Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from 日本

便利快適!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
ユニオンスクエア近くで非常に便利。バスも利用すると短時間で色々な場所に行ける。 ホテルは清潔。キッチン、冷蔵庫が便利でした。ホテルのスタッフも親切でしたが、売り込みのスタッフの 説明は長くて疲れている時にはつらかった。周りにレストランはたくさんあり、モーニングやレイトディナーも 困らなかった。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hannover

Luxuriöses Hotel im Stadtkern

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Die Dachterasse und die Größe des Zimmers
Cons: Leider gab es nur einen Fahrstuhl, so dass man zum Teil lange Wartezeiten in Kauf nehmen musste
Location: Direkt im Zentrum, 2 Minuten vom Union Square und der Haltestelle für das Cable Car.
Supergroßes Zimmer mit tollen Betten, klasse Übersicht über die Stadt in der loungeähnlichen Dachterasse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dresden

Gutes Hotel in klasse Lage!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Gutes Hotel in klasse Lage. Chinatown und Cable Car zu Fuß schnell erreichbar. Frühstück gibt es im Hotel nicht, dafür an jeder Straßenecke in allen Preisklassen, also kein Problem. Familienzimmer mit Schlafsofa war riesig, Küchenzeile mit Besteck und Geschirr für 4 vorhanden, alles sauber! Schlafsofa ist in Ordnung für 2, breiter als manch Queensizebett!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice clean hotel close to Union Square

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Clean, Modern, Fully Appointed, Convenient Location
Cons: Sound proof the windows.
Location: Centrally located, convenient to transportation, lots of restaurant options, plenty of shopping.
Booked this hotel for a family of four with two teenage kids. The location was very convenient only a block from Union Square, and close to transportation (Cable Car, Bus lines, Muni). We had been in San Francisco before and had taken cable cars, so we focused on the more economical and less crowded busses this time. We took the 30 bus, two blocks away, to Coit Tower, the Wharf area, Chinatown, and Little Italy. We took the 5 bus to Golden Gate park where we rented Segways from Electric Tour Company (highly recommended). Plenty of restaurant choices nearby. Since the hotel doesn't include a breakfast we tried Pinecrest Diner (one block away) the first day and loved it so much we went there every morning through our visit. This facility is part of the Shell timeshare network and they offer rooms to timeshare guests as well as standard hotel guests. When we checked in, we were directed to a timeshare salesperson; very friendly, but not so pushy that we couldn't easily say no, and we weren't approached again during our stay. The room itself had a king bed and a queen sofabed. It was quite spacious, clean and fully appointed. Only complaint was some street noise at night that we were able to hear from the 6th floor room facing Post street. The concierge on the top floor club was very friendly and very helpful. Complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate at the club lounge was a very nice touch as well. All-in-all, this was a nice, economical, convenient base for our SF visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in San Francisco.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Location and the size of the room - for a city room, it was quite roomy.
Cons: Elevators and the whole timeshare thing.
Location: Right near the Powell-Hyde cable car turnaround and a mall. Easy access to a BART and MUNI station, which we used without difficulty.
The hotel was nice overall. One elevator was broken during our stay so that caused some delays getting to and from our room each day. The gym is very small - once 4 people get in there, it is too crowded. The location is great, near Union Square. This is a timeshare building so you will get invited to a "hard sell" ownership meeting. If you want the perks, or are interested in timeshare, then, by all means, go. The staff was very nice. If you are not interested, then decline after you check in and are given the spiel by the hospitality staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ruime kamers, wel wat geluidsoverlast

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Ruime kamers, lokatie
Cons: Betere geluidsisolatie.
Location: Vlakbij Union Square
Twee ruime kamers gehad in hotel. Echter, op een kamer gehele nacht geluidsoverlast gehad dat kwam ergens vanuit het hotel. De wanden waren flinterdun. Gelukkig hebben we kamer kunnen ruilen. Het is een mooi hotel maar had liever kleinere kamer gehad zonder geluidsoverlast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uruguay

Good hotel very well placed

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: excellent location
I went with muy daughters and we had a very good time thou we were near every place with good transfers and near the cable car
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Friendly Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: Offer Breakfast
Nice friendly hotel 1 block from Union Sq near the bus tours , shops restaurants and cafes. Rooms big and clean and had a kitchenette.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
The location of this hotel is great, one block from Union Square, there are restaurants, cafe, stores, rent cars very close. The rooms are big, clean and modern. I love my stay at the Donatello.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Central hotel near Union Square.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Location. Kitchenette facilities.
Cons: Arrival process
Location: Used buses to get about. Cable cars were fun but busy. Try the one on California street which seemed quieter. Did the Alcatraz night tour.
Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms were spacious and clean. Valet parking was useful. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant. Useful to have some crockery etc in the room. Only down side for us was the checking in process. We had had a long drive and wanted a cold drink and a shower. Instead we were passed to a lady who was trying to 'sell' us a timeshare I think. She was quite affronted when we turned down her offer for a free breakfast talk. We were on holiday from the UK with two kids. This was not appropriate for us. Would have been more receptive if we had been offered a drink and some where to sit perhaps. She did however tell us where we could buy tickets for public transport which was useful.