Ratings based on 4,216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Room

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We stayed in the deluxe tower. Beautiful view of the city. The air conditioning was broken in the room our first night on our 20th anniversary. 81 degrees was not fun. Took them a day and two reminders for them to fix it. They took no discount off our stay. Another thing that annoyed me was the sound in the pipes when we turned on the hot water when taking a shower. It rattled so hard it felt like someone was banging down a door. After a while I just started laughing. It was so loud that I'm sure other guests could probably hear it. If it were not for these two issues it would be a perfect room. We expected a little more when celebrating our 20 year together. It could have been better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno.Nevada

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Beautiful property, excellent location and very friendly staff. My wife and I will re-book on our next trip to the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We're pleased to hear you had such a nice stay We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MD

Charming hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Up to date decor and facilities
Cons: soundproofing in rooms
Stayed in an interior room that was spacious and comfortable. Valet parking was very quick and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We're pleased to hear you had such a nice stay We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016
For the price of the hotel I can't believe they charge additional for Internet and the price for valet parking is exorbitant other than that the hotel was very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice old hotel rooms and bathroom was small

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Over all I liked hotel. This is and old hotel so you are not really geting price quality, but more of historical value and location. Did have 2 unpleasant experiences, I was charged 299.99 on top of what I paid, as security deposit and have to call to figer out why do they do that, I ask them if beackfast was included they sad yes, and later I paid 90$ for buffet breckfast, in the bill they include the 10 dollar tip with out telling me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Beautiful hotel so so service

Posted Jul 6, 2016
When my wife and I got to the hotel we came with our 2 dogs (Pug,Shiba) the second we got to the front desk the lady gave us the feeling that we do not belong in this hotel. All so as a gold member on Expedia we are supposed to get upgraded On selected hotel on Expedia, this was one of them. We did not get upgraded. Now I have been traveling around the world since I was a kid and I have been in different Fairmont's locations. And they where all amazing, but this one disappointed me. the hotel was beautiful. The staff was not knowledgeable about the hotel services. For example the hotel offer special dishes for you dogs for a great price. But when called to order I was told that they do not have any. When my wife called again she got a different person and ordered food. It's just when you going to a hotel like the Fermont you expect everything to be perfect for the price you pay, isn't that why we willing to pay?!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear your stay was not a more pleasant one and apologize for the poor service you received. Thank you for sharing your feedback and I look forward to sharing with the team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Was upgraded to an exterior room with an awesome view. Everyone working is very helpful and eager to make your stay great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
A classic, beautiful and spacious property that remains world class --- I stay here at every opportunity when in SF
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Lucas
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco bay area

Classic San Francisco hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Beautiful hotel in a central location. The rooms are nicely updated. Staff is very friendly. Food is excellent. Only complaint is that there is no pool or Jacuzzi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Cannot flaw this hotel!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and lobby and nice location
Cons: Free in room wifi. Considering the price of the hotel you would think it would come with complementary wifi but when you get the room it costs!
Location: Location is great as you feel a lot safer in this nicer part of town. You are not far from the pier or china town or union square, but very hilly!
I stayed here for one night and was amazed by this hotel. My dad had booked the stay for me so I had no idea what the hotel looked like or what to expect, when I pulled up I was sure I was at the wrong place! The hotel is very grand and has a beautiful and spacious lobby. The staff are super friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who is full of local advice! The rooms are stunning and super comfortable with a huge wardrobe for storage. My only regret is that I did not stay longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Lucas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Lucas