Ratings based on 3,607 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Cons: I hate when I pay a good amount of money to stay at a hotel and a gym is extra. I get I can join your presidents club, but honestly a gym is standard.
I believe they have been renovating this hotel, and I was certainly in the renovated section. Great room. And that rose soap smelled lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, CA

Spectacular luxury and view of the city

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Everything, truly.
Cons: Not much. I cannot speak for the other rooms, but they could expand the bathroom in the large suite, we stayed in, just a bit.
Location: Great food is walking distance and the Grace cathedral should not be missed. It is a different feel than being right on Union Square or near the wharf
A seamless experience. We had one of the large suites that has a huge balcony. And while the room is spacious, the bathroom was clearly sized according to the standards of a past era. The colors and decor of the room are extremely tasteful and elegant. The views from atop Nob Hill are panoramic, and you are walking distance from some of San Francisco's old world charm and architecture. The view at night is simply city lights at its best. I think there are few cities in the US that offer city lights like San Francisco. The gardens, lobby, and amenities hearken back to the Belle Epoch. I used to stay at the St. Francis, but will now make my future visits to San Francisco an opportunity to revisit The Fairmont.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Great hotel and location. Room needed better sitting area (eg 2 chairs and place to eat). And, I found the parking fee ($66/night) AN OUTRAGE, given the rates already paid. I know it's partly the location, but I'm guessing the hotel is profiting nicely on top of room and food etc. Not cool, as I see it. PS I live in New York, so I think it means something if I'm shocked and outraged.
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by Lucas, EPC
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I can certainly appreicate your feelings about the parking charges. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
$66 for parking one night is a bit steep; however, nob hill location and vista are very special.
Comment from EPC
Sep 1, 2015 by Lucas , EPC
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I'm pleased you found the hotel beautiful and location great. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Gorgeous old hotel loved my trip highly recommend

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The beautiful exterior and interior. The staff, the history and the location
Cons: The people coming in and out of the hotel were sometimes very loud
Location: The location is beautiful, we walked to Union Sq and other places
The lobby was very crowded, and sometimes the people staying or visiting were annoying. However it was a great visit all together. The staff was amazing. I would stay again and again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older elegant hotel. Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Location, style
Cons: no
Enjoyed the experience. Nice staff, updated room, comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Prime location on the hill.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Beautiful hotel in prime spot on the hill. Quite a way from the bay but easy to access by nearby cable car (when there is power!) Relaxing bar, with 'mostly' friendly staff. Stayed in a newly refurbished room, but curtain tie had come away from the wall, therefore looked tatty! Rang for bell boy twice to pick up bags but didn't arrive! Hotel were very apologetic & compensated by taking a little off our bill. Unbeknown to us, there was a Ferrari event, which prevented us from driving to the front of the hotel. Advance notice would have been preferred with advice on where to park. Overall though, a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Geweldig hotel met redelijk centrale ligging.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Monument
We gebleven met 2 volwassenen en 2 kinderen in kamer in Main Building. Kamer was groot met heerlijke bedden, zitje en aparte kleedkamer waarin onze koffers (4 stuks) konden worden opgeslagen. Hotel ligt centraal, op top heuvel. Dat is prima om alle richtingen vanaf hotel te verkennen. Naar hotel terug is redelijke klim, maar een taxi is altijd op straat beschikbaar en relatief goedkoop. Absoluut een aanrader.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Sorry this hotel is not run better

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: location and history
Cons: service
This wonderful historic hotel deserves better then the current management. We were upgraded when we checked in and told the fold out would be made up as we dashed to dinner. When we returned well into the morning hours, no bed was made, bedding was missing, no water in the room, and in the mini bar, old food from another patron. The air was broken and the room was damp until we could turn it off and open the windows. The front desk seem very supportive, and said they would look into it and call us, but we never heard from them. Disappointing for a room that was $800 a night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to hear of your negative experience at the hotel. That is certainly not indicative of the level of service we strive to provide. I can imagine the frustration that caused and apologize you had to experience that. I hope you would be willing to return in the future and allow us the opportunity to make your next stay better than your last. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from 東京都

伝統ある、かつ観光にも便利な立地な最高級ホテル

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: ・スイートルームからの眺望 ・スタッフの柔軟な対応、懸念に対する的確な提案 ・朝食ビュッフェ ・外観やロビーの豪華絢爛な雰囲気 ・観光に便利かつ安全な立地
Cons: 特になし。
Location: ノブヒル。 ホテルから1ブロック圏内でケーブルカーが3本とも使える。観光には最高のアクセス。 ユニオンスクエア・ソーマのエリアなら徒歩でも10分~15分程度。フィッシャーマンズワーフ、フェリービルディング、フィルモアストリート、ゴールデンゲートブリッジなど主要なところへは不便なくほぼ全て回れた。
8月初旬に1週間の滞在。 ロビーに入ったらすぐに感じる、他のホテルと一線を画した美麗かつ伝統的な雰囲気を共に兼ね備えた内装。部屋(Fairmont Room)の特徴は、天井が高くてゆとりを感じること、クイーンサイズの気持ちよいベッドを中心としたシンプルで清潔感のある点。寝心地が本当に最高だった。イタリアの有名寝具メーカーだったと記憶している。 朝食のビュッフェはシェフがその場で焼いて提供してくれるオムレツが印象的。西海岸らしく、具材の選択肢にカニがあり(fake crabではない本物のカニ)、朝から贅沢な卵料理を頂けた。機会があれば、スイートも是非おすすめ。1泊したRegency Suiteからは、サンフランシスコを一望できた(ゴールデンゲートブリッジ、フィッシャーマンズワーフ、コイトタワー、フェリービルディング、街中のケーブルカーなど・・・)。 丘の頂上に位置するため周辺の徒歩移動には相当な坂(体感は傾斜45度くらい)を覚悟せねばならないが、サンフランシスコらしさを感じられること、治安が良いこと、観光に便利なことを考慮すれば苦にはならなかった。なお、サンフランシスコ空港からの移動には乗合シャトルを利用し、所要時間約30分(スーツケースを持っての坂はあまりおすすめできない)。 気軽に宿泊できる価格帯ではないと感じたが、対価と期待を遥かに上回るサービスと利便性に大満足だった。サンフランシスコに来ることがあれば是非また利用したい。