is really friendly, although we could do without the pressure sales on timeshares. Didn't bug us too much, but not something we expected to be faced with at such a pricey hotel. Mattresses probably need to be replaced soon too, again given the price of the hotel. Room is super spacious though, which is nice when you want to unwind after hiking around the city all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Great hotel! Close to many attractions including a Cable Car stop. Great upper club area for lounging and hanging out. Nice rooftop view as well. Very nice room! Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Room, location and condition.
Location: Close to shops, restaurants, financial district. Great location for all types of travelers.
Very nice centrally located hotel. Room was spacious, clean, and all appliance/features in good condition. Nice cozy lounge with complimentary coffee and water on the top floor with seating inside and outside. Nice spot for business and leisure travelers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Workout room tiny, hot, humid, dirty, gross, and doesn't open until 6:30 am
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seatle

Nice but they kept trying to sell us something

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Room was large
Cons: Stop harassing the guests
After checking in the front desk pointed us to the concierge however, they not only pretend to be the concierge, they then proceeded to pressure us into listening to some time share or something! That is so tacky and insulting to me. I paid a very good price for the hotel room without having to listen to that. So, we said we were not interested. The next day, as we back from wondering around, the “concierge” screamed across the room: asking if we were locals and if we wanted a free vacation”! So very disappointing and recommend finding a more classy hotel as they are available for the same or less than what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Good Hotel close to many attractions

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Overall good experience except the few things that should be taken into consideration. This hotel has no smoking rooms while it says the opposite! Also we were supposed to check in at 3:00 pm and after waiting couple of hours, room was still not ready and we had to chose another room on the 5th floor which was fine but very noisy at night... staff were nice but they were not helpful with information regarding transportation and tips for visiting the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Aug 25, 2017
We stayed here recently three of us in one large room. These rooms are large and the beds are a excellent size. The rooms have great facilities. The hotel has live jazz music three times a week as well which is a bonus. The hotel has great dining as well. The location is a short stroll to union Square Check in is easy but I would tell you to say no to the (free breakfast) as this is a timeshare push. A great place to stay otherwise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient and confortable

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Recommended. I like the backyard of the room, giving an open space. Very convinient. Staff are very friendly. I didnot like that I had to go to the top level to get tea and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great location. Close to everything.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Front desk staff was wonderful. We arrived early morning and asked if we could check in, they had no problem accomodating our last minute request. The only downside was that construction was going on right next to the hotel, so it's really noisy, but this is not the hotel's fault. Overall a great stay.